Will the COE bubble burst?

Forte3737

1 household 1 car policy is very debatable i.e. needs, enforceability issues, car collectors, complication in administerating such policy.

LTA have to devise an efficient transport system to discourage those who drive and park in workplace 9-5. Let's face it, there is jams everywhere during the peak hours, and the objective of LTA is to ensure smooth traffic. The main culprits are those who choose to drive rather than to take public transport to work. Increase carpark cost in the workplaces like Hong Kong, and you will see less people driving to work. $20 daily parking fees doesn't deter people paying more than $80,000 COEs to drive to work. Maybe $900 monthly season parking fee, will dampen the need to drive to work.

When more people choose to take public transport, then public transport will evolve i.e. premium bus services, more express buses, office buses, premium MRT cabins during peak hours for those who are willing to pay more for a seat.

If i not wrong, there is an express bus service to Shenton Way, think the price is more than $4/-. Cfm have a seat cos no standing allow.....

My area also got 1 owner changed from the old Altis (same model as mine) to a brand new Altis but kept the license number....... [laugh]

He love his plates and his Toyotas lar! cannot mei? [:p]

Do away with the concept of city centre and residential "outskirts." Integrate them. If I could walk 15 minutes to my office, I would. I wouldn't even be adding to the traffic.

Nice concept, may take another hundred years. I could not see any reason those big institution to move outside CBD.

Maybe we can start calling our local MAS, DBS, OCBC, UOB to go bedok or AMK... [:p]

By doing that those estate holding company will either go bust or their shares will go up afew times... we will be no difference like what Myammar did by moving their capital from Yangon to Naypyidaw.

He love his plates and his Toyotas lar! cannot mei? [:p]

His number is quite nice lah.....I think he bid for it last time 'cos all 4 nos. are the same.......... [laugh]

for a 10yr paper which is correlated to global economy, best to wait for next big crash then buy. Has happened every 10yrs so worth d wait. I bot a car in sept 2008 w <5K coe n another in march 2010 w 22.8K coe. WOnt buy until next crash as this isnt an investment so no such thing as buy n hold.

His number is quite nice lah.....I think he bid for it last time 'cos all 4 nos. are the same.......... [laugh]

4 nos same x lei! i oso know of a fella who change altis to an altis. he says he loves altis. but he din keep the plates!

My friend who previously drove an Altis also wanted to change to a new Altis but wife don't agreed. Then change to Civic and now everyday kpkb about its FC compared to the Altis........ [laugh]

not kpkb wife meh? :D

Nice concept, may take another hundred years. I could not see any reason those big institution to move outside CBD.

Maybe we can start calling our local MAS, DBS, OCBC, UOB to go bedok or AMK... [:p]

By doing that those estate holding company will either go bust or their shares will go up afew times... we will be no difference like what Myammar did by moving their capital from Yangon to Naypyidaw.

I think it's a common mindset that should be changed. Moving within Singapore is even nearer than moving within Yangon. It's because we believe we must follow how others organise their cities that we cannot accept change.

Why do you see that companies located in bedok or amk will go bust?

i believe it will burst as time will prove it to us.

now sihoryi is like the year of 1994-95 like tat keep on going high, as i believe it could b a cycle of every 18yrs. soon or later it will drop to around 20+k!!

Edited by Rezorn86

Hi all

COE prices has been expanding upwards. I was wondering whether these prices are really sustainable. Will the bubble burst?

the new norm is set. rich man buy new cars, middle class buy 2nd hand cars, others, buy Translink cards,.

If we need to change this, vote wisely next round.

Hi all

COE prices has been expanding upwards. I was wondering whether these prices are really sustainable. Will the bubble burst?

got money buy no money keep quiet and take bus. Nowadays alot of self comforting thread on COE which the admin should control if not this forum become rather meaningless.

the new norm is set. rich man buy new cars, middle class buy 2nd hand cars, others, buy Translink cards,.

If we need to change this, vote wisely next round.

In my humble opinion, I think one is being naive if he/she thinks a change in government is all it'll take to turn around the situation. We've got a bigger challenge on our hands, in balancing the desire for car ownership and Singapore's lack of pure physical space, that goes beyond mere politics.

You are right . Changing the control party does not mean it will solve the problem. Actually I am not sure whether

veryfree meant what you desc . I read it as vote for the one that give you the solution or at least a better solution.