COE solutions??

Wind30

From the response that I see in this thread. The government is not doing a good job helping forummers buy their new cars. That is pretty evident. By I guess the government do not care about this as much because the majority of the voters are more concerned about other aspects of life in Singapore than COE price.

In your opinion, which aspect of life?

Solutions should be simple. Not contrived and complicated.

The problem is vehicle overpopulation. The solution is to establish a baseline to ensure that only a percentage of the population gets to own a personal vehicle.

Money is the lowest common denominator.

Whatever schemes that anyone could hatch, its not going to be as effective as simply pricing it out of reach of the bulk of the population.

My parents had no problem bringing me and my siblings around as babies on buses. Taxis were a rare treat and MRT didn't come into existence until my teens.

A means of transport is a necessity. A car is a luxury.

Every time after record COE prices, this type of thread will surface, news paper will publish, but are there any changes?

I suggest those that like to suggest go be transport minister and change the system instead of suggesting everywhere as nothing will be solved in the end...

if there is no COE, do you think there will be more or less cars now?

there are many ways to control car population, look at other country. not nec. COE (tax revencue to gov).

so what if more cars, there are ways to control. Manila city go by last no. of car plate restricted use on certain day of the week, some city use odd and even no. of the last no of car plate etc. many examples.

do not blindly believe that COE is the only solution to control car population.

COE is the way for gov. to collect money and make it expensive to own a car in singapore. it does not aim to solve the traffice congestion problem, but collect money. Do you know how many Billions of dollars were collected every year ?

there are many ways to control car population, look at other country. not nec. COE (tax revencue to gov).

so what if more cars, there are ways to control. Manila city go by last no. of car plate restricted use on certain day of the week, some city use odd and even no. of the last no of car plate etc. many examples.

do not blindly believe that COE is the only solution to control car population.

COE is the way for gov. to collect money and make it expensive to own a car in singapore. it does not aim to solve the traffice congestion problem, but collect money. Do you know how many Billions of dollars were collected every year ?

the problem is not controlling the car population but controlling the number of cars on the road...

i also never say it is the only way to control car population.. of course it's not... duhz

now pls answer my question... if no COE, do you think there is more or less cars now

the problem is not controlling the car population but controlling the number of cars on the road...

i also never say it is the only way to control car population.. of course it's not... duhz

now pls answer my question... if no COE, do you think there is more or less cars now

Monday - number end with 1 & 2 can be on the road

Tuesday - number end with 3 & 4 can be on the road

Wednesday - number end with 5 & 6 can be on the road

Thursday - number end with 7 & 8 can be on the road

Friday - number end with 9 & 0 can be on the road

Saturday - number end with 1 to 5 can be on the road

Sunday - number end with 6 & 0 can be on the road

:D :D

Do like that and the government will make mirrions from number plate bidding system.

Some people will own 5 cars :-)

simple bus lane timing alot people also cannot rem liao... still rem these things.... shen jin bing

I agree. COE idea itself is good but the huge fluctuations in prices in the past has caused a lot of problems. But cannot give up right? must find solution.

COE is totally unnec. the gov shold try other ways adopted by other country.(free of charge to motorist).

COE is money collecting machine for the gov. You still say good ?

actually i don't agree with such a system if we still have to pay current level coe. such a system allows more cars to be owned but less on the road it is true. but with current level coe, the depreciation is damn high. keeping it in the car park for 5 out of 7 days of the week means it is depreciating away with no meaningful use most of the time and coupled with the home parking and added on the home parking cost and road tax cost, is jsut pure waste of resources.

i prefer a system that makes it painfully expensive to use the car but do away with the high coe and its fixed statutory life whose high depreciation runs counter to the objective of dissuading people from using the car.

Do like that and the government will make mirrions from number plate bidding system.

Some people will own 5 cars :-)

one car drive on monday tuesday, another 4 cars for the rest of the days

Instead of complaining about high coe price and how we can tweak the system, why not we discuss how to make more money instead, to beat the system ? do you all realise how few threads in mcf is on how to make a fortune ? not everybody is born with a silver tooth. trust me, the really rich ones are either sitting in board meetings now or jetting to company getaway now instead of surfing sbf. how about setting up a car sharing company in such time ? the cars can be supplied by car owners who can lease out their cars when not in use, to earn some kickback.

Edited by Vextan

Solutions should be simple. Not contrived and complicated.

The problem is vehicle overpopulation. The solution is to establish a baseline to ensure that only a percentage of the population gets to own a personal vehicle.

Money is the lowest common denominator.

Whatever schemes that anyone could hatch, its not going to be as effective as simply pricing it out of reach of the bulk of the population.

My parents had no problem bringing me and my siblings around as babies on buses. Taxis were a rare treat and MRT didn't come into existence until my teens.

A means of transport is a necessity. A car is a luxury.

Exactly how i feel about this issue. [thumbsup]

Wah Lau sounds like the Beijing system lei...

Still jam lei beijing

ERP supposed to make motorist pay as you used, gov say will phase out ARF, road tax..... COE also can phase out lah....

it is not important whether more or less. important is has COE served its purpose ?

many countries in the world without COE, so the traffice jam very bad meh ? not worst than singapore lah ? so without COE also not that bad mah !

ERP supposed to make motorist pay as you used, gov say will phase out ARF, road tax..... COE also can phase out lah....

it is not important whether more or less. important is has COE served its purpose ?

many countries in the world without COE, so the traffice jam very bad meh ? not worst than singapore lah ? so without COE also not that bad mah !

Saw the news on tv last night, HK also going to implement ERP [laugh] [laugh]