Enye Hypersonic October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 dabbled wif currency linked investment for a short while in AUD & GBP. strike horizons are quite short n gotta keep monitoring to get a sense of the movements to prepare for next call. was underwater for a while but eventually made some pocket money. find that the risk vs returns are not very attractive. or maybe i juz hv a lousy RM...... Agree. Seems like not very good returns vs risk Please upgrade and get a PB to match your status in MCF ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 Agree. Seems like not very good returns vs risk Please upgrade and get a PB to match your status in MCF simi status? i old retiree n cannot to pay full cash for everything hor. banker see me oso pui..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 dabbled wif currency linked investment for a short while in AUD & GBP. strike horizons are quite short n gotta keep monitoring to get a sense of the movements to prepare for next call. was underwater for a while but eventually made some pocket money. find that the risk vs returns are not very attractive. or maybe i juz hv a lousy RM...... cannot agree more.. :| but now i am 10k down ...holding my AUD .. super sianx.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 cannot agree more.. :| but now i am 10k down ...holding my AUD .. super sianx.. u bought in at ard 1.2 - 1.25+? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 (edited) u bought in at ard 1.2 - 1.25+? 1.27!!!!! ... sianz.. my RM sleeping... aniway.. he quit liao. now i every mth take 72 Bucks in interest.. siao lah! Edited October 11, 2013 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 1.27!!!!! ... sianz.. my RM sleeping... aniway.. he quit liao. now i every mth take 72 Bucks in interest.. siao lah! wah sei.....1.27 maybe hv to wait a bit to exit. last time i bought in at ard 1.2 and exited at 1.28. cursed n swear at my RM coz it went to 1.3 shortly after. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 wah sei.....1.27 maybe hv to wait a bit to exit. last time i bought in at ard 1.2 and exited at 1.28. cursed n swear at my RM coz it went to 1.3 shortly after. yeah.. :| hopefully the day will come when some $$ out of this trade.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 I have put some money in AUD in NZD. The plan is for the capital and interest to roll over monthly. If the exchange rate goes against me, I will just accummulate the interests. Long term I hope to earn when the market changes. If the exchange rates becomes favourable, I will cash out. If long term low maybe i use it as opportunity to go for more holidays in australia and new zealand Hope it will not be like USD though. When it breached 1.5 SGD to 1 USD, i tot it cannot go lower but it stayed low all these years (lucky I never invested then) When I first arrive in SG the SGD was buying about $1.10 NZD - then the NZD dropped further, I remember at one time can change $1,000 for more than $1,300. The NZD has been strong against the SGD for a long time now - I have no idea what will happen in the medium term though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 When I first arrive in SG the SGD was buying about $1.10 NZD - then the NZD dropped further, I remember at one time can change $1,000 for more than $1,300. The NZD has been strong against the SGD for a long time now - I have no idea what will happen in the medium term though. if USD become toilet paper.. there is some hope for NZD / AUD.. hopefully the gov dun lower interest again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 if USD become toilet paper.. there is some hope for NZD / AUD.. hopefully the gov dun lower interest again! i dun tink the RBA will let the AUD go parity wif USD again. for the sake of the AUD, better hope USD go up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear October 13, 2013 Share October 13, 2013 AUD should continue to stay strong I heard recent comments made by one of their central bankers are not very optimistic. Wilł find out more if possible Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastnfaster 3rd Gear October 13, 2013 Share October 13, 2013 if USD become toilet paper.. there is some hope for NZD / AUD.. hopefully the gov dun lower interest again! I expect US economy to recover, expecting USD to appreciate in mid term Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged October 13, 2013 Author Share October 13, 2013 earned about 2-3% over 1 quarter on risky investment on hindsight, was the gain worth the risk? In hindsight, I dunno. Risk? Relatively low as i bought the nzd at 1 sgd to 1.001 or something. Yet again, cos i kept monitoring, it was stressful for little gain. Risk? Cos i was getting interest every month from the bank which will be used to dd to the existing capital. so even if currency turns against me, eventually the gains from the interest will allow me to earn. it is jsut an issue of how long it will take. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear October 14, 2013 Share October 14, 2013 i dun tink the RBA will let the AUD go parity wif USD again. for the sake of the AUD, better hope USD go up. noted.. will monitor.. ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 14, 2013 Share October 14, 2013 noted.. will monitor.. ;) fingers crossed for u, mate. good thing is the AUD is a resilient currency and it will rebound in time. b4 the financial crisis, it was consistently hovering around 1.3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 17, 2014 Share June 17, 2014 fingers crossed for u, mate. good thing is the AUD is a resilient currency and it will rebound in time. b4 the financial crisis, it was consistently hovering around 1.3. revisiting this thread. i'm looking at NZD account from Maybank. Interest rate looking rather attractive. NZD is almost same as SGD now, am i right? 1 NZD = 1.08405 SGD Is this a good time to put some $$ into NZD account? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 17, 2014 Share June 17, 2014 I think the aussie dollar is a proxy for the china economy. If the china economy slows down and there is less export of iron ore and coal, the aussie dollar will come down. So it really depends on what happens in china. The kiwi is a proxy of how well NZ lamb export is. If there is a slow down in the sales of soup kambing, the kiwi will come down. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 26, 2014 Share September 26, 2014 Revive this discussion now.. As major currency Lao sai against USD.. USD/SGD 0.8760, USD/sgd 1.272, aUD/sgd 1.117.. Anyone buying USD, EURO, GBP, AUD? Any ideas? Share share see got opportunity ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...