Joseph22 Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 No point arguing with this sort of person or intellect. He won't get it - no matter how many different ways you explain, because he doesn't want to - it is more fun to believe the worst you disappear for very long. what happen? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 (edited) you got read whole quotation or not?? reading dont read only the line lah.. if you read the whole thing, you realise the original guy very smart. note that i say original guy hor... That author is As smart as a porn star w 1M daily website hits lol. Soon we'll have MPs quoting 50 shades of gray lol Edited May 13, 2013 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 you disappear for very long. what happen? Busy till not even time to scratch backside, let alone surf forum - Just recently started my own company. Today I am in a seminar, so surfing here while listen to lecturer - eating snake a bit... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 (edited) That author is As smart as a porn star w 1M daily website hits lol. Soon we'll have MPs quoting 50 shades of gray lol u want to insult MP your business. dont insult the Author. Edited May 13, 2013 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 Busy till not even time to scratch backside, let alone surf forum - Just recently started my own company. Today I am in a seminar, so surfing here while listen to lecturer - eating snake a bit... wah... you want to hire me?? i go your office just to surf MCF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 QUOTE (Spring @ May 13 2013, 11:32 AM) * During my NS time, late 1970s, Malays were not called up for NS. You can checek if you have Malay friends whoc are in their 50s and they'll vouch for this. Not sure how old is this MP Zainuddin though point noted. QUOTE Malays were virtually excluded from conscription from the beginning of the draft in 1967 until 1977 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conscription_in_Singapore http://www.parliament.gov.sg/mp/zainudin-n...inudin%20Nordin he finish O level in 1979. by right he should serve? eh ... read properly. mandatory draft in place in 1977, he finished O level in 1979. so should he serve NS or not? you guys must be really really young.... imagine the hassle of that period... 1979, you want to call up ppl for NS. you have several roomfuls of documents, have to sort out by race, age, drugs record, hair length , dunno what else at that time. You have no computer. Not even a PC XT (doubt any kids here would know what that is :)) ) Then on the NS side, since we're talking about malays, the police is just starting up the NS section. Didn't even have a proper camp yet. Don't even talk about uniform and other logistics. In the end you choose random names off a list, and accept whoever turns up (since you can't call up the MIAs as most houses still have no landlines). Eventually it gets better, but that explains why some tio ns, some escape. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 wah... you want to hire me?? i go your office just to surf MCF Both of us surf MCF how to earn money to pay salary? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 Both of us surf MCF how to earn money to pay salary? observation. anyway, we should meet up. talk to each other for so long in MCF but never see face to face. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 you guys must be really really young.... imagine the hassle of that period... 1979, you want to call up ppl for NS. you have several roomfuls of documents, have to sort out by race, age, drugs record, hair length , dunno what else at that time. You have no computer. Not even a PC XT (doubt any kids here would know what that is :)) ) Then on the NS side, since we're talking about malays, the police is just starting up the NS section. Didn't even have a proper camp yet. Don't even talk about uniform and other logistics. In the end you choose random names off a list, and accept whoever turns up (since you can't call up the MIAs as most houses still have no landlines). Eventually it gets better, but that explains why some tio ns, some escape. good observation. my time i only know 286 nia. and bought a 386... i thought when i upgrading will be 1086.. but actually when upgrade already duo core liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 observation. anyway, we should meet up. talk to each other for so long in MCF but never see face to face. Would be a plan - have beer with wedges and chilli crab dip...mmmm...so long I never eat.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 What do you think about the quote? What do I think? Nothing wrong with it. All he's saying in a chong hei fashion is "Democracy is the tyranny of the majority." Those idiots who raised a stink about this - all they've done is proven they're stupid and can't read. But this sort of hysteria is nothing new, and certainly not confined to Singapore. I remember the huge controversy not so long ago about a US politician who used the word "niggardly", only to be lambasted by Blacks and assorted liberals who failed to recognise that this word has a completely different etymology from the racial slur they confused it with. The unfortunate politician had to apologise - he had no choice unless he wanted his political campaign to come to an abrupt end (and possibly leave his life and health in jeopardy). Now THAT is the power and the pitfall of an unmitigated democracy - the tyranny of the (stupid/ignorant) majority. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 Would be a plan - have beer with wedges and chilli crab dip...mmmm...so long I never eat.... where will be a good place?? but i will skip on the beer, i use tea to represent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 where will be a good place?? but i will skip on the beer, i use tea to represent Muddy Murphey's - would have to be later though - this week busy... Must have a gold ale with me... I PM you later... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 What do I think? Nothing wrong with it. All he's saying in a chong hei fashion is "Democracy is the tyranny of the majority." Those idiots who raised a stink about this - all they've done is proven they're stupid and can't read. But this sort of hysteria is nothing new, and certainly not confined to Singapore. I remember the huge controversy not so long ago about a US politician who used the word "niggardly", only to be lambasted by Blacks and assorted liberals who failed to recognise that this word has a completely different etymology from the racial slur they confused it with. The unfortunate politician had to apologise - he had no choice unless he wanted his political campaign to come to an abrupt end (and possibly leave his life and health in jeopardy). Now THAT is the power and the pitfall of an unmitigated democracy - the tyranny of the (stupid/ignorant) majority. the question is posted by Yahoo..not me...just a a cut and paste from Yahoo....I heck care what people think... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 I remember quite a long time ago, there is an article (or newspaper) refering to Mahatir (then Malaysia PM) as a top dog', then got complain from many Malaysians for calling their PM a dog. In any case, with the level of Angmoh in Singapore, its better not to make note of something that few can understand, that may be interpreted as offensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 not very impressive leh. After A level. cannot make it in local u then go study diploma. max out at lecturer in poly before becoming a mayor. probably pap needed to field a token malay candidate bah. I think he top his class during diploma before furthering his studies in France. He was my lecturer during my poly days! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 not very impressive leh. After A level. cannot make it in local u then go study diploma. max out at lecturer in poly before becoming a mayor. probably pap needed to field a token malay candidate bah. Excuse me, what do you mean by "not very impressive"? He studied in Tanglin Technical School. It used to be "RI of the west" http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tanglin_Secondary_School Don't play-play. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 Excuse me, what do you mean by "not very impressive"? He studied in Tanglin Technical School. It used to be "RI of the west" http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tanglin_Secondary_School Don't play-play. since when it was RI of the west?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...