Used Car Dealers Feedback (Part 2)!

Bro, u think all dealers so good to let u drive the car out to ur own mechanic? Pls intro me if u know of such dealers.

The car is under their company finance and insurance not ur own name, u think they will allow u to drive away for a long time for our mechanic to see?

My msg here is to serve as a warning to people.

This is a second hand car so of cos wear n tear expected. I'll be sending the car back to Volvo for evaluation then repair.

Those that are wear n tear, of cos I'll fix it and never ask the dealer to do for me.

Only expecting the o2 sensor to be fixed.

Blaming myself that I didn't request for STA evaluation before buying but luckily the tires didn't burst. Front arm control assembly damaged, I suay lor then how?

Now, I'm checking for the last service mileage as we are suspecting that the mileage is tampered.

When we go to ACRA wanting to buy dealer company info, it shows record not found

So this company is alittle fishy...

Actually when I bought my first 2nd hand car, a Honda Accord, 2 years ago, I insisted that the dealer, some company called WSJ in Turf City but like close down liao haha drove the car to my mechanic from Turf City to Sin Ming and let my mechanic check. Of course, have to be sincere lah, I told him do you want to negotiate the price first. He says no need. I say if he willing to drive the car to my mechanic and check and if majority nothing wrong, I will sui sui put downpayment there and then. My Mechanic check, engine, gear box nothing wrong, small things like bearings etc got sound. I decided to nego a price and we agreed on the price there and then and everything was on.

So I think there are still dealers out there who want to close the deal and honestly there are so many 2nd hand cars out there, I would not bother if the dealer not willing to let my mechanic conduct simple checks. The buyer has to do the part of being sincerely wanting to buy. If the car really nothing major wrong, then dun say to the dealer, let me think about it first huh. You will just waste their time and piss them off.

Edited by Gasband

I think dishonest dealer, P.I ... should be banned...

They get the business but they played people out.. customer who bough a car doesn't mean they are so well off to be eaten..  It's also their hard ern money... 

[crazy]  :nosebleed:  :TT_TT:

No doubt I am impressed by the reliability of the Subaru and Volvo, I'm no fanboy of any 

[shakehead]  [shakehead] my gearbox bearing conked out after less than 3yrs..... new car.... paintwork is not up to standard... slight brush with fingernail will see hairline scratch... subaru 1.6TS bugeye

Wow, the new Subarus must be quite bad then. Like I said, even different models within a brand can be problematic.

I just read the Nissan Teana thread that people are having radiator cracks at around 7 years. Costs close to $1K to replace.

Hi all,

DO NOT BUY FROM CLASSIC CREDIT.

As a new driver, I trusted them to be professional or at least honest in their service.

But they are really bad and smelly.

I bought a Honda Fit on 24th November 2015.

COE is until March 2017.

We requested for the car to be sent for STA check and it came back with a B grade.

The only thing that failed was the battery so they changed it for me.

We trusted them to handle everything including insurance.

They said that I can use my mum's name and enjoy 50% NCD knowing that my mum already has a car of her own.

It was only till one month later that we received a letter from the insurance company stating that we cannot enjoy 50% NCD as it is only applicable for one car (which is my mum's).

In the end, we have to fork out another $1000+ to get the insurance done.

I feel that they are really dishonest for telling us that the insurance will be damn cheap because of my mum's 50% NCD when they know better than anyone else that 50% NCD can only be applicable to one car.

So lesson 1 learnt.

Recently I sent my car for servicing after it broke down.

I was told that my ignition coil, spark plug etc all needed to be change.

The quote I received was $1000+ so I decided to let it be.

The servicing workshop also mentioned that the battery they replaced for me is of a wrong size.

As I feel that my car is working fine, I didnt pursue the matter.

Yesterday, 13th March 2016, my battery died on me.

I feel that it is not the norm as they just replaced the battery for me 3 months ago?

So I called up CLASSIC CREDIT and they say it's wear and tear.

Everything is wear and tear.

I called them from 12pm and only managed to get an answer around 7pm after countless calls.

When I told them I will lodge a complaint under lemon law and also write about their bad review online, they requested for 50 50 split bill for the battery which they claim is $180 which can only be done today (I got to pay $90).

As I have work today and they cant be responsible for loss of time and income, I went ahead to call an external company to change my battery for $150.

The whole afternoon they keep asking me if someone can jump start the car for me?

Sigh.

Can any experienced drivers advise if I have a chance if I apply lemon law?

Thanks.

Hi all,

DO NOT BUY FROM CLASSIC CREDIT.

As a new driver, I trusted them to be professional or at least honest in their service.

But they are really bad and smelly.

I bought a Honda Fit on 24th November 2015.

COE is until March 2017.

We requested for the car to be sent for STA check and it came back with a B grade.

The only thing that failed was the battery so they changed it for me.

We trusted them to handle everything including insurance.

They said that I can use my mum's name and enjoy 50% NCD knowing that my mum already has a car of her own.

It was only till one month later that we received a letter from the insurance company stating that we cannot enjoy 50% NCD as it is only applicable for one car (which is my mum's).

In the end, we have to fork out another $1000+ to get the insurance done.

I feel that they are really dishonest for telling us that the insurance will be damn cheap because of my mum's 50% NCD when they know better than anyone else that 50% NCD can only be applicable to one car.

So lesson 1 learnt.

Recently I sent my car for servicing after it broke down.

I was told that my ignition coil, spark plug etc all needed to be change.

The quote I received was $1000+ so I decided to let it be.

The servicing workshop also mentioned that the battery they replaced for me is of a wrong size.

As I feel that my car is working fine, I didnt pursue the matter.

Yesterday, 13th March 2016, my battery died on me.

I feel that it is not the norm as they just replaced the battery for me 3 months ago?

So I called up CLASSIC CREDIT and they say it's wear and tear.

Everything is wear and tear.

I called them from 12pm and only managed to get an answer around 7pm after countless calls.

When I told them I will lodge a complaint under lemon law and also write about their bad review online, they requested for 50 50 split bill for the battery which they claim is $180 which can only be done today (I got to pay $90).

As I have work today and they cant be responsible for loss of time and income, I went ahead to call an external company to change my battery for $150.

The whole afternoon they keep asking me if someone can jump start the car for me?

Sigh.

Can any experienced drivers advise if I have a chance if I apply lemon law?

Thanks.

Hihi

Lemon law only covers engine and transmission if I'm not wrong.

I just gotten my s80 in Jan too.

I went to the workshop and the batt they gave me is the wrong one too.

No wonder my engine lights kept coming out for no reason. I also changed my batt and it cost me $290. At least they split half half. Mine I paid 100% myself.

My car also had probs. O2 sensor is spoilt too.. And o2 sensor for my car, has to be purchased from agent only and its $600+ but this dealer paid 50% for me cos the o2 sensor can't possibly spoil within 2 weeks of me driving

As for 50% NCD, it applies only one car. Er I thought this is quite straight forward.

I bought this car and my previous car not scrap yet and I haven't canceled the insurance. This current car insurance co called me and say if I don't cancel previous car, this new insurance don't have 50% NCD.

Hi guys, I just want to check what is the standard process of selling your car to a dealer?

Correct me if I am wrong

1) they will come down check on the car

2) sign the sale agreement (with no due date or how long it is valid)

3) they pay a deposit

And here comes the tricky part

4)how long will it usually take to come out with the fund to settle outstanding loans and cashier order for the balance?

Surely it won't take more than a week right?

Hi Guys,

Just to revive this post here a bit. I actually put a deposit with them and initially had a gut feeling that they were going to not going to honor their word of refunding the deposit after 'loan rejection', so I made them sign a black and white + stamp in the event that the loan is not found after 1 week (or exhausted all means), they have to return my deposit. 

It was initially agreed that I used my own 'in-house' but due to the price and loan tenure given by my 'in-house', they can only extend a certain amount. Anything beyond that they are unable to do it (i.e.: I have to top up a difference of 10k++, then they will let the loan pass through, which is technically impossible). This was done on the same day when I deposited the money to secure the vehicle. Following which over a period of 2 days, he sourced for banks and since then, there was no reply.

Now that after 1 week has past, the seller has been telling me that 'he is busy' and 'will call later', is there anyway to reclaim the deposit from the agreement we had? Is this considered CBT?

Thanks folks for guiding...

what is the No. 1 most annoying business in spore that screw customer?

no need PhD to find out the answer ...

post-7984-0-43507100-1458047045_thumb.png

there should be a regulation that all car dealers, car salesmen, pass some exams and be licensed before they can sell cars.  Much like real estate agents, which used to be a cowboy industry(still is to some extend).  Only then can the standard of profession be raised. 

I guess all the people who come in here and post DONT BUY FROM XYZ COMPANY actually didn't read through 127 pages of stuff... not a surprise really.

Every day there will be a first time used car buyer who thinks cars run forever, and they expect dealers to be able to fix this and that, then later go to some workshop that tell them this and that spoil and they believe (if your ignition coil spoil Vieva, your car will be vibrating like mad)

Always buy a used car as-is, and be prepared to repair it. Don't bother to ask the dealer fix anything.

I guess all the people who come in here and post DONT BUY FROM XYZ COMPANY actually didn't read through 127 pages of stuff... not a surprise really.

Every day there will be a first time used car buyer who thinks cars run forever, and they expect dealers to be able to fix this and that, then later go to some workshop that tell them this and that spoil and they believe (if your ignition coil spoil Vieva, your car will be vibrating like mad)

Always buy a used car as-is, and be prepared to repair it. Don't bother to ask the dealer fix anything.

Yes, I have said it many times.

If you really like the car, just whack the lowest price you can and set aside the money saved for repairs in the future. Don't expect those dealers to fix for you, it's just empty promises.

But should still send for inspection just to make sure no structural damages?

inspection is a must for 2nd hand cars.

Dun be a sore loser. If u have the downpayment. U won't stood to be a mummy boy and complaint abt it. Be strong n earn more money. Take loan from a bank if u have the capability

you just proved my point. :) even after nearly a year..  [laugh] 

Thanks for your encouragement. I'll definitely strive to earn more money. Hopefully you'll strive to provide better service to your customers and grow with GV credit / GV Cars. Not sure why your company must rename but definitely can't be something good.  [:p]

Dun be a sore loser. If u have the downpayment. U won't stood to be a mummy boy and complaint abt it. Be strong n earn more money. Take loan from a bank if u have the capability

Hi Gavin! U r Gavin from GV credit rite? U must be very free to dig up a post from nearly one year back :p

And when did the guy say he dont want or cannot take loan? Comprehension fail :p

U must have done poorly in school because of ur low intelligence and tat's y u are stuck being a car salesman :p

Petty twit :p

Hey hey, let's not bring out salesman's names out here to shame. While I do understand that they have to earn their reasonable keep, but what's reasonable to us and to them right? Being car salesman means they are commission paid, and it's not like the 'good old days' in the past, where they just 2, 3 cars and they can just slack off for the entire month.

I used to buy several cars (for business purposes) from a single dealer and because I fully trusted him, on the 3rd car that I bought from him, it was 'lemon', but because of my lack of 'due diligence' to protect myself and fully trust him, the car came back as a total loss - less than 3 months later (due to engine overheat and it was not viable to repair as it was due for scrap 5 months later). I swore never to come back to him. However after talking to another common friend about this particular salesman, it comes to a point - let go and move on, no point brooding over this since the onus was on me to check. However, for the first 2 cars, I did let him keep his 'admin fees'. probably up to $500 each transaction, because his services were worth my time and money, and I do understand has to earn his keep. The previous 2 cars are great, and till date it has been 2 years, the last 2 cars (Toyota Altis and Mazda 3) I got from him had no issues.

Coming back, I think it boils down personally to how you feel the salesman service you. Everyone wants to earn their keep - some through honest means and well, some not very honest. It is for us - the consumers to do our homework or due diligence before securing a purchase. I believe that as long as car dealers can work in tandem with consumers with transparent transactions, it will definitely make buying/selling a better place, but then again, greed has no end, and since there is no rules to regulate car dealers and buyers, I guess at times like this you have to be street smart as well.

Let's not condemn any profession here shall we. Some deserve to earn their keep, while some, their action speaks for themselves. Probably in summary as buyers, let's make sure that we do not go into a rash decision and then end up getting tangled up in a situation which is hard to get out...

For instance, like me now... hiaz....

That is definitely. I am striving too

Gv CARS is not rename. It's additional branch expanding.to increase manpower n sales. You Work hard .