COE solutions??

Wind30

Instead of complaining about high coe price and how we can tweak the system, why not we discuss how to make more money instead, to beat the system ? do you all realise how few threads in mcf is on how to make a fortune ? not everybody is born with a silver tooth. trust me, the really rich ones are either sitting in board meetings now or jetting to company getaway now. how about setting up a car sharing company in such time ? the cars can be supplied by car owners who can lease out their cars when not in use, to earn some kickback.

such things cannot be easily taught and most of those that are so-called teaching are more interested to find people to chip in funds .

Saw the news on tv last night, HK also going to implement ERP [laugh] [laugh]

but there were 2 schools of thought in hong kong.the oother school opposed to it. it may not happen like how their mooted VAT also didn't take off.

Instead of complaining about high coe price and how we can tweak the system, why not we discuss how to make more money instead, to beat the system ? do you all realise how few threads in mcf is on how to make a fortune ? not everybody is born with a silver tooth. trust me, the really rich ones are either sitting in board meetings now or jetting to company getaway now. how about setting up a car sharing company in such time ? the cars can be supplied by car owners who can lease out their cars when not in use, to earn some kickback.

ICARCLUB already exist.....you can join he club to rent out your car, the club will match the customer for you, you negotial the rent direct with customer, club take a cut.

ERP supposed to make motorist pay as you used, gov say will phase out ARF, road tax..... COE also can phase out lah....

it is not important whether more or less. important is has COE served its purpose ?

many countries in the world without COE, so the traffice jam very bad meh ? not worst than singapore lah ? so without COE also not that bad mah !

I dun think u ever travel overseas <_<

ERP supposed to make motorist pay as you used, gov say will phase out ARF, road tax..... COE also can phase out lah....

it is not important whether more or less. important is has COE served its purpose ?

many countries in the world without COE, so the traffice jam very bad meh ? not worst than singapore lah ? so without COE also not that bad mah !

you sounds like you have yet to visit cities that has more population than singapore....

Do like that and the government will make mirrions from number plate bidding system.

Some people will own 5 cars :-)

Thats exactly right. So i think pay per use is the fairest way.

Just need to install some GPS system in all cars + retrofit current gantries to confirm/sync and upload vehicle data when when GPS coverage not complete.

Go out JB, gantry to 'disable' or note out of country and when coming back in to 'enable' again. Simple.

All carparks will be enabled with such system as well.

Basically no charge when not on the (SG) roads.

Charge when you use road.

Payment wise like credit card, pay at end of month, with daily update available online @ one motoring.

Never pay, fine + penalty.

License suspended until payment made.

it did serve it purpose until recent times... about 6-8yrs ago

no lah other countries traffic jam not bad lar.. you come from which mountain de? enough countries let you choose anot...

SuperStock_1848-165277.jpg

Traffic-Congestion-in-KL.jpg

traffic-jam.jpg

promote_traffic.png

beijingtrafficjam2.jpg

traffic.jpg

traffic%20jam%20in%20paris.jpg

we need to beef up the buses & trains & cabs to a point no one care about owning cars

this is ideally but impossible, as privat car will always be more comfortable and convenient than public transport. also owning car is a aspiration for everyone. like having a mistress.

Edited by Vextan

we need to beef up the buses & trains & cabs to a point no one care about owning cars

no, we need to create a jam so bad that walking is faster than driving (e.g. JKT, BKK) -_-

you all realise how bad the air quality, or the pollution is in jkt and bkk ? myself and several people i know of, they fall sick most of them time after they set foot there.

There are 2 ways to solve congestion.

1) COE; to control car population

2) Usage, -ERP

The Govt choose to use both leaning towards car population control.

My argument is that this turns cars into a luxury good that distorts the demand curve.

If they just whack heavy heavy on usage, cars become another way of transport.

Ownership of car is no longer a 'face' thing.

Demand curve will be normalised.

Also, it is the fairest way. Whether you are Ferrari or Vios, u pay the same.

Yes the rich will still be able to drive everywhere, but the less well off are not deprived either.

If the middle class feel that they need to drive their kids to school for whatever reason, or drop off their children at parents whatever, they can choose to budget for it.

Imagine this, base on usage base system, if drive 20km cost $10, to and fro will cost $20. One might as well take a cab which cost about the same and save parking. Then people will say cars are just a white elephant, due to the high usage cost. And if everyone takes cab instead of driving, cab fare will increase sharply. In the end everyone is infuriated. Is this scenario logically correct ?

Edited by Vextan