Preventive maintenance

Roh96

Sometimes it doesnt give signs, i remember the radiator hose give way and breaks and the radiator just dry up and by the time the sign show, it is already 'overheated'! [:p]

Agree, some parts will fail without giving signs. Unlike weak battery, oil leak etc, where there are warning signs and sufficient time for me to respond.

Change the brake fluid and pads.

Is this mean to be a joke? Brake fluid and pads are quite lasting leh.

After 8 years and 130k?

No its not meant to be a joke.

Brake fluid is hydroscopic, that means it absorbs water from the air

and becomes less efficient. So I hope TS has changed brake fluid more than

once over the last 8 years.

Anyway thank you for your question, brake fluid renewal is often neglected

as most people over look it.

If TS has not renewed his brake fluid and pads over 8 years,

please don't drive to close behind any silver Getz.

Thanks

Yeah, then follow by power steering fluid,coolant,wiper rubber, ATF oil,tires,

motor and aircon cooling fan, engine mounting, shock absorber, upper/lower arm

drive shaft, wheel bearing, brake caliper/disk, door regulator etc etc..... :D :D Never end.

IMHO, just drive if find something wrong then change. Normal servicing is good enough.

If worry too much then change new car [sunny]

>Roh96, yes you can change the parts before breakdown such as water pump, aircon compressor, brake hose etc.

Since your ride is already 8yrs and you want keep it in good health. Do your calculation if you want to keep the car beyond 10yrs.

Else, scraping the car on 10yrs COE expiry is a waste. I believe your Toyota is Japan made based on the age (8yrs old).

This should be very reliable and can go beyond 10yrs. You may get your spare parts from MingGhee (near Boon Keng industrial area towards Eminent plaza)

After 8 years and 130k?

No its not meant to be a joke.

Brake fluid is hydroscopic, that means it absorbs water from the air

and becomes less efficient. So I hope TS has changed brake fluid more than

once over the last 8 years.

Anyway thank you for your question, brake fluid renewal is often neglected

as most people over look it.

I agree. Brake fluid should be changed almost once every 2 years due to our tropical and hot weather and start stop traffic conditions in Singapore.

I changed mine regularly. It is an essential part of the brake system.

Edited by Yuan

I agree. Brake fluid should be changed almost once every 2 years due to our tropical and hot weather and start stop traffic conditions in Singapore.

The best thing its also cheap to do.

I pay $6 for a bottle of brake fluid

and get it changed in JB for RM20.

Hope more people read our post

and change their brake fluid regularly.

Especially those driving behind me.

DIY lo belt not that difficult chain than headache

no lah, i'm not confident with such stuff....at most i can change light bulbs....but dun want to touch anything tat can risk the engine...

find a reliable motor workshop and send for servicing every 10,000 km.

that should be quite sufficient since Toyota is quite reliable.

usually brake disc and pads will need to change every 1-2 years depending on usage.

Agree, some parts will fail without giving signs. Unlike weak battery, oil leak etc, where there are warning signs and sufficient time for me to respond.

Battery flat sometimes also no warning sign. <_<

Can ask the mechanic to check during your servicing whether it is necessary to change the brake fluid etc.