COE solutions??

Wind30

Totally agree.

Add to that is the declared intention by Minister Lui, to cut the number of COEs issued cum February.

COE......fly me to the moon.....

Take a look at those major used car dealer locations.

Notice the huge amount of used cars in stock.

Had these cars been scrapped, the COE will be released back into the system, increasing the supply.

I am suspecting that by hoarding used cars... thus creating a limited pool of available COEs, drives up COE prices, and thus the valuation of the used car inventory increases. If asset appreciation (due to higher replacement cost) is greater than time value depreation, this makes sense to hoard used cars.

if car dealers scrap/deregister their cars and dont sell, they can close shop alr...

how much can they earn?

So what if there will be a bigger supply of COEs? COE prices are also decided by demand. It is Economics 101. If there are more people in 2015 willing to pay big money for the COE, you will still be too poor to afford a new car. Sorry.

you never read my posts meh????

FRom 2015 onwards, there will AUTOMATICALLY be a bumper crop of COE supply just from COE being expired.

That is why I am confident that by late 2015, COE will drop lah.

Turbocharged cars should be have their engine cap raised for COE purposes..

SMSA says that a 2liter TC=3Liter NA.

LTA should follow that logic

Why kill yourselves with all these suggestions to the gahment?

I find people very farnie one. Instead of happy getting a better performance car with lower road tax to pay, people KPKB about moving them away from CAT A to B,.......!!!!!! Come on, moving them to CAT B will not solve the problem one. The fact is number of COEs released are too tight from now on.

Don't you drive a WRX (STI)? If they do as you suggest, they will levy road-tax on you like a 3L also to have a consistent policy. Is this what you want? Why shoot yourself in the balls? [:/]

maybe they should charge my 2.2 NA as a 1.1 TC car... :D

The only way to reduce congestion is to build more residential projects in the city. Lease expiring commercial buildings in CBD should not be renewed but to be converted to residential units. This will improve office takeup and rentals in the new CBD and allow those who work in the city to live in the city (not commune from outskirts to central district).

In this internet age, CBD is passe. We just can spread 3 mini CBDs in Singapore. One for the North, East and West. This will reduce pressure for daily commune to workplace.

The only way to reduce congestion is to build more residential projects in the city. Lease expiring commercial buildings in CBD should not be renewed but to be converted to residential units. This will improve office takeup and rentals in the new CBD and allow those who work in the city to live in the city (not commune from outskirts to central district).

In this internet age, CBD is passe. We just can spread 3 mini CBDs in Singapore. One for the North, East and West. This will reduce pressure for daily commune to workplace.

Good suggestion but this will not happen.

More residential in CBD means less atas staying in CBD...

Price of CBD condo will stagnant if not falling.

Lich people sure kpkb and our govt. won't go against the lich men. [laugh]

Happy new Year!

New measures

"...those eyeing a new car can stand to benefit from the new Carbon Emissions-Based Vehicle Scheme. Owners of cars which are more fuel-efficient and emit less carbon will enjoy rebates of up to S$20,000. This will be given as an offset against the vehicle's Additional Registration Fee..."

I thought higher & higher COE is to discourage car purchase. How cum this news macam want to make it easier to buy? tok kok again?

Edited by Duckduck

New measures

"...those eyeing a new car can stand to benefit from the new Carbon Emissions-Based Vehicle Scheme. Owners of cars which are more fuel-efficient and emit less carbon will enjoy rebates of up to S$20,000. This will be given as an offset against the vehicle's Additional Registration Fee..."

I thought higher & higher COE is to discourage car purchase. How cum this news macam want to make it easier to buy? tok kok again?

they still need the income lah

New measures

CEVS is deducted from the ARF value ....... its not a good thing for the buyers ....... dont be conned

Don't you drive a WRX (STI)? If they do as you suggest, they will levy road-tax on you like a 3L also to have a consistent policy. Is this what you want? Why shoot yourself in the balls? [:/]

3.0 liter COE but pay 2 liter roadtax.

All same except Coe. Then again, 2 liter and 3 liter pay same coe