CEVS ....

Civic6228

dealer more buyer less ... it's a simple equation

Alright. Thanks all who explained to me. I checked out the arf for those cars with cevs rebate, indeed the arf is lower. Guess at end of the day, the calculations more or less the same. Ok I know already. Thanks all. :)

Let me put it in simple terms.

CEVS or whatever damned rebate, is deducted from your PARF rebate.

Same as OPC scheme. You buy it cheap but the "rebate" is deducted from PARF and COE.

So basically, you are paying your own rebate.

To the others, please correct me if I'm wrong.

yep, essentially this CEVS "rebate" means paying slightly less tax,

Pay less upfront for new car but the Parf value (paper value when scrapped) is also discounted by the same value.

Ok, for example I want to buy a brand new car, with CEVS rebate, do I pay for the listed/retail price, or the one after CEVS rebate? Can CEVS rebate be used to offset the overall car price?

For example, mitsubishi models:

http://www.------.com/new_cars/printed-car-price-list.php?pricelistid=705

attrage 1.2l, list price 95,999, cevs - 10,000, effective price - 85,999.  so is pay the price of 95,999, or 85,999??

lancer ex 1.6l auto (classic), list price - 107,999, cevs, 12,000, effective price - 95,999. pay 107,999 or 95,999?

how does cevs rebate works? does it use right on the spot when u buy the car, or monthly.yearly deduction or after 10 years when u scrap the car then the rebate is given back to you? Thanks.

Selling price is already including the CEVS rebate. It's a one-off rebate from your ARF.

CEVS supposely to make car cheaper with rebates ... but is it? [sly]

Not really cheaper leh. It's just an upfront return of PARF scrap amount from d chenghu. But, when a person sold d car to a dealer, d amount will be less from d sold price. And, if d dealer is honest, he will less tis amount to a buyer of d resale car. But, off course got unscrupulous one, maybe don't give all or mislead.

this CEVS rebates is not being passed down to the consumers and the AD are using this to fatten their profit margins. 

The government should just use this to off set the road tax payable every year just like what the EU countries are doing. And we shouldn't call the road tax, just call it emission tax.

What happens if you're paying only $600 a year in road tax and your CEVS rebate is $20,000? 

If thats not enough, then you deduct the PARF or COE.

the intention of CEVS rebate is to make car "cheaper"

this is to encourage buyer to buy high CEVS rebate car and at the same time cut down emission

dealer has an upperhand to manipulate car pricing and pass very little or $0 rebate to consumer

either govt know or simply close one-eye and let dealer do what they feel like

this CEVS rebates is not being passed down to the consumers and the AD are using this to fatten their profit margins. 

The government should just use this to off set the road tax payable every year just like what the EU countries are doing. And we shouldn't call the road tax, just call it emission tax.

What happens if you're paying only $600 a year in road tax and your CEVS rebate is $20,000? 

If thats not enough, then you deduct the PARF or COE.

Hi all, I am a bit confused by the CEV rebate.

I am looking at Mazda 5 and it seems contradicts.. or probably I am confused and had misinterpreted it... so here is goes:

As reflected by AD on the pricing summary, the CEVS is $0. However in the specs summary under performance, it indicates that the COE emission is 158g/km, which apparently under LTA, it is banded as A4 which renders a rebate of $5K.

Now, my query is, assumming at the end of 10 years, what will be the amount that I will be getting back when this car is deregistered? Is it $5K only? Or is it:

$18745 (OMV) * 55% - $5000 = $5,309.75?

Thanks to advice...

CEVS rebate is a well intentioned but poorly executed scheme.

To go green, you get screwed twice.

First screw by AD: They can basically pocket the CEVS rebate as they can simply mark up the car selling price by $5k (or more) and then use the rebate to offset their mark up.

Second screw: The 'rebate' is clawed back when u scrap as it is used to offset against the PARF. So in actual fact, there's no real rebate from gahmen as u paid yourself (or rather, let the AD makan already).

Moral of story? Buy a more pollutive car in the neutral band and remain a virgin.

CEVS = AD profit margin ... period ... enough said ... full stop ... move on

after kena chop carrot with higher margin then kena slapped with lesser paper value ... huat ah !

CEVS = AD profit margin ... period ... enough said ... full stop ... move on

after kena chop carrot with higher margin then kena slapped with lesser paper value ... huat ah !

No wonder many co say sg beri business-friendly.....

I am looking at Mazda 5 and it seems contradicts.. or probably I am confused and had misinterpreted it... so here is goes:

As reflected by AD on the pricing summary, the CEVS is $0. However in the specs summary under performance, it indicates that the COE emission is 158g/km, which apparently under LTA, it is banded as A4 which renders a rebate of $5K.

Now, my query is, assumming at the end of 10 years, what will be the amount that I will be getting back when this car is deregistered? Is it $5K only? Or is it:

Thanks to advice...

Yes it should be.

Siao liao. ... I better think twice..... thanks all for the sharing!

The $5K CEV rebate is given outright by LTA as ARF when d car is registered. You may want to check with d AD whether d rebate is given.

the only way to guarantee full CEVS rebate is if you pay for all the taxes on your own. glad i gotten someone to help me import my car and gotten a $30K CEVS rebate off my ARF! enjjoy the CEVS rebate while it last

Thanks to advice...

Under the revised CEVS criteria (effective July 2015), CO2 emission of 158g/Km is not entitled to any rebate (neutral zone).

And PARF at end of 10 years is 50% of ARF paid (effective since 2004 / 2005 iirc). So it your example of Mazda 5 (OMV @S$18745), ARF paid = S$18745, PARF = $9372 (round down to nearest dollar per LTA practice).

Edited by Carbon82