Unltd 5th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 Notice the news article is specifically (intentionally?) talking about speeding offences only. Is it possible to determine speeding by video alone? As for other offences like reckless driving, I have yet to see anyone sharing any experience of TP taking concrete action against offenders after they sent in clear videos with offer to testify. They only seem to take action on those that make it to social media like the KPE racing recently. Agree! The issue is when members of public take the time and effort to send in evidence and authorities do not take action, it quickly becomes a situation where nobody wants to offer evidence any longer. What's the point when most ppl know and/or feel when they send in evidence, there is no follow up from the authorities unless it ends up in social media. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 Agree! The issue is when members of public take the time and effort to send in evidence and authorities do not take action, it quickly becomes a situation where nobody wants to offer evidence any longer. What's the point when most ppl know and/or feel when they send in evidence, there is no follow up from the authorities unless it ends up in social media. recently my friend send in video to tp of one car that knocks into his rear right bumper and just sped off. he chased the TP many times. first few time keep saying the other party don't repond etc. most recently the reply finally came with indication they had charged the errant drver. and the last reply came courtesy of his previous email which was cc to head and deputy head of Traffic Police Investigation Unit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 if you are assigned a case id, then most likely TP will follow up as long as case is not closed. perhaps there is really an overwhelming number of road users who lodged cases against errant drivers? on hindsight, now TP can have more teh-tarik sessions since there will be an increased in vigilantes on the roads just kidding ** Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 regarding Nicholas post #13, what are your thoughts? does TP send summon to speedsters first assuming the speedster does not contest? failing which they then assume the witness will testify? or does the TP already gotten the witness word he is willing to take the witness's stand before they will send out the summon? Honestly, I have no idea. So far I have sent a few vids to TP regarding drivers beating red lights n stating I am willing to testify. IO have replied saying they have taken action against the driver. They have never asked me to testify so far. The other time they email me to ask what road it was since the video doesn't show the road name, so I think they really do use user submitted videos to summon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 (edited) Notice the news article is specifically (intentionally?) talking about speeding offences only. Is it possible to determine speeding by video alone? As for other offences like reckless driving, I have yet to see anyone sharing any experience of TP taking concrete action against offenders after they sent in clear videos with offer to testify. They only seem to take action on those that make it to social media like the KPE racing recently. erh...TP point speed trap gun at video clip? Edited August 5, 2013 by Toothiewabbit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 recently my friend send in video to tp of one car that knocks into his rear right bumper and just sped off. he chased the TP many times. first few time keep saying the other party don't repond etc. most recently the reply finally came with indication they had charged the errant drver. and the last reply came courtesy of his previous email which was cc to head and deputy head of Traffic Police Investigation Unit. If it's hit and run, I think not only should your friend report to TP, but also should go to NPP to make a report right? And then of course, claim from his insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 If it's hit and run, I think not only should your friend report to TP, but also should go to NPP to make a report right? And then of course, claim from his insurance. just curious, when does it call for NPP involvement? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 go NPP to make police report. in case the other guy filed one against you and claim from your insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 only need to be witness if video is not conclusive or the driver involve refutes the evidence. they only need you to state if you are willing or not because of procedure, since the evidence is submitted by a non-law enforcer that is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Medalhope Neutral Newbie August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 "encouraged the public to send the clips if they lodge a police report against errant drivers." this one sian liao... if read carefully, it means, lodge a police report if u see someone speeding, then please also submit your video proof.... aiyo... still have to go police station, look for parking, pay for parking, take a queue number, kana strange stares from the policeman because they think you bo liao, then if kana challenged, still must go court (again, petrol and parking)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 so everyone will start to "shoot" video clips... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 that time the mah jee bye ferrari kill taxi driver in bugis, Govt also can find out the exact speed i think they can find out the speed doono how they do it only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 so everyone will start to "shoot" video clips... tiagong ENV pays donno how much per monkey caught maybe tp should also pay some marnie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 no need. just email with incident details and your own particulars. most impt have to state if you are willing to testify in court. Thats all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 for the speeding part, I think it is ridiculous. so is it because the video submitted by the person shows 90kmh and one car pulls away and therefore assumed to be speeding? Speed can be gauged by noting how fast the car passes by two fixed features at the location captured, e.g. lamp posts, trees, etc. Of course this is just a rough average and borderline cases will probably be given benefit of doubt. Regarding this scheme, I doubt people want to take the trouble of being eye-witness. So I don't think it will be very effective. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 most major junctions (including accident prone ones) have surveillance cameras. even expressway also have cameras mounted on lamp posts. if given the correct location, can easily measure the speed of a moving vehicle. don't play play... ah gong looking from up there all the time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 SPF can cut overhead Liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 that time the mah jee bye ferrari kill taxi driver in bugis, Govt also can find out the exact speed i think they can find out the speed doono how they do it only Math! Speed = Distance / time. From video we can get the distance and time. Of course if the video slightly blur it won't be exact but who's going to contest? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...