Hiphiphoray 6th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Everything also bill to ah gong. i also will work until die........ LKY@90yr old still working..how can u guys think of retirement? source: MM Lee: There should be no retirement age ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Actually if i can continue with my current profession till Im extremely old....I think I will be a happy man.... i prefer to work than retire....I mean slowing down my pace say by 50% as I aged and still contributing to this economy and be appreciated for my skill rather than to be totally obsolete...some may say they will pick up this and that do this and that...ultimately staying employed will provide me with an income while staying jobless overtime, I am not sure if I am still relevant to this world....jus my personal tot... But I am against them holding back my money for long if I continue to stay employed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 It's better to be working and keep your mind active rather than retire and let yr mind idle, will have dementia. My dad is 73 and still working keeping his mind active and alert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Boy 25 started work at 25 with salary of S$2500. meet a girl 23, started work at 23 with salary of S$2300. Both of them doing well at work with a 10% increase in basic salary per year, year on year. 2 years together, bought a BTO at S$400K. End of 5 years when boy is 30 years old & girl is 28 years old, their basic salary is 4026.28, 3704.17, Combined income of $7730.45. And using this formula, their OA savings account would be somewhere at S$95,994.53. Buy a HDB at S$400K, they need how many years to service the HDB loan of monthly S$1483 per month? Based on the simple maths, it would take them 20 years to clear outstanding. In between, not much of savings for child's education so no choice to take 30 years loan. End of the 30 years, boy 60yrs old, girl 58yrs old has a fully paid flat, not much CPF savings. Question At this present date, how many couples you know that has combine of S$8K? Before GE, HDB loan capped at S$8K. So easy to have 10% incrument YOY? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Their salary in the millions one. Basket.......i dont mind working until 200 years old with it. I wouldn't mind either [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 LKY@90yr old still working..how can u guys think of retirement? source: MM Lee: There should be no retirement age Then all citizens can continue to contribute to CPF with no withdrawal allowed until you meet RadX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rezorn86 3rd Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 (edited) Then all citizens can continue to contribute to CPF with no withdrawal allowed until you meet RadX lolx our cpf is under control by him?? [laugh] i think hor, it is good to work no matter how old we are, to prevent FT take our place even as a cleaner. Edited February 8, 2013 by Rezorn86 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 all of us will be working as cleaners/ cardboard collectors in our 70s in future. That's the only job available to us... One more job, ministar job Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 LKY@90yr old still working..how can u guys think of retirement? source: MM Lee: There should be no retirement age He is paid how much, we are paid how much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 How early you retire depends on how much commitment you make . For Singaporeans very showy and haolian, they like to leverage big big on property and cars Some even buy watches and tv and electronics on HP. Buy this buy that but pocket empty, loans queued up until 2030. Of course cannot retire until 70yrs old lah. Deserve it. Play right into the "trap" ... Ole ole ole ole Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Boy 25 started work at 25 with salary of S$2500. meet a girl 23, started work at 23 with salary of S$2300. Both of them doing well at work with a 10% increase in basic salary per year, year on year. 2 years together, bought a BTO at S$400K. End of 5 years when boy is 30 years old & girl is 28 years old, their basic salary is 4026.28, 3704.17, Combined income of $7730.45. And using this formula, their OA savings account would be somewhere at S$95,994.53. Buy a HDB at S$400K, they need how many years to service the HDB loan of monthly S$1483 per month? Based on the simple maths, it would take them 20 years to clear outstanding. In between, not much of savings for child's education so no choice to take 30 years loan. End of the 30 years, boy 60yrs old, girl 58yrs old has a fully paid flat, not much CPF savings. Question At this present date, how many couples you know that has combine of S$8K? Before GE, HDB loan capped at S$8K. So easy to have 10% incrument YOY? The answer is simple, they should not buy $400k flat. They should only buy $300k flat. Down to earth a bit lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 all of us will be working as cleaners/ cardboard collectors in our 70s in future. That's the only job available to us... Why do you think i am wiping tables now? So as to secure my future retirement job, i better start doing the job today!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 The answer is simple, they should not buy $400k flat. They should only buy $300k flat. Down to earth a bit lah Now where got $300k flat, I ish ask you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Now where got $300k flat, I ish ask you? Have lah. Plus govt grant etc , 3 room, why not? Otherwise dont wear $10k watch, dont drive $150k at age 28 lah. Now all so chow kuan, i also can complain that i cant afford to buy a Detached now. KNN subsidise me lah, i dont do NS, i dont pay taxes meh? By all means, make noise but make noise correctly also lah. So many people make noise incorrectly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 The answer is simple, they should not buy $400k flat. They should only buy $300k flat. Down to earth a bit lah Then my question would be how about those earning far lesser than the mentioned couple? Many of my friends earning $5.5k combined. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Then my question would be how about those earning far lesser than the mentioned couple? Many of my friends earning $5.5k combined. Save money, work a few more years. But dont get me wrong, i am not for HDb flats rising in prices. I think it must remain very affordable and anthority must clamp down hard on people who hv private and rent out hdb to make money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 all of us will be working as cleaners/ cardboard collectors in our 70s in future. That's the only job available to us... No lah, my vision is to be a security guard after I retire Stress free some more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 You should also be asking WHERE with 6.9 million population. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...