Talking Point >>> Is your CPF enough for retirement?

Wt_know

5th Gear
On 7/18/2025 at 5:56 PM, Throttle2 said:

Oh you mean, they are like sitting ducks then?   if kena chopped, finished liao?  

Hai.....zhen nan..... Singapore lang hard life. 

I down here, still so guai lan, people offer me $350kpa job, I snub .

Last week, got one ask me go interview for C suite job, I say "bo eng"

Choose to cho bo , play tennis smoke cigars.

Next week I think I better eat vegetarian......and reflect

Their property agent assured them even they took max loan tenure to 65, considering their salaries will increase and bonuses over the years so able to clear the loan earlier but then they realise after 55, they still paying and far from early loan redemption

Freedom to cho bo is song🤣

Edited by Ginyu

Better we do online poll here, although MCFers are mostly considered high SES.

A. Will still be paying mortgage for roof over head beyond 55 with CPF / and cash

B. Will still be paying mortgage for roof over head beyond 55 without CPF (money outside CPF)

C. Will still be paying mortgage for investment property beyond 55 with CPF/ and cash

D. Will still be paying mortgage for investment property beyond 55 without CPF (money outside CPF)

E. Will not be paying for any mortgage beyond 55

Lai lai lai !!! please take your pick

good watch [thumbsup] 

don't kei kiang and anyhow use your CPF to invest simi S&P la ... simi high yield funds la ... 

CPF is your safest INVESTMENT liao ... some more what you want! [sly] 

just keep CPF as it is (no touch) as a long term BOND portfolio ...

On 7/22/2025 at 1:41 PM, Wt_know said:

good watch [thumbsup] 

don't kei kiang and anyhow use your CPF to invest simi S&P la ... simi high yield funds la ... 

CPF is your safest INVESTMENT liao ... some more what you want! [sly] 

just keep CPF as it is (no touch) as a long term BOND portfolio ...

this guy is one of the very few insurance guys who talks good sense .

what he does and proposes is exactly what I do.  muayhahhahah...

"I have never invested my CPF....and I know of many investment professionals who dont"  Well said Christopher !   Heh heh heh.  

Edited by Throttle2

On 7/18/2025 at 11:33 PM, Throttle2 said:

Better we do online poll here, although MCFers are mostly considered high SES.

A. Will still be paying mortgage for roof over head beyond 55 with CPF / and cash

B. Will still be paying mortgage for roof over head beyond 55 without CPF (money outside CPF)

C. Will still be paying mortgage for investment property beyond 55 with CPF/ and cash

D. Will still be paying mortgage for investment property beyond 55 without CPF (money outside CPF)

E. Will not be paying for any mortgage beyond 55

Lai lai lai !!! please take your pick

Why all the option at 55?  Here is MCF,  it should be 45. 😀

On 7/23/2025 at 2:02 PM, Stary said:

Why all the option at 55?  Here is MCF,  it should be 45. 😀

Yes it should.   In fact if i use my own personal experience, it would be well before 40, as thats when both my private properties were fully paid up.

but, as usual, i like to make things easier for others and since 55 is the current age of CPF withdrawal, i used that as a reference for this purpose. 

you know me, the ever friendly, caring, MCFer  😎

On 7/22/2025 at 2:26 PM, Throttle2 said:

this guy is one of the very few insurance guys who talks good sense .

what he does and proposes is exactly what I do.  muayhahhahah...

"I have never invested my CPF....and I know of many investment professionals who dont"  Well said Christopher !   Heh heh heh.  

What is your average return on investment for your non CPF portfolio over the years? If you can't beat 2.5%, albeit with risk (which can be managed through diversification like buying index funds like STI), then I agree it is better to keep money in CPF after 55. 

Edited by Voodooman

On 7/23/2025 at 4:26 PM, Voodooman said:

What is your average return on investment for your non CPF portfolio over the years? If you can't beat 2.5%, albeit with risk (which can be managed through diversification like buying index funds like STI), then I agree it is better to keep money in CPF after 55. 

Fundamentally, I dont disagree with you.

however there is a difference in terms of cash component for each person’s portfolio.  And only when you view cash as part of the entire portfolio will you understand why and why not, some people dont want to or dont need to invest their money in CPF before or even after 55.

To put it into better perspective. $500k CPF may be one person’s entire retirement amount and to another $500k could only be 5% of entire retirement portfolio.  In which case, the need and want to invest that $500k can be vastly different between the two persons.  

Many a times, financial decisions arent simply mathematical even though they may be by nature.  And thats what makes it so interesting. 

I am sure, you are now closer to understanding why some people may prefer to keep money in 2.5% CPF even after 55, even when they can beat that return.  
🤗

On 7/23/2025 at 9:07 AM, TangoCharlie said:

Is he a FRS, basic plan guy too?

On 7/23/2025 at 1:19 PM, Throttle2 said:

Dont know , but i am 😄

actually not necessarily FRS or ERS, it can be in between, as long as one maintains it to be  a certain % of his total passive(or retirement) income, including CPF OA,  bonds, perps, equities,  SI etc, it should be ok. but if one can generate close to or more than 4% return annually with capital sum guaranteed, then CPFLife will not look sexy any more.

And yes, i think basic it the way to go. 

Edited by Ct3833

On 7/23/2025 at 10:13 PM, Ct3833 said:

actually not necessarily FRS or ERS, it can be in between, as long as one maintains it to be  a certain % of his total passive(or retirement) income, including CPF OA,  bonds, perps, equities,  SI etc, it should be ok. but if one can generate close to or more than 4% return annually with capital sum guaranteed, then CPFLife will not look sexy any more.

Totally agree and I have external annuities so I shd be able to wd my cpf

ccb cpf 😂

On 7/23/2025 at 10:13 PM, Ct3833 said:

Yeah never said had to be one or the other.  To each his own.   Everybody has a different take, different risk appetite, different investment knowledge, different.  Just go your own way

On 7/23/2025 at 10:14 PM, RadX said:

Totally agree and I have external annuities so I shd be able to wd my cpf

ccb cpf 😂

different folks different stroke, some who do not invest or want to be damn cocksure monthly return till death, then CPFLife can be an option. Then again, i know why you ccb cpf, if they can structure it to be at 4% payout instead of 6%, then the RA money(capital sum) is guaranteed and perpetual. somehow they have to device a sure win formula. NB

Edited by Ct3833

On 7/23/2025 at 10:16 PM, Throttle2 said:

Yeah never said had to be one or the other.  To each his own.   Everybody has a different take, different risk appetite, different investment knowledge, different.  Just go your own way

CPFLife is meant for men on the street , for those who have  better investment knowledge, financially better equipped or could afford higher risk appetite , CPFLife is pui! 🤣 

On 7/23/2025 at 10:21 PM, Ct3833 said:

CPFLife is meant for men on the street , for those who have  better investment knowledge, financially better equipped or could afford higher risk appetite , CPFLife is pui! 🤣 

Also

cpflife is non guaranteed if u read it properly but they TRY to fulfill their promise