True Story of a ex SAF regular

Little_prince

well... your perception of taxi driver is incorrect. work hard and smart; nett earnings of 3-5k/mth is a realistic possibility.

my dad sent me to university by driving a cab. even though he cut his working hours now, nett income >$100 is reality!

dun believe wadeva those drivers say, money hard to earn lah.. 1 day earn <50 lah.. all bull crap. either they are crapping or they are lazy.

They scared of IRAS undercover opicer mah. [laugh]

He can apply for Midmanship courses or Marine Engineering in Poly with sponser from the Navy. Like my colleague son who applied for Marine Engineering course whilst doing NS in RSN. He move on to degree at NTU and now a Captain in Navy. -_-

I thought our minister ask citizen not to go for degree ? Be a hawker , 7K crane operator , 6K taxi driver can liao . Getting a degree will make you unemployable , Singapore cannot have so many degree holder .

I think he made pretty bad choices in his life and sad to say there was no one to guide him along. Worst still, non of his peers told him in sgp without a diploma or degree he cannot get good jobs. I had friends in poly who took up the joint poly-saf diploma scheme. They were also in engineering courses, I wonder why the author dispise these courses. They graduated from this scheme and got their diploma.

I dunno. I feel that Porky watch too much of the Navy ad...the sun, the sand and the sea... crap.

I think the Kurt Tay also got same problem of low education. The jobs he could do is security guard and waiter jobs. After he find that without a good education he got no where to go and no gf. He cannot accept the hard truth and gone confused and end up getting a boob job. Poor SOB.

There are actually a lot of such individuals out there(not the kurt tay type). They made pretty bad choices along the way and conveniently blame others. During my time in NS I see 2 clowns sign on coz they owe some shaddy ppl money. They are not even siao on like Porky. Heng ah, lim peh at that time ORD liao.

I thought our minister ask citizen not to go for degree ? Be a hawker , 7K crane operator , 6K taxi driver can liao . Getting a degree will make you unemployable , Singapore cannot have so many degree holder .

dun want to end up like Taiwan, China, Japan or Korea.

there's a famous guy who quit from army coz of the system and turnaround to be 1 of the most exotic car collector

who is he? his talk in 1 of the uni quite inspirating

Edited by Freestylers09

Since he was navy, like the sea, can become a boarding officer for a start. Slowly climb ships and study at the same time. Eventually, can become ship agency manager de.

Ya! Marine industry quite a lot of openings, especially for people with the right skills. Shouldn't have been that difficult if he was realistic with his salary (maybe lower than navy), and jobs. Can climb, even without degree. And maybe along the way, just do course upgrading or part time diploma.

It all about the attitude of a person, always want to choose the easiest way out...though the path could lead to destruction.

Exactly! Attitude is what makes or breaks a person.

u mean end up degree holder in taiwan nationalise grad pay 20k+ taiwan $? about 1k sgd?

degree holder wash dishes lor, or china produce 4 million graduate every year, as good as singapore population [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

The PP2 plan screwed a lot of regular WOSE. Those that are smart leaves upon fufilment of the MTE. Most of us left at the 5th year. Never looked back since.

I think he made pretty bad choices in his life and sad to say there was no one to guide him along. Worst still, non of his peers told him in sgp without a diploma or degree he cannot get good jobs. I had friends in poly who took up the joint poly-saf diploma scheme. They were also in engineering courses, I wonder why the author dispise these courses. They graduated from this scheme and got their diploma.

I dunno. I feel that Porky watch too much of the Navy ad...the sun, the sand and the sea... crap.

I think the Kurt Tay also got same problem of low education. The jobs he could do is security guard and waiter jobs. After he find that without a good education he got no where to go and no gf. He cannot accept the hard truth and gone confused and end up getting a boob job. Poor SOB.

There are actually a lot of such individuals out there(not the kurt tay type). They made pretty bad choices along the way and conveniently blame others. During my time in NS I see 2 clowns sign on coz they owe some shaddy ppl money. They are not even siao on like Porky. Heng ah, lim peh at that time ORD liao.

Yes, definitely bad choices.

My last questions, before I exit this thread:

Is it bad/wrong to be a security guard and waiter? One where you work 10 hours a day for 6 days a week? Is it wrong because it pays too little?

Is it more wrong, that even when one works hard to try to make a good, clean honest living, he is not able to survive in this paradise for the rich?

The answer imo, is surely beyond "upgrading".

Why didn't he apply for scholarship in the Navy if his results is good to enter Poly ..... :blink:

thats wat i was thinking also. what an idiot.

Is it bad/wrong to be a security guard and waiter? One where you work 10 hours a day for 6 days a week? Is it wrong because it pays too little?

Is it more wrong, that even when one works hard to try to make a good, clean honest living, he is not able to survive in this paradise for the rich?

IMO it depends on how the individual who is holding this job thinks. Is it a dead end job or is there any advancement. Wrong/bad or not it's not up to me to judge.

Ppl work hard for their dream but not everyone gets it. It's about making the right choices at the right time, I guess.

I think it's not chasing paper qualifications per se, but rather the mentality to enrich oneself. As long as honest living is commendable, but this guy taking up the job as taxi driver is meant as a transitional employment.

We should send the right message to those around us.

nothing wrong, there are many young people doing that and many are contended to stay that way.

The only problem is to find a partner who has the same mindset rather than pushing them to upgrade or dump them if they dun.

They can still have a decent live and maybe raise a kid or 2.

end of the day 路是自己选的

but still many say unlucky,this n that..

of coz we need luck but everyday so pessimistic without helping ownself ,luck also scare come to u

They scared of IRAS undercover opicer mah. [laugh]

well.. thats part of the reason. but there are a few who camps in kopitiam and spend time chasing ktv girls