Zxcvb Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Biker checked lane before turning out, noticed left-most lane got approaching car, so slowly turned into the right-most lane. But the time taken for the slow turn-in is just nice for TS's "fast-approaching" car to appear unaware to the biker. That's how I read this near-miss incident. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Depends where it happens, In MY, most driver will speed away ( witness one car did that right in front of us ( me and my MY friend, he driving ), just saw a helmet rolling on the road. They don't give a damn for bikers mostly. According to my MY friend, it is safer to speed away than to stop and gets beaten by villagers If driving in small kampung and you run over their chicken or dog or cat, best to drive away instead of stopping. Those villages will beat you to a pulp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Very heng TS managed to squeeze thru without hitting the bike or getting himself flipping over if hit the barrier.. Really must try to anticipate these jiu hu kia riding... Last night traveling on AYE, saw this jiu hu motorbike following a bus on 1st lane and was like filtering to the exit of the expressway while i am on 2nd lane. When i passed the bus i did not see other vehicle in front of it, i move further infront of the bus b4 signalling to change to 1st lane preparing to exit, when i check the side mirror i saw a headlight coming, then i realized the jb motorbike following the bus overtook the bus from it's left from the road shoulder... although not a close call but they really think overtaking from the road shoulder is safer... meh Your lane numbering is quite confusing leh! Lane 1 is the fastest lane and your episode is on the slowest lane (which is 3rd or 4th lane)! Is it not a good practice to keep behind the bus and exit rather than cut the bus and exit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Ah Ham, you sound like a Malaysian from your words (of "wau lau er") and accent.... From the video, I think you are traveling too fast. Then when the moto came cutting in, since you had spotted him you would have at least slow down and let him pass in-front of your Ody (but you continue your speed) and tried to squeezed in on the extreme right. Just IMO only... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 8, 2013 Author Share January 8, 2013 Ah Ham, you sound like a Malaysian from your words (of "wau lau er") and accent.... From the video, I think you are traveling too fast. Then when the moto came cutting in, since you had spotted him you would have at least slow down and let him pass in-front of your Ody (but you continue your speed) and tried to squeezed in on the extreme right. Just IMO only... imo... the motor drifted into right most lane at the very last moment where he could have just gone straight ahead. at that moment of judgement, i felt going through is safer for all than to brake that might hit him from the back. The motor cyclist does look dazy to me from the way he ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 If driving in small kampung and you run over their chicken or dog or cat, best to drive away instead of stopping. Those villages will beat you to a pulp. I think this is another one of those urban legends. Anyway if you are talking about a malay kampung, they don't keep dogs. Same kind of urban legend that you will get a durian thrown in your face if you annoy a durian seller in SG or you will have spit in your food if you argue with a waiter in any SG restaurants. Surprising to know that these stories have ended up in the various Internet forums. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 (edited) Your lane numbering is quite confusing leh! Lane 1 is the fastest lane and your episode is on the slowest lane (which is 3rd or 4th lane)! Is it not a good practice to keep behind the bus and exit rather than cut the bus and exit? sala for the lane numbering... should be 3rd lane for that instance... the bus is slow and it is still at least 600 700m away before my exit... as i dont want last min change lane to exit so i try to travel on 3rd lane for a distance before exiting, so i let the motorbike pass me before i change lane and exit comfortably... no close call with the motorbike and no last min cutting infront of the bus.... just wanting to point out these JB bikers riding behaviour... Edited January 8, 2013 by Xers007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 imo... the motor drifted into right most lane at the very last moment where he could have just gone straight ahead. at that moment of judgement, i felt going through is safer for all than to brake that might hit him from the back. The motor cyclist does look dazy to me from the way he ride. Some will tell you why you never anticipate this that, no road situation awareness.... blah blah blah... maybe he will feel happy the pills he took can make him fly... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xuanbee Neutral Newbie January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 imo... the motor drifted into right most lane at the very last moment where he could have just gone straight ahead. at that moment of judgement, i felt going through is safer for all than to brake that might hit him from the back. The motor cyclist does look dazy to me from the way he ride. 1. Actually it is very common for vehicles to come out from that small exit, shortcut to join the flyover. I have even seen big trucks doing that as well. I think there is a bit of design flaw, with a lot of lazy people trying to be funny, taking the advantage of this shortcut. They should set up a barrier to prevent people from doing so. 2. I think the motorcyclist was aware of your presence from afar. He misjudged your speed, thinking he could take his own sweet time to join in the flyover. I bet he got a shock as well when he found you were just beside him. 3. I am pretty familiar with this stretch of inner ring road, as i need to pass by at least 4-5 times per week. It is a long straight road with little traffic, and drivers tend to speed. It is a popular venue for illegal racers at night as well. 4. Morale of the story - try not to speed. The motorcyclist was wrong for sure, but the thread-starter could get into a tricky situation if he ran over the bike. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 sibei heng!!!!! but is the lady your wife... the commentary damn funny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 8, 2013 Author Share January 8, 2013 sibei heng!!!!! but is the lady your wife... the commentary damn funny dont focus on her leh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 dont focus on her leh.... i find that funny mah but really sibei heng lor........ anytime a life may be loss and not necessarily the motorcyclist Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 I think this is another one of those urban legends. Anyway if you are talking about a malay kampung, they don't keep dogs. Same kind of urban legend that you will get a durian thrown in your face if you annoy a durian seller in SG or you will have spit in your food if you argue with a waiter in any SG restaurants. Surprising to know that these stories have ended up in the various Internet forums. Urban legend? Please try it and see what happens Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PorkChong Clutched January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 ts probably can treat it as hitting a tree branch and continue his journey. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 imo... the motor drifted into right most lane at the very last moment where he could have just gone straight ahead. at that moment of judgement, i felt going through is safer for all than to brake that might hit him from the back. The motor cyclist does look dazy to me from the way he ride. Looking at the video, no way you can Siam him yr ody too long. Unless you have booster turbo charge that enable your ride to instant pickup. Can share wat have you done to your ride Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 I have very low opinion of the mentality of malaysian motor bikers and i despise them to the core. Ultimately the stupidest riders i have come across. i agree... they think they very zai.. but actually super reckless. Driving on BKE in evening is super stressful when all these motorcyclists go back to msia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PorkChong Clutched January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 i agree... they think they very zai.. but actually super reckless. Driving on BKE in evening is super stressful when all these motorcyclists go back to msia. those motor kia always think they very zai until they met king of hades. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 i agree... they think they very zai.. but actually super reckless. Driving on BKE in evening is super stressful when all these motorcyclists go back to msia. Tell me about it. Same thing in the morning when they all flood into Singapore. Hais. Living in Woodlands so stressful. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...