Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 i beg to differ...all i see are the fierce ones..scolding their husbands.. Maybe we meet different type of Canto speakers ba. I'm lucky most, if not all whom I meet are quite sweet. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 I m half cantonese. HK cantonese evolves over time. Juz watch TVB drama & try to learn some key phrases. Anyhow talk & u will learn from it. By the way, hello = Tui :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 Check out Carlos Douh's Youtube videos - he can speak better than me. But he learns from his HKie girlfriend so his mannerism is more feminine, more "teh". Guys speak more assertively and curtly (if you're encountering a surly salesperson). They can always pick up a "Xing-Ma" person because our cantonese over in Singapore/Malaysia is not as pure or polished as theirs. Its harder for us, because we're schooled in Mandarin, and spoken cantonese sentences can be structurally different. Not to mention the oft-quoted range of intonations...... And don't count on all HKies being able to hack it with English or Mandarin......good luck. I like HKie girls too. :P Are u sure u like 港女? LOL!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 Maybe we meet different type of Canto speakers ba. I'm lucky most, if not all whom I meet are quite sweet. haha..mine are the worst..and super quarrelsome ...sweet def cant be used on them...and something i cant figure out...y do hongkies like to grumble a lot....once my went back to get an extra plastic bag..then the staff at a shop grumbled and said...one take plastic..all come and take...luckily my mum knows cantonese..so she scolded back...another time..we took taxi...alighted and paid..then taxi driver was grumbling...luckily i didnt know cantonese..or else i would have farked him hard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 Not all but the older generation tends to talk very loud...correction...tends to shout in their conversations. Is like as though everyone thinks everyone is wearing a hearing aid yah...u come my workplace u know le..all the cantonese women...phew..machiam at wet market...luckily im far away from them..inside the office..so cant siam..if not i'll be the one using hearing aid..phew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 cantonese very hard to learn. i only know 'hum chee peng' aiyah...u got android phone or tablet? can just dl the learn cantonese lite...so many phrases there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 (edited) Aiyo, just go to youtube and search "learning Cantonese for beginners". Sho simple. Anyway Hong Kong ppl are pretty good at English. Do not look down on them. Edited June 24, 2013 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 haha..mine are the worst..and super quarrelsome ...sweet def cant be used on them...and something i cant figure out...y do hongkies like to grumble a lot....once my went back to get an extra plastic bag..then the staff at a shop grumbled and said...one take plastic..all come and take...luckily my mum knows cantonese..so she scolded back...another time..we took taxi...alighted and paid..then taxi driver was grumbling...luckily i didnt know cantonese..or else i would have farked him hard Haha, like that I should count myself lucky liao. Usually meet nice people. Or just that they see my little boy face then never grumble at me. During internship, got chance to go Guangzhou for factory visit. At night go around the town, got to speak to some pretty xmms using Cantonese. They were surprised. They invited me for drinks / supper, but haiz, too bad, my internship supervisor found me and brought me back to our hotel. With no Cantonese xmms. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 I m half cantonese. HK cantonese evolves over time. Juz watch TVB drama & try to learn some key phrases. Anyhow talk & u will learn from it. By the way, hello = Tui :) Not diu meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 In the initial stages you can still get by in HK without Cantonese. Once you get there, make friends with some Hongkongers and insist on speaking to them in Cantonese. You'll learn quick. In fact, if you don't generally speak Cantonese right now, you'll be better able to adopt their accent and blend in very quickly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 Many Hongkongers know English and most know some Mandarin. But of course, since in your case a good command of the language is a requirement for your job, the best way will be to FIND A HOT SEXY CANTONESE GIRLFRIEND Then he won't learn a lot.... I know I won't.... Prob Only learn... Oh yes yes yes.... Mai teng.... Oh ya.... Ho song.... Lai leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 Does anyone know of any schools/centers here where I can learn Cantonese? Will be travelling to HK very often for work from next year onwards and it will be a requirement. Learn from him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobby_tan 1st Gear June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 One thing you should NEVER do in Hong Kong or on Cathay Pacific is to speak Mandarin. Once you speak Mandarin, they all think you from china you finish liaoz. I'm Cantonese and when I went to HK and take cathay, I speak canto and got good service. The ah tiong 2 rows behind tio ignored until tulan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 Not diu meh? TLLM...hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 One thing you should NEVER do in Hong Kong or on Cathay Pacific is to speak Mandarin. Once you speak Mandarin, they all think you from china you finish liaoz. I'm Cantonese and when I went to HK and take cathay, I speak canto and got good service. The ah tiong 2 rows behind tio ignored until tulan. you mean they cannot differentiate ah tiong mandarin or Singapore mandarin? then can they differentiate Guangzhou Cantonese or Singapore Cantonese? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 you mean they cannot differentiate ah tiong mandarin or Singapore mandarin? then can they differentiate Guangzhou Cantonese or Singapore Cantonese? I speaks Canto with Nam Yong Twing. They can differentiate ez. For mandarin, it is abit difficult for them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 Not diu meh? Diu sounds so Gwai Lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderman302 2nd Gear June 24, 2013 Share June 24, 2013 Does anyone know of any schools/centers here where I can learn Cantonese? Will be travelling to HK very often for work from next year onwards and it will be a requirement. [/quote Go hk. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...