Need help - come see the wear on my tyres

Kt2u

From someone and not me, just to share someone's experience

My current ride is coming to the 6 years mark and is starting to show problems due to wear and tear. I will just like to share my experience of repairing and replacing the different parts due to wear and tear through these past two months. For a start, I am driving a Toyota Altis 07 model.

I have re-sprayed the car earlier this year and have changed the colour. Due to the sky high COE price, I am likely going to drive it all the way till this car's COE expiry. Therefore, I guess this is a worthwhile investment to make me feel that I am driving a new car :). The cost of this vanity is around 1300 dollars.

The car started showing problems 2 months back with the battery first to go. I was unable to start the engine at all, I managed to find someone to come over to my place and replaced my car with an Amaron battery for around 150 dollars.

Next, my side mirror started to give a hissing sound and the root cause was a problem with the motor mechanism which means you have to change the whole side mirror. My fan belt is also starting to show cracks. The cost of replacing for the side mirror was 200 dollars and the fanbelt was 100 dollars.

After which I went to JB to do my servicing, it cost around 80 sgd whereas it cost from 140-160 sgd in Singapore. Thus, you can save about 50 percent. Also, I changed my air-con and engine filter plus a spark plug. On top of that, I change my car's auto transmission oil. All in, it comes up to around 200 sgd.

The mechanic advised me to change my front absorber but even though I did find the ride a bit bumpy but thought I can drag it for a while more. An important point to note, if your front absorber is starting to leak oil, do try not to jack it up as it will lead to the front absorbers getting spoiled at an accelerated pace. After the servicing, the car's front absorbers totally give way but as I have an engagement in Singapore so I was not able to do the change in JB. I was quoted around 220 to 250 sgd.

The ride was totally bumpy and feel like a boat ride after the front absorbers give way. I checked with a few Singapore workshop and decided to go with one that charges around 300 dollars for the original parts as it is not far off from the rate quoted by the JB workshop. There was one which quoted 588 dollars as they say they have to change the mounting rubber and etc while another quoted 445 dollars. All are before GST.

After I reached the workshop, I found out that the quote was without labour and so plus the labour and GST, the cost was around 385 dollars. Since I am already there, I guess I have to just go ahead and the car was in urgent need of a pair of brand new front absorbers.

I did some research while at the workshop and found that the cheapest cost is to get the parts from the stockist and get the workshop to fix it for you. I check with the stockist and found that a pair of original front absorbers was just 150 dollars. The workshop quoted me 300 dollars for it. Based on a simple calculation, with the labour cost at around 80 to 100 dollars, the total cost using this approach will be similar to the JB workshop quote and I can save around 100 dollars.

This is a sum up of the recent repair costs for my Altis:

1) Battery 150

2) Side Mirror 200

3) Fanbelt 100

4) Servicing in JB 200

5) Front Absorbers 385

Total costs $ 1035

To conclude, it is advisable to do your servicing in JB if you know any good workshops provided your car is a normal car as you can easily save 50 percent. For repairs and replacing parts, if you get from the stockist, it will be on a similar price close to what is quoted by JB workshops. I feel it is more prudent to change parts in Singapore. If you let the Singapore workshop get the parts for you, the total cost is likely to be 50 percent more than getting from the stockist. If you happen to go to a workshop that is trying to make you a carrot, it could be perhaps 80-100 percent more.

Do share your views on such repair costs and if you feel i have been chopped for some of the items :).

So it's you or not you? Abit confusing leh

But the list of price you show is in sgd done in Sg or jb?

One look, if sgd, it's ex bro even if done in sg

quote name='Djim' date='Aug 7 2013, 12:29 AM' post='4952884']

From someone and not me, just to share someone's experience

My current ride is coming to the 6 years mark and is starting to show problems due to wear and tear. I will just like to share my experience of repairing and replacing the different parts due to wear and tear through these past two months. For a start, I am driving a Toyota Altis 07 model.

I have re-sprayed the car earlier this year and have changed the colour. Due to the sky high COE price, I am likely going to drive it all the way till this car's COE expiry. Therefore, I guess this is a worthwhile investment to make me feel that I am driving a new car :). The cost of this vanity is around 1300 dollars.

The car started showing problems 2 months back with the battery first to go. I was unable to start the engine at all, I managed to find someone to come over to my place and replaced my car with an Amaron battery for around 150 dollars.

Next, my side mirror started to give a hissing sound and the root cause was a problem with the motor mechanism which means you have to change the whole side mirror. My fan belt is also starting to show cracks. The cost of replacing for the side mirror was 200 dollars and the fanbelt was 100 dollars.

After which I went to JB to do my servicing, it cost around 80 sgd whereas it cost from 140-160 sgd in Singapore. Thus, you can save about 50 percent. Also, I changed my air-con and engine filter plus a spark plug. On top of that, I change my car's auto transmission oil. All in, it comes up to around 200 sgd.

The mechanic advised me to change my front absorber but even though I did find the ride a bit bumpy but thought I can drag it for a while more. An important point to note, if your front absorber is starting to leak oil, do try not to jack it up as it will lead to the front absorbers getting spoiled at an accelerated pace. After the servicing, the car's front absorbers totally give way but as I have an engagement in Singapore so I was not able to do the change in JB. I was quoted around 220 to 250 sgd.

The ride was totally bumpy and feel like a boat ride after the front absorbers give way. I checked with a few Singapore workshop and decided to go with one that charges around 300 dollars for the original parts as it is not far off from the rate quoted by the JB workshop. There was one which quoted 588 dollars as they say they have to change the mounting rubber and etc while another quoted 445 dollars. All are before GST.

After I reached the workshop, I found out that the quote was without labour and so plus the labour and GST, the cost was around 385 dollars. Since I am already there, I guess I have to just go ahead and the car was in urgent need of a pair of brand new front absorbers.

I did some research while at the workshop and found that the cheapest cost is to get the parts from the stockist and get the workshop to fix it for you. I check with the stockist and found that a pair of original front absorbers was just 150 dollars. The workshop quoted me 300 dollars for it. Based on a simple calculation, with the labour cost at around 80 to 100 dollars, the total cost using this approach will be similar to the JB workshop quote and I can save around 100 dollars.

This is a sum up of the recent repair costs for my Altis:

1) Battery 150

2) Side Mirror 200

3) Fanbelt 100

4) Servicing in JB 200

5) Front Absorbers 385

Total costs $ 1035

To conclude, it is advisable to do your servicing in JB if you know any good workshops provided your car is a normal car as you can easily save 50 percent. For repairs and replacing parts, if you get from the stockist, it will be on a similar price close to what is quoted by JB workshops. I feel it is more prudent to change parts in Singapore. If you let the Singapore workshop get the parts for you, the total cost is likely to be 50 percent more than getting from the stockist. If you happen to go to a workshop that is trying to make you a carrot, it could be perhaps 80-100 percent more.

Do share your views on such repair costs and if you feel i have been chopped for some of the items :).

MY MSCP up ramp is clockwise.

Down ramp is anti clockwise.

I park on 7 floor.

Got this type of mscp meh

Though I only know jtc is up anti n down clock

Like that gd lor, your tyre equally balanced

I park on 7 floor.

Circular ramp with different ramp on different side for different direction?

Unfortunately, most ramps in HDB CP are straight up/down in clockwise direction.

servicing cost in our neighbor is definitely lower due to their Low labour and land cost.

we have to be fair(understanding ) to the establishments' here.

Travelling up north further 100km you will get even lower cost especially in those Village.

I have known of few friends always go JB pump petrol , never pump here [laugh]

one of them ever said to me why so stupid to pump here, but I told him I want to SAVE my precious time and petrol to there for my free time,and also can contribute little business in SIngapore

does it sound like whining to you???

there are people who want to drive but not prepare to repair. A car is not a fridge.... -_-

No la, I uncle England no gd duno wats whining

Seems like they are singing luv song to me

Happy long week end

Calling out to the tyre experts... I realized this morning that there are white nylon threads showing through my left front tyre near the edge... the strange thing is that this tyre shows a lot more wear on the edge ("shoulder" part of the tyre, see pics attached) than the other 3 tyres... and these tyres only have 18000KM on them... do I need to change the tyre immediately? Or change all 4?

usually only the front tyres have this problem. Some says coming down the slopes of the HDB multi storey carpark will caused this but the tyre shop's uncle said the tyres not inflated enough.

I park on 7 floor.

I'm glad my estate's parking is on levels 1 and 2.

Level 3 is garden-play area-running/jogging track.

Residential units start from levels 4 and above.

I hate multi-storey car parks.

I understand that tyres have life span.

Does anyone change tyres when they hit the life span even though the tire threads are still swee swee due to low usage? Just curious...

I understand that tyres have life span.

Does anyone change tyres when they hit the life span even though the tire threads are still swee swee due to low usage? Just curious...

Yes, me!

My 2 rear tires still has quite a lot thread left, but coming to 4 years liao. So tire shop boss recommend me to change it.....

Yes, me!

My 2 rear tires still has quite a lot thread left, but coming to 4 years liao. So tire shop boss recommend me to change it.....

Kum xia bro...

Mine is coming to 3 yrs but the threads are still very deep due to low mileage (I went for 100k servicing but my mileage only less than 90K). I am thinking whether or not to change [:p]

And for those who wonder if MSCP exacerbate your tyre wear unevenly, my take is yes it does.

From my experience, my first set of tyres wore out unevenly when I was using the MSCP. Now I park on open CP and my second set of tyres still swee swee after more than 2 yrs. Well at least I feel that MSCP does have an effect on car tyres.

Yes, me!

Regardless of amount of thread left in the tyres, even with low mileage clocked, it is better to change them

by 4 years. Experienced the same in one of my cars which has low mileage relative to its age (30K @ 4 yrs)

Threads still good but noticed bubbling on the tyres after driving in the rain. It seems that the rubber had hardened and cracks occurred. Got all the tyres changed.

Kum xia bro...

Mine is coming to 3 yrs but the threads are still very deep due to low mileage (I went for 100k servicing but my mileage only less than 90K). I am thinking whether or not to change [:p]

And for those who wonder if MSCP exacerbate your tyre wear unevenly, my take is yes it does.

From my experience, my first set of tyres wore out unevenly when I was using the MSCP. Now I park on open CP and my second set of tyres still swee swee after more than 2 yrs. Well at least I feel that MSCP does have an effect on car tyres.

surely ur current set of tyres havent seen 90K km....dun think the tyres r meant to last tat high a mileage....usually 50-60K km u will see the treads worn out liao....

Bro, I just went for wheel alignment.

Cost me abt $80.. She'll petrol kiosk , bukit timah , the one going to bukit timah, NOT t one going to city. The correct one is t one beside t esso.

Calling out to the tyre experts... I realized this morning that there are white nylon threads showing through my left front tyre near the edge... the strange thing is that this tyre shows a lot more wear on the edge ("shoulder" part of the tyre, see pics attached) than the other 3 tyres... and these tyres only have 18000KM on them... do I need to change the tyre immediately? Or change all 4?

Change all yr 4 tires n then go for a 4 wheel computerised alignment at a reliable shop.

Yr tire like that u still dare to drive ah. TP see its a summon n points for u. [:/]