Volvobrick Supersonic March 1, 2022 Share March 1, 2022 Cheaper to add an amplifier and turn up the music volume..... ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wallaw819 4th Gear March 1, 2022 Share March 1, 2022 5 hours ago, shutterbox said: if open to the engine top change parts, will 1 time change as much consumables as possible not much to change for this - head cover and spark plugs gasket, valve adjustments and maybe spark plugs, if never change before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged March 1, 2022 Share March 1, 2022 11 hours ago, shutterbox said: Hi guys, sorry for digging this up. bought a COE Allion. 1NZ-FE engine. cold start in morning will get rattling/hammering sound when accelerating. after car warm up, sound seem to go away. any workshop to recommend to do some troubleshooting and parts change? from my own experience it is the sign of engine and gearbox mountings hardening 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 1, 2022 Share March 1, 2022 3 hours ago, Phang said: from my own experience it is the sign of engine and gearbox mountings hardening Unlikely. if it is mountings then the rattles and noises would more likely go away with less vibrations when accelerating (revving) Do we know where the noise or rattle is coming directly from? open the bonnet and listen to what te engine bay is saying. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged March 1, 2022 Share March 1, 2022 20 minutes ago, Throttle2 said: Unlikely. if it is mountings then the rattles and noises would more likely go away with less vibrations when accelerating (revving) Do we know where the noise or rattle is coming directly from? open the bonnet and listen to what te engine bay is saying. it could be due to many reasons, I was pointing out one of the possibilities that is cheapest to fix 😁 my ex W204 will made a low thumping sound when the engine is cold and it went away once warm up I believe the engine mountings rubber are harder when cold and soften up once the engine heat transferred to it after a while I used that behaviour/sound to gauge the timing of engine mounts replacement once replace, the sound disappear until 40,000km ~ 60,000km later depending on my luck 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 2, 2022 Share March 2, 2022 9 hours ago, Phang said: it could be due to many reasons, I was pointing out one of the possibilities that is cheapest to fix 😁 my ex W204 will made a low thumping sound when the engine is cold and it went away once warm up I believe the engine mountings rubber are harder when cold and soften up once the engine heat transferred to it after a while I used that behaviour/sound to gauge the timing of engine mounts replacement once replace, the sound disappear until 40,000km ~ 60,000km later depending on my luck I see. Its fairly easy to tell when its time for engine mounts to be replaced. once you feel your engine block shuddering at idle, its about time 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shutterbox 3rd Gear March 11, 2022 Share March 11, 2022 On 3/1/2022 at 11:19 PM, Throttle2 said: Unlikely. if it is mountings then the rattles and noises would more likely go away with less vibrations when accelerating (revving) Do we know where the noise or rattle is coming directly from? open the bonnet and listen to what te engine bay is saying. that rattling sounds like metallic sound, so i doubt its anything to do with rubber hardening rev more, rattling louder drive for 10mins, sound is leseen. search on youtube. prime suspects are VVT actuator pin or timing chain. guess these are cheaper fixes? (but seriously i dunno how cheap/expensive 😁). both of which involves opening the engine cover? another could be valve/cylinder koyak? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 11, 2022 Share March 11, 2022 1 minute ago, shutterbox said: that rattling sounds like metallic sound, so i doubt its anything to do with rubber hardening rev more, rattling louder drive for 10mins, sound is leseen. search on youtube. prime suspects are VVT actuator pin or timing chain. guess these are cheaper fixes? (but seriously i dunno how cheap/expensive 😁). both of which involves opening the engine cover? another could be valve/cylinder koyak? I guess u already check your oil level? and its full. No ppl is going to open your engine top and change 1 pin or a timing chain. it will be a top overhaul min. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shutterbox 3rd Gear March 11, 2022 Share March 11, 2022 6 minutes ago, Beregond said: I guess u already check your oil level? and its full. No ppl is going to open your engine top and change 1 pin or a timing chain. it will be a top overhaul min. EO changed. sound still there. I could call up a few workshops to ask, but as a ballpark (and not be cheated), how much are we look at to do a engine top overhaul? 😞 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 11, 2022 Share March 11, 2022 9 minutes ago, shutterbox said: EO changed. sound still there. I could call up a few workshops to ask, but as a ballpark (and not be cheated), how much are we look at to do a engine top overhaul? 😞 What oil did you use. Go for some good detergent oil. Might be able to free up the stuck pin. also how long do you intend to drive it for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shutterbox 3rd Gear March 11, 2022 Share March 11, 2022 19 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: What oil did you use. Go for some good detergent oil. Might be able to free up the stuck pin. also how long do you intend to drive it for. Mobile 1 EO. COE last for another 7yrs. Apart from this sound, im quite OK with all this allion drives. Just dun want a problem to snowball into something that costs alot more to deal with. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 11, 2022 Share March 11, 2022 34 minutes ago, shutterbox said: EO changed. sound still there. I could call up a few workshops to ask, but as a ballpark (and not be cheated), how much are we look at to do a engine top overhaul? 😞 japanese car about 3k+- depend how atas the ws, and how many parts replace. but from what u say only morning when cold start got problem. it would be crazy to do a overhaul for it, unless your pocket very deep or u really buay tahan. maybe change to a thicker oil like 5w50 or some addictive. morning have some patience let the engine idle 1 min before driving off. A allion 1.6 used engine imported from japan plus replacement also cost u about 3k+- only . those engine normally still very very good condition. u can drive till your engine burst replace whole engine at 3k. why go overhaul for abit of sound now😅 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shutterbox 3rd Gear March 11, 2022 Share March 11, 2022 12 minutes ago, Beregond said: japanese car about 3k+- depend how atas the ws, and how many parts replace. but from what u say only morning when cold start got problem. it would be crazy to do a overhaul for it, unless your pocket very deep or u really buay tahan. maybe change to a thicker oil like 5w50 or some addictive. morning have some patience let the engine idle 1 min before driving off. A allion 1.6 used engine imported from japan plus replacement also cost u about 3k+- only . those engine normally still very very good condition. u can drive till your engine burst replace whole engine at 3k. why go overhaul for abit of sound now😅 True also la. If remove engine top, change out the wearable parts, also 3k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 11, 2022 Share March 11, 2022 14 minutes ago, shutterbox said: True also la. If remove engine top, change out the wearable parts, also 3k? depend alot on ws😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 11, 2022 Share March 11, 2022 1 hour ago, shutterbox said: Mobile 1 EO. COE last for another 7yrs. Apart from this sound, im quite OK with all this allion drives. Just dun want a problem to snowball into something that costs alot more to deal with. Then I would suggest 6-7k oil changes with mobil1. To “clean” the engine. Using engine flush may help but then you run the risk of compromising the engine seals. Causing leaks. the best way is to change out the oil more frequently for now to let it clean up the engine 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 11, 2022 Share March 11, 2022 2 hours ago, shutterbox said: that rattling sounds like metallic sound, so i doubt its anything to do with rubber hardening rev more, rattling louder drive for 10mins, sound is leseen. search on youtube. prime suspects are VVT actuator pin or timing chain. guess these are cheaper fixes? (but seriously i dunno how cheap/expensive 😁). both of which involves opening the engine cover? another could be valve/cylinder koyak? then it is likely the timing belt wheels. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shutterbox 3rd Gear March 12, 2022 Share March 12, 2022 (edited) 11 hours ago, Throttle2 said: then it is likely the timing belt wheels. 12 hours ago, Mkl22 said: Then I would suggest 6-7k oil changes with mobil1. To “clean” the engine. Using engine flush may help but then you run the risk of compromising the engine seals. Causing leaks. the best way is to change out the oil more frequently for now to let it clean up the engine Thanks guys. I also realized that the sound only comes in when engaged to Drive. Didnt seem to hear it when vehicle is in P/N n I tried revving it. CVT Gear change was ok, didnt feel lost of power Does that point to a different problem? Edited March 12, 2022 by shutterbox Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 12, 2022 Share March 12, 2022 (edited) 28 minutes ago, shutterbox said: Thanks guys. I also realized that the sound only comes in when engaged to Drive. Didnt seem to hear it when vehicle is in P/N n I tried revving it. CVT Gear change was ok, didnt feel lost of power Does that point to a different problem? Then it’s transmission. Change the cvt fluid? That’s about the most you can do. And then drive till the cvt breaks then repair. No point touching it until it breaks. Since a rebuild will change most of the wear components. Rebuilding it earlier when it is still working is just a waste of money. If it happens only when cold. Then maybe not enough fluid and it takes for that few seconds for the pump to circulate the fluid. In any case a change of fluid will help. Make sure you use the correct fluid. It’s either atf-ws or cvt-fe. Make sure it is right one. And only use original fluid. Edited March 12, 2022 by Mkl22 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...