1. 1. Which brand do you recommend?

• Bike Friday
    • Brompton
    • Dahon
    • Tern
    • Strida
    • Other

Been noticing quite a lot of folding bicycles along East Coast as well as park connectors. Any of you riding one? Any recommendation? Does the body flex since it is disjoined?

Best to join the facebook group "Love Cycling Singapore". There are a lot of foldie riders in there and they can let you know the pros & cons of each brand, plus they have Sunday rides exploring Singapore with lots of makan involved.

i use cheap $80 Aleoca foldable for daily communting. no scare kenna stole.

buy a good one if its not going to be for daily commuting.

i quite like strida cos the foldable is easy and compact.

Edited by Babyt

Read somewhere that there is a 3month+ waiting list for Brompton as they can't keep up with demand.

Wah serious?? Like buying car.

Sorta. Foldie bikes are quite popular at the moment due to their convenience in being able to fold up and take up less space. Seen some people use the brompton for commute in Singapore and keep it under their desk at work so no risk of getting stolen.

Using a few Dahon Curve D3 in the family, and loving every moment of it.

Benefits..

16 inch wheels means whole family bikes can fit into the MPV, without the need for bicycle rack.

16 inch can easily enter lifts.

Dahon all aluminium, so no rust issue.

No issue with flexing as dahon joints very sturdy.

Only downside.. super ex in Sg, and overseas much cheaper.

Anyone know a cheaper 16 inch that performs as well?

Aleoca models does not fold as compact as a dahon.

Sorta. Foldie bikes are quite popular at the moment due to their convenience in being able to fold up and take up less space. Seen some people use the brompton for commute in Singapore and keep it under their desk at work so no risk of getting stolen.

3+ mth so long q meh?

Anyone heard of Raleigh brand foldable bikes? Any good? The 20-inch model sells for about RM700 in Bolehsia.

There are lots of cheap foldy in bolehland.

This is one of the good light weight foldie, the TERN Verge X10. This folding bike is retailing @ S$2750 by its local distributor here, but my friend bought this in JB for about RM 5000 (S$2000).

post-16380-1358857583_thumb.jpg

imo, get a cheapo second hand one to try out first. Only when you use it regularly, then take the plunge and buy a better one. You see many NEW foldies on sale. Yah, and test ride as many as you can.