Forrestcat 2nd Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Every time after record COE prices, this type of thread will surface, news paper will publish, but are there any changes? I suggest those that like to suggest go be transport minister and change the system instead of suggesting everywhere as nothing will be solved in the end... Last time, they used to have a category for cars below 1000cc. Time to consider bringing it back. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Totally agreed. But maybe for days like Xmas eve considered super peak. $5 per km? Peak hour $3 per km. Peak hour on peak road, $5 per km. Just a thought, but frankly very siong man $5 per km... not just that....there needs be a differentiation of rates driving into areas like jurong vs driving into areas like orchard. people driving into jurong doesn't cause that much jams compared to people driving into orchard on xmas eve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 not just that....there needs be a differentiation of rates driving into areas like jurong vs driving into areas like orchard. people driving into jurong doesn't cause that much jams compared to people driving into orchard on xmas eve. Imagine driving into orchard on Xmas eve, $20 per km.... Literally 'golden road' man .... At least got no young punk driving father's car trying to impress a girl...cos that car ride alone might cost him $300...LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Totally agreed. But maybe for days like Xmas eve considered super peak. $5 per km? Peak hour $3 per km. Peak hour on peak road, $5 per km. Just a thought, but frankly very siong man $5 per km... 12$ a pack, 400$ a lousy bottle, 600$ an underaged whore. humans are quickly de-sensitized when it comes to consumption. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Imagine driving into orchard on Xmas eve, $20 per km.... Literally 'golden road' man .... At least got no young punk driving father's car trying to impress a girl...cos that car ride alone might cost him $300...LOL haha that's why you realise we have been on the same idea so far. i also don't like the roads to be clogged up by those young punks....their daddies will be more dissuaded from giving theri young punk son the keys on xmas eve as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Actually best is to have a meter in the car to tell you how much your ride is costing you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 12$ a pack, 400$ a lousy bottle, 600$ an underaged whore. humans are quickly de-sensitized when it comes to consumption. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 12$ a pack, 400$ a lousy bottle, 600$ an underaged whore. humans are quickly de-sensitized when it comes to consumption. :) while i agree humans can be de-sensitized, it is still more effective than coe. coe can be financed and it just breaks up into small bits of the monthly instalment. emotionally it becomes more appealing because of its luxury status. once one gets past the initial hurdle of ownership, he will use it as the slightest possible chance to get his return for the money plonked into the car ownership that depreciates away even if unused. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 (edited) while i agree humans can be de-sensitized, it is still more effective than coe. coe can be financed and it just breaks up into small bits of the monthly instalment. emotionally it becomes more appealing because of its luxury status. once one gets past the initial hurdle of ownership, he will use it as the slightest possible chance to get his return for the money plonked into the car ownership that depreciates away even if unused. yup, no more drive 400m to kopi tiam drink kopi.. Now drive to kopi tiam drink kopi also show off to his buddies his new car... Edited December 27, 2012 by Tedlhw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 i think it needs to be more sophisticated. maybe we need to have something in our cars that tells us how much it will cost to get to our destination, even before we set off. or a system like airline bookings, where we book in advance our journeys. using my imagination here. dont flame me. if you know the distance, you should be able to count average mileage.. the rest is most likely parking and ERP.. rough estimate should be quite easy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Totally agreed. But maybe for days like Xmas eve considered super peak. $5 per km? Peak hour $3 per km. Peak hour on peak road, $5 per km. Just a thought, but frankly very siong man $5 per km... instead of so troublesome..... install a taxi meter in the car... auto run once engine start... auto off once engine stop... must have pre paid credit.... simple bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 instead of so troublesome..... install a taxi meter in the car... auto run once engine start... auto off once engine stop... must have pre paid credit.... simple bo? Also can, but that means no credit cannot use car? Some people will say i can pay once I am paid at end of month... discriminate against low income. What about emergency etc? 1001 reasons why this won't work due to objections. If you ask me, i think its simple and straight forward. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Also can, but that means no credit cannot use car? Some people will say i can pay once I am paid at end of month... discriminate against low income. What about emergency etc? 1001 reasons why this won't work due to objections. If you ask me, i think its simple and straight forward. why is it discrimination against low income? ERP works the same way, no one complaining about discrimination leh... low income or high income as long as you have sufficient credit, you get to use the car on a personal level, you think it's discrimination because you think low income cannot afford to pay first than use no hard feelings... just an opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 why is it discrimination against low income? ERP works the same way, no one complaining about discrimination leh... low income or high income as long as you have sufficient credit, you get to use the car on a personal level, you think it's discrimination because you think low income cannot afford to pay first than use no hard feelings... just an opinion No offence taken. I DID kinda think that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 I tell you guys what, there is a truly workable solution to reduce COE prices. I give up driving, you give up driving, ask your friends & relative who do not really need to drive to give up, so people who really need the car will be able to get it cheap. Good right, because we are really concern about fellow Singaporeans that really need car, & our solution is not to benefit ourselves? Right? If most of us are honest, many of us wished others to give up driving, we really do not care who, or why. You will not wanted to give up driving for the benefit of others who need it more than you, because, you think you need the car, like your friends & relative, think the same, & others should give up. From the many posts, it seems people are happy to have a car, but not drive it often, hence the scape COE, & pay by millage system. Its just shifting the problem, without COE there will be no control over car population, & nothing stopping everyone to drive out on the same day, resulting in massive jam. You can say you make certain day like CNY/Hari Raya period more expensive, then it not only defeat the purpose of a car, but also will receive massive complains from people to government trying to make money on festive seasons. Like I said, shifting one problem to another. Also we have problem with finding parking already, & allowing more cars will make matters worst. So arte people suggesting tearing done existing MSCP to make taller ones, but how about the ones in commerical building & malls? Surely you can't tear these down to expend their capacity. The only benefit of Scraping COE hence making buying car more affordable, is to have a car, for the sack of having a car. If we are truly concern about fellow citizens, we would have think of better efficiency, accessibility, speed & affordability to get from point A to B. Maybe having taxi stop per Neighborhood area, like bus stop, & have a button to activate that you need a cab, for people that need to use a cab. Having special vehicles with train paramedics in each neighborhood to catered to senior citizen need & emergency. Things a long these lines, instead of thinking of ways to make car more affordable, or which group of people should get discount on cars. A lot of the problems we have is due to the self centered society we have, (maybe not you, but someone near you), not the government fault, not your neighbors' dog fault, not FT/FW faults. We complain about to much FT/FW, but conveniently left out that they also contribute to your properties price appreciated every year, or the rental that you conveiencely collect from some of them. We mention some part of city have turn into little (insert a foriegn city name), but left out you may have hired one or more of them. We complain about insurance premium increase, blame workshops, blame insurance companies. Who opened these workshops? MNC? many owners are fellow Singaporeans as well, at least the ones I been to. Also if we did not drive so aggressive & keep such a close distance, much of accidents can be avoided. In a country where end to end is less than 60km, & most journeys are probably 40mins or less, why the hell we need to rush? Whos fault is this. Government & FT/FWs are easy targets to fault, but how many of us look at see that the society is a mirror of our action & decisions. You think the Goverment will still be the Government today if they did not catered to the need or want of many people? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 I tried that when people say hdb price no longer affordable... I told them if all sell low price then the price sure come back down.. the thread went dead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hulk 1st Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Whether COE is it a revenue to govt or is it really controlling the car population, only they know, so to the govt 诚实的反醒is a big step to review the COE system now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Whether COE is it a revenue to govt or is it really controlling the car population, only they know, so to the govt 诚实的反醒is a big step to review the COE system now You need to understand that COE price is not decided by the government, only the quota. If want COE to drop, ask people to id lower leh. What the Government can do, is to ensure that the windfall from COE can be used to channel to good use, say, lower public transport prices, instead of the genetic, go to reserve, or government budget. Think about it, 100 COE at 100k, thats would be 10million, divide by 2000 bus drivers, & you get 5000 per person, divide by 12 months, & you get about $410 a month more. So you see, just 100 COE will be sufficient to give the bus driver a much better pay, & the nonsense of the fare need to increase & strike will not happen at all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...