Watches III

Steptronic

Eh guys seriously, solid gold rolex very hard to carry off right?

Wah i really dunno how to do it man.

Dude, you see my pics, sincerely, i think i carried it off alright whether it's the Sports gold or the Elegant gold. Right? [blush]

Heh heh.... [wave]

* Age may not be a definitive requirement but it certainly helps

Edited by Throttle2

Thinking of selling my Pam..but it's got a small ding at the lug..knocked it against my car door while carrying out my boy from the baby seat.

Anyone got good lobang to repair it? Or should I try to sell as it is?

Small ding can be polished off. If it's deep then just leave it.

But why selling?

maybe he wanna trade into a rollie lah, after all your poison [laugh] [laugh]

for those who can afford $20k+ on a watch and buys a Roller, why are you not considering more high end movements from marquees like Patek, VC, Blancpain, Lange instead?

Or do you already have a Patek, VC, Blancpain, Lange...? [:p]

20k can't get any decent PP... Maybe a PP on quartz movement.

But why selling?

Looking for something refreshing for a change. Aiming for a dressier and understated piece.

Pam is like so common nowadays.. And I feel it's becoming like a wannabe watch... Loud, brash, and gay looking [laugh]

Realize most Pam wearers have puny wrists, myself included [laugh]

Eh guys seriously, solid gold rolex very hard to carry off right?

Wah i really dunno how to do it man.

U need to look fit, tanned and sporty. Gold watch looks good generally on white Caucasian and black guys.. But generally if the wearer are fit looking then it looks good. Of plumb and fat, then better dun wear.. Looks like 暴发户 regardless of race.

Above are my Personal view, not meant to be offensive to anyone

maybe he wanna trade into a rollie lah, after all your poison [laugh] [laugh]

Much as I like the solid gold gmt master ii,

I don't have the confidence to carry it off

I can't afford it yet

I can't bear to part with more than 3 grand on a watch. Any watch. Even my 000 was out of budget then but I decided what the heck.

Too many people own a rolex.

And based on my income now if I wear a rolex most people will think its fake [laugh]

U need to look fit, tanned and sporty. Gold watch looks good generally on white Caucasian and black guys.. But generally if the wearer are fit looking then it looks good. Of plumb and fat, then better dun wear.. Looks like 暴发户 regardless of race.

I agree with most except the Caucasian part. Gold on fair skin looks gay. [laugh]

And must be just the right build.. Or fit as what you said.

Too skinny and look like a butch

Too fat and look like a wastrel

My personal views, pls don't flame me [knife][rifle]

Looking for something refreshing for a change. Aiming for a dressier and understated piece.

Pam is like so common nowadays.. And I feel it's becoming like a wannabe watch... Loud, brash, and gay looking [laugh]

totally agree.

I tried to understand why ppl likes pam and wonders why I never caught on...... somehow I just don't like it - they all look the same to me. But for Rolex, I got hooked in a matter of a few days.

Er....you are not wrong.....thats why i never bot a Panerai.

A base model luminor Marina used to be only $2000.

Then for whatever funny reason, it shot up over a few years becos of demand.

But a basic Panerai is still fine, no matter what.

A Daytona used to be the grail for many people long ago becos it really was not easily obtained due to lower production numbers. A premium had to be paid. And you would hardly see one in the same restaurant. I enjoyed that feeling for quite a few years. Nowadays it is found on the wrist of some young executive whose monthly salary cant pay for half the price i paid for the watch.

Thats life. Quite similar to car ownership in recent years too.

Edited by Throttle2

Jialat i plump and fat !

20k can't get any decent PP... Maybe a PP on quartz movement.

Can get preowned Calatrava for less than $20k.

Basic PP but still a classic no matter.

Thanks, was just going to say same thing. And easily an Aquanaut pre-owned for that matter.

There are quite a few Calatrava on auction from pawn shops/seized items, so there is a possibility that the pre-owned ones could come from these sources. Of cos if you are not 'pan tang', the source would not matter [:p]

Guys, have a query.

Quite fancy a Daydate. Dun think I can carry the yellow gold well, so searching for a white gold.

Realistically speaking, can a 18209, and/or 18239 be had for say $12,000 - $15,000?

Also feel that a WG DD is not easy to find.

What other things to look out for? How many links does it comes with originally?

Thank you.

Guys, have a query.

Quite fancy a Daydate. Dun think I can carry the yellow gold well, so searching for a white gold.

Realistically speaking, can a 18209, and/or 18239 be had for say $12,000 - $15,000?

Also feel that a WG DD is not easy to find.

What other things to look out for? How many links does it comes with originally?

Thank you.

Welcome .....

Yes of course under $15k possible.

I think it originally comes with 25 links.

WG is not as commonly available but still not that difficult to find.

The two main things other than a good running movement are the lugs and the bracelet.

Make sure Lugs are thick and fat an unpolished

Bracelet stretch should not be too much.

Aso note the bezel for dents and shine.

Good luck

Edited by Throttle2

Thank you for the advice.

Some more qns : how crucial are the box and papers? Do they add value to the pre-owned watch? if yes, like how much more?

Apologies, first time buying pre-own, no prior experience.....