Lee Jiawei retires and returns to Beijing

Ahtong

as a player, she came here at a very young age and done her best. but i do think the foundation was laid well in beijing.

it is not easy to be a top 5 or top 3 player (at her peak) in a sport that china dominates so completely.

i wish her well.

If I were her I will also leave singapore. Every day hear people bashing PRC FT also sianz. Blood sweat and tears also not appreciated so stay for what?

agree lor. I mean she played her best for Singapore when she is young. How many years????

now getting older cannot play, want to spend time with her husband in Beijing also get scolded left right center.

crazy lah.

Come on la people. Dont you people understand. She is worlds top ranking, even if she plays for China she will still be top. The only reason y she plays for Singapore is only she can earn 5x more. Afterall she is still from China and would return there. Compared to Singapore lifestyle, she could retired and last for few generation in China. Our government had policy only to growth at all cost. Which means at the sacrifies of all to meet GDP, Medals and reputation. After all they all earning from Sngaporean so that they could import talents and even population to meet demands and statistics. Please wake up all Singaporeans. I dont think our standard of living is as comparable to other third world countries for standard Singapore. Just ask yourself how many of the locals elderly are still working beyond 60 years old.

WRONG. She play in China she will not be the top because she cannot represent China in the tournaments because there are like 10 other players in China better than her. She ranking is in top ten because China can only sent a few players at a single time.

why blame her when 99% of us would have done exactly the same?

i believe that FT should only be brought in to coach our locals to play at a higher level. If we're not world class, so be it lor.

Just be happy being SEA class ^_^

I don't blame for coming. I blame for running off

You are amazing. All that self righteousness, and you are not even a citizen even after being a PR for so long!

Have you converted to SG citizen yet? You too have been using a lot of Singapore resources and unlike Lee, you are not even a citizen. OK, save me the I have families and I am so poor thing song and dance, all that Lee can so the same. I dislike her, but to see you acting all self righteous is so funny. I dun even know if your are attempting at humour. [rolleyes]

did he represent and win medals for his country? if they met before she came here, she still made the decision knowing full well shirt term.

if they met after, still the same!

I can and do blame her and the officials that arranged for a mercenary. this sucks and puts shame on Singapore as doing nothing more than buying medals

Can i ask where is the shame? That she go back to beijing? So if she doesn't go back, it validates everthing and there is no shame? I can't understand why all this hoo haa. When you bring in a foreigner and nationalise him/her for sports purposes, is it not forseeable that they would one day return home? Especially given how "warm and welcoming" we are to them? And wat mercenery are you talking about? We all need to be paid fair compensation for our contribution. She DID win those medals in Singapore's name right? So job done. The whole thing about her taking up citizenship is only cos IOC requires national players to be citizens (i am not saying it is wrong to have such requirement). If there was no such requirement then she probably would not have. How is that her or govt's fault? It's international rules and regulations. Why should we begrudge her for not being natural born talent? Her fault? It's we ourselves who don't have NBTs. Or - more probably - it doesn't pay to be a professional sportsperson in singapore. Yes i totally agree that it would be really nice to have a NBT on the world stage like Lee CW and Nicol David but the fact is we don't. Tough. So since IOC allows naturalised foreigners to compete in national colours, what are you blaming the govt or worse, the naturalised players? If naturalising foreign players was considered illegal/dishonourable IOC would have put it in the R&R that players must be born from parents who are the country's citizens, i.e. at least second generation citizens. Or something like that.

So just give it a rest la? All these negative comments have been repeated ad infinitum. And the truth is i am surprised by this line you're taking. I thought better of you.

The time and effort she spent on the training and the commitment to the sports shld not be discounted.

And honestly,dun think these players are very well paid unless they win in big tournaments.

Give credits when due lah.

If ur partner is base in some other countries,think it's logical to move in with the parrtner mah -_-

The time and effort she spent on the training and the commitment to the sports shld not be discounted.

And honestly,dun think these players are very well paid unless they win in big tournaments.

Give credits when due lah.

If ur partner is base in some other countries,think it's logical to move in with the parrtner mah -_-

So you'll definitely stay here in Singapore because Mr Fish is here? [blush]

You are amazing. All that self righteousness, and you are not even a citizen even after being a PR for so long!

Have you converted to SG citizen yet? You too have been using a lot of Singapore resources and unlike Lee, you are not even a citizen. OK, save me the I have families and I am so poor thing song and dance, all that Lee can so the same. I dislike her, but to see you acting all self righteous is so funny. I dun even know if your are attempting at humour. [rolleyes]

Yup what you just read from Darryn is typical ang mo holier than thou, i can do no wrong, double talk.

If you happen to join any ang moh MNC, you will get to hear it all the time. May even get a couple of knives in your back from time to time.

Yup what you just read from Darryn is typical ang mo holier than thou, i can do no wrong, double talk.

If you happen to join any ang moh MNC, you will get to hear it all the time. May even get a couple of knives in your back from time to time.

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

can spore pink IC holder live permanently in china and no need visa or some sort of residency status?

will china grant her citizenship again or PR after she had given up china citizenship?

u got $ you are welcome to live anywhere u like unless u stir sh!t.

I can and will slam her. no face money grabber. that is not what sport is. big fail from everyone. no pride in representing country.

sorlee, u dun seem to live in singapore long enough to know here .....

here everything has to be quantified, best is in terms of $, or some impressive figures, or number of awards/trophy/medals etc. "pride" is not measurable thus no place in this society. :D

To the top people, sport is just another avenue to add to their credential, this whole tt thing is just a commercial transaction, u pay, she play, u pay more, she play to win; u pay top $, she win top medals. simple? :wacko:

he sounded like sour grapes to me, [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Wats wrong is that she's from PRC.

I don't see the same accusations leveled at other race/nationality Singapore PRs and new Singapore citizens who decide to return to their country of birth.

Ang Moh PRs/new citizens do this all the time wat.

Ya man

When men look at pretty china babes, none of them complain why we let pretty babes come here

Title of the thread reads " Lee Jiawei retires and returns to Beijing", and there have been many discussions on patriotism and identity.

Folks, give her a break. 15 years ago, it was for her strong passion in the sports that she came. She was a teenager then and had never promised patriotism or whatsover. Definitely, she did not agree to have her name changed from "Li" to "Lee".

All these while, it has always been one-sided selfish expectations from ourselves. Folks, reflect and repent.

Unfortunately, by the time they reach their teenage years, they would realise that the nation's resources are allocated to develop the FTs instead of NBTs. Most of them would then give up. The government is simply not interested in pushing the limits of NBTs. They want results, bragging rights and headliners.

[thumbsdown]

Never a fan of LJW as throughout her stay here, I get the sense that she is not interested in sinking her roots here. But I have to say that the government should get the blame for this.

I don't think Singapore table tennis gained much beyond the medals.

Good point.

I see a lot of youngsters from 5 to 8 years of age practicing TT at my local SSC Sports Centre.

Some of them look very good even at so young an age.

I hope they keep it up and progress.

Depends on how you look at it.

Why is it that despite being based in Singapore, LJW would end up marrying a fellow Beijinger based in Beijing?

So coincidental.

Because that guy is rich? <_<