questionedfish Clutched April 9, 2013 Author Share April 9, 2013 Haha...looking at the replies you are leaving everyone guessing. There's no model answer lah. If wanna tell might as well tell the whole story. Sometimes I feel some ppl are still in primary school, very afraid to tell the teacher that they need to go toilet. I mean you too have the social responsibility to tell your immediate boss you are not feeling well. You will not get yourself or ppl around you into trouble. Have you gone thru NS? "Anyone not feeling well" is not asking for fun. Now looks like too late, already happened. Asking whether got implications. You know yourself whether you are fit for work. Any time not feeling well you should stop and tell someone & not wait for something to happen. It goes like this.. I went to see the doc in the evening and am offered mc for the next day which i rejected. So take med nia lor Thing is, if i had taken the mc for next day and something happen to me if i go back work, then how? Knowing that my boss dislike people taking mc also? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched April 9, 2013 Author Share April 9, 2013 he is saying unless Bro RADx is call in... then one is fit to work... He go far far bettar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 If you go work when you're on MC, and something unfortunate happen to you during the course of work, are there any implications? Company insurance/hospital still applicable? if you are talking about insurance, I believe it is still claimable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 (edited) It goes like this.. I went to see the doc in the evening and am offered mc for the next day which i rejected. So take med nia lor Thing is, if i had taken the mc for next day and something happen to me if i go back work, then how? Knowing that my boss dislike people taking mc also? You already know the answer. Why ask me? Anyway when doctor issue one day MC to me I rather not take coz I will only delay my work and ppl are waiting for me. If doc give consecutive days dan it must be quite serious and I will go home and rest. I do not want ppl to think I'm unprofessional, come up with mc and whatever excuse on important work days. Anyway in sgp it's compulsory for companies to buy workman compensation insurance and medical insurance for their workers. You have nothing to worry. Edited April 9, 2013 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 I was recently in such a situation. HR told me to stop coming to work during the course of MC and informed my boss against asking me to come back to work. The company would not want to answer to MOM if anything happened and it could affect insurance claims from what I was told. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 It goes like this.. I went to see the doc in the evening and am offered mc for the next day which i rejected. So take med nia lor Thing is, if i had taken the mc for next day and something happen to me if i go back work, then how? Knowing that my boss dislike people taking mc also? Actually it depends how sick you are. Nowadays when you go see doctor, most of the time doctor surely will give you MC. But sometimes you really not that sick and just want to see doctor to get some medicine. Few weeks ago i have cough only and went to see doctor, and the doctor also offered to give me MC, but i rejected cause it is cough and i still able to go to work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 I was recently in such a situation. HR told me to stop coming to work during the course of MC and informed my boss against asking me to come back to work. The company would not want to answer to MOM if anything happened and it could affect insurance claims from what I was told. It won't affect claims on insurance. MOM will make their live difficult filling up forms and they will come every now and dan to ask a lot of questions. It's very disruptive to the company's operation. Also they will want to see the big boss and question him. Down the chain of command the supervisors and managers will get an earful from the big boss. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 It won't affect claims on insurance. MOM will make their live difficult filling up forms and they will come every now and dan to ask a lot of questions. It's very disruptive to the company's operation. Also they will want to see the big boss and question him. Down the chain of command the supervisors and managers will get an earful from the big boss. that's what my HR told me.........maybe she's referring to the Workmen Comp which was processing at that point of time??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched April 9, 2013 Author Share April 9, 2013 You already know the answer. Why ask me? Anyway when doctor issue one day MC to me I rather not take coz I will only delay my work and ppl are waiting for me. If doc give consecutive days dan it must be quite serious and I will go home and rest. I do not want ppl to think I'm unprofessional, come up with mc and whatever excuse on important work days. Anyway in sgp it's compulsory for companies to buy workman compensation insurance and medical insurance for their workers. You have nothing to worry. Good that i'll still be covered then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Workmen Comp is for certain level workers or apply to all? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Workmen Comp is for certain level workers or apply to all? Google "Work Injury Compensation Act". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 I just learned... In Taiwan... if sick, go see doctor get MC, deduct 50% pay. If no MC, consider absent from work. Either deduct AL or 100% pay for the day. So, most of them don't take MC unless really cannot get out of bed. We are so so fortunate to be here... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 I just learned... In Taiwan... if sick, go see doctor get MC, deduct 50% pay. If no MC, consider absent from work. Either deduct AL or 100% pay for the day. So, most of them don't take MC unless really cannot get out of bed. We are so so fortunate to be here... some companies practice the same here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 I just learned... In Taiwan... if sick, go see doctor get MC, deduct 50% pay. If no MC, consider absent from work. Either deduct AL or 100% pay for the day. So, most of them don't take MC unless really cannot get out of bed. We are so so fortunate to be here... some companies have benefits that if you didn't use the amt of medical benefits, you get to take a portion of the $ at the end of the year...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damien22 1st Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 It goes like this.. I went to see the doc in the evening and am offered mc for the next day which i rejected. So take med nia lor Thing is, if i had taken the mc for next day and something happen to me if i go back work, then how? Knowing that my boss dislike people taking mc also? Is your boss in a better position than the doctor to question how your medical condition is at that point of time? I don't think so. But I know many managers/bosses don't like employees taking MC. It really depends on the work place culture. If I am sick and my boss forces me to work, I would ask him if he can be answerable if anything happens to me. But thankfully, my boss is very understanding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 sick means no work....my boss try to encourage no MC for whole year, end of the year company disburse your annual medical benefit to you. When u r sick, u r unfit for work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 I pity the staff that happen to be under you if you subscribe to this notion. dun have to pity them ... i can't force it on them ... i can only practice what i preach myself ... no mc for the past five years although have been to the polyclinic a few times a year for my meds. but i only pity those (incl myself) who have to work double hard to fill in the missing persons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 ya. if the person dunno i'm on mc? how then inform the person u on mc my engineer make noise one certain employee that took mc i told him doctor certify him unfit to work who are we to question doctor decision and profession from then on my engineer LL ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...