COE solutions??

Wind30

govts around the world saliva dropping non stop thinking how to make 100 millions every 2 weeks ... huat ah !!!

if you calculate the bi weekly COE total amount, it is nearly close to 100 million of "income" every 2 weeks. Nobody want to lose this "income"....

HAPPY FRIDAY!!! [sunny]

Just keep it status quo. It's not the best system but neither it's the worse. Since SG is so small, a car is a want not a need. A high COE will make ppl think twice whether a car is a need or a want. As a fellow driver, I rather have sky high COE and have a smooth drive to work everyday than to have low COE and sit in a jam.

It might sound very elitist but this is the way society operates.

[thumbsup][thumbsup] [thumbsup]

you never read my posts meh????

FRom 2015 onwards, there will AUTOMATICALLY be a bumper crop of COE supply just from COE being expired.

That is why I am confident that by late 2015, COE will drop lah.

is this a coincidence or clever planning ahead of the next GE? I still find it hard to believe it is possible to engineer bumper crop with election [:)]

Very soon, people will ask for subsidies, special privileges and priority for first time owner with family and kids for Rolex watches.

Hope our public transport system is improved first and foremost

Very soon, people will ask for subsidies, special privileges and priority for first time owner with family and kids for Rolex watches.

got EC (Executive Condo) must also have another type EC (Executive Car)

for those who want a car but cannot afford a full fledged car... lol

I just had to reply this

Unfair subsidies are no go but neither is unfair taxation

if govt build serious park connectors from woodlands to shenton way, i would ride bicylcle to work, at least can get some excercise, me too fat liao [blush]

Don't wait for gov to build additional PCN.. they already dragging their feet when comes to proposal in allocating bicycle lane on normal roads.

Market_St_green_1_small.jpg

Don't wait for gov to build additional PCN.. they already dragging their feet when comes to proposal in allocating bicycle lane on normal roads.

I look forward to have bicycle lanes like those in the Netherlands...

In my opinion, it is inter-governmental department issue which delay building of PCN.

Take a look at those major used car dealer locations.

Notice the huge amount of used cars in stock.

Had these cars been scrapped, the COE will be released back into the system, increasing the supply.

I am suspecting that by hoarding used cars... thus creating a limited pool of available COEs, drives up COE prices, and thus the valuation of the used car inventory increases. If asset appreciation (due to higher replacement cost) is greater than time value depreation, this makes sense to hoard used cars.

My two cents

I think COE should be tied to a person not a vehicle. You also cannot rebate the COE halfway. Once you buy it, you have to use it up for 10 years.

Reasons

1) the current system is VERY UNSTABLE. It encourages huge supply spikes because when the prices go down in 2005, 2006, it made EVERYONE who has bought an expensive COE in 2002, 2003 kill their cars to get COE rebate. This is super wasteful as the car is only 3 years old and it makes a huge problem down the road as there is NO COEs expiring in 2012, 2013. This is just stupid. The system will converge all the supply into bumper years while other years become famine.

2) allowing people to transfer their COE to different cars is better because after all, COE is to restrict number of cars on the road. If I kill my car, why should I need to buy another COE for a new car if my COE still have some years? This give Citizens more stability and peace of mind. I mean if I am driving a $10k COE car now, and the car gives me problems, what I am to do?

3) By preventing COE rebate, it will make people bid LESS. Because current mentality is bid more never mind, if COE drops in the future, I get kill the car and bid for a new one. By tying people to a 10 year period, it will really drive down COE bid price.

4) by tying it to people, it is so much easier to implement household restrictions. Married couples can only own 1 car. 2nd car is 3x the amount or something like that.

Your suggestions are spot on. Does LTA really listen to us??

LTA's policy sounds like an excuse, their imperative seems to tilt towards profiteering from the general public.

Your suggestions are spot on. Does LTA really listen to us??

LTA's policy sounds like an excuse, their imperative seems to tilt towards profiteering from the general public.

It won't make much difference.

Now i got COE (tied to me as suggested). Tomorrow i buy new car. My old car become COE-less. Somebody who want to buy my (old) car need to bid for new 10year COE. How is that different (in terms of demand for COE) from leaving my old COE with my old car then i bid new COE for my current car? Its still one old COE and one new COE.

Secondly, what if i wanna change from small car to big car? Is the person-tied COE universal for all vehicle types and engine capacity/OMV/what not? If it is (which it has to be otherwise how to differentitate different categories of COE to ensure more level playing field?), then when want to change car i have to sell my car and my balance COE separately (the person who wants my car may not want my COE). Isn't that much more cumbersome? Then i got to buy new car with new COE. In the end same what.

Or if i wanna give up driving then how? I have to sell my car and my COE separately (again).

It won't make much difference.

Now i got COE (tied to me as suggested). Tomorrow i buy new car. My old car become COE-less. Somebody who want to buy my (old) car need to bid for new 10year COE. How is that different (in terms of demand for COE) from leaving my old COE with my old car then i bid new COE for my current car? Its still one old COE and one new COE.

Secondly, what if i wanna change from small car to big car? Is the person-tied COE universal for all vehicle types and engine capacity/OMV/what not? If it is (which it has to be otherwise how to differentitate different categories of COE to ensure more level playing field?), then when want to change car i have to sell my car and my balance COE separately (the person who wants my car may not want my COE). Isn't that much more cumbersome? Then i got to buy new car with new COE. In the end same what.

Or if i wanna give up driving then how? I have to sell my car and my COE separately (again).

Good analysis ! if only everyone can think as profoundly as you and not come up with skin deep solutions.

Edited by Vextan

i say it again.

anyone who toys the idea of scrapping COE is akin to raiding our country reserves and will be held for treason.

so COE is to increaase the country's reservies...........ok. keep it. otherwise can not afford to pay the gov officials.