Tesla Model S

Porker

Actually the main crunch of it all is not about the car, but the bureaucracy associated with relevant government agencies. It exposed the inadequancies of LTA in handling this issue. Sama sama in other government agencies or stat boards. It seems like LTA is not doing it's job or not preaching what it should be doing - what green car, rebate, blah blah. Might as well state that as long as the vehicle takes up road space, you will pay extra, regardless green or not.

Tell you GST is to help the poor, but the poor also have to pay GST. [hur]

Agree on the LTA part. I find them sleeping most of the time. Think MOT really got to relook the role, relevance, mental model and values of LTA.

On the GST bro, GST never meant as an income redistribution tool. More like consumption. You consume more you pay more. So indirectly the rich pays more tax coz their consumption is high. What is important in SG, the gov use another tool call GST credit to help the lower income.

Actually this guy buay song cannot get the discount n instead ending paying. My selfish point is..in this case only ha. Let him pay la.

And on another note.. If Tesla so good.. Why no AD want them..don't know our ppl so fast la...

Know= knock..errata

AFAIK, CEVS rebate (and surcharge) is based purely on CO2 emission, as clearly indicated on LTA website till date.

Road tax calculation is based on engine capacity or power output for hybrid and electric car, whichever is HIGHER. BTW, this 0 emission Tesla S attract an annual road tax of S$6,202, equivalent to what payable by a 5.5L petrol driven passenger car!!!

And on another note.. If Tesla so good.. Why no AD want them..don't know our ppl so fast la...

Know= knock..errata

not that AD don't want them, they want to come in themselves cutting out the middleman (AD). End up they don't agree with LTA's policy so they pack up and go.

Essentially they are saying " I don't buy your pseudo green effort shit and your market is too small for more effort anyway"

not that AD don't want them, they want to come in themselves cutting out the middleman (AD). End up they don't agree with LTA's policy so they pack up and go.

Essentially they are saying " I don't buy your pseudo green effort shit and your market is too small for more effort anyway"

The last thing I know there are many car Brand’s here leh. Also many hybrids leh. So it's either we Kwai Lan or they tua pai. But I think mainly the big ADs here with their extensive SEA network not happy la trying to bypass them.

AFAIK, CEVS rebate (and surcharge) is based purely on CO2 emission, as clearly indicated on LTA website till date.

Road tax calculation is based on engine capacity or power output for hybrid and electric car, whichever is HIGHER. BTW, this 0 emission Tesla S attract an annual road tax of S$6,202, equivalent to what payable by a 5.5L petrol driven passenger car!!!

waste time w tesla here anyway, nobody else drives so getting spare parts will take "forever" & which workshop dares to touch the electronics?

It is the experience and fun with an electric car. Instant max torque, smooth delivery of power, no visible vibration (from the motor), quite, and of course, the hip.

And for those that afford an electric car, don't think they will only have 1 car at home, so downtime should never be a key concern for them, and so are the maintenance cost.

I don't support electric car. As its only green if u drive its full life span and assuming that it doesn't spoilt or anything.. Most often people who can afford, don't drive to its full life span.

So the LTA essentially back-calculated the power output  and compared to known power to emission rates to derive the Co2 emission figure and slapped a 15K surcharge on the Tesla....

Nice one scholars! :lll._.:

Actually, if this is consistent with what they are currently doing with existing electric/hybrid cars here, then I cannot see why the complaint for this Tesla case...

The current batch is under R&D. I believe is a separate department doing. Serious, why should they change their procedure/policy for that one car. He likely talk to the ground people aka man. rather then the one who can make decision in lta. Of course they follow standard procedure and ask for standard item. Edited by Joseph22

Err we din pay them millions to make mistake...

Don't think so la. The policies are there. We have our share of electrical and other green cars for many years.

And we are just listening to a one Nguyen who is so hard up to get a green discount but then kena premium instead...

Not an expert so please correct me if I'm wrong.

Tesla is entirely electric powered. Most HEV on the roads today generates their own electricity from kinetic energy, so they still need petrol but produces additional electric power. This is the key difference, and HEV should be more efficient than Tesla in the Singapore context.

How about the BMW i3?

To do otherwise, ppl may then say why give special treatment to this Nguyen. What's so special about him? The folks at LTA just doing their job. Now as to whether we need to rethink our green thingy in the light of major tech advancement.. We should. But before we do that electric car are not as green as it is touted. Electricity in SG is generated using coal and LNG and maybe even petrol. So how?

LTA is full of shieeat... what's new?

Spent millions in putting up ERP gantry, if not wrong one million per gantry...now say will requires millions more to upkeep it... so now need half billion to go ERP 2.0...

What's wrong with collecting more money yo!

This car cannot earn petrol tax leh.

Yes no one can short change the system

To do otherwise, ppl may then say why give special treatment to this Nguyen. What's so special about him? The folks at LTA just doing their job. Now as to whether we need to rethink our green thingy in the light of major tech advancement.. We should. But before we do that electric car are not as green as it is touted. Electricity in SG is generated using coal and LNG and maybe even petrol. So how?

https://www.ema.gov.sg/Residential_Electricity_Tariffs.aspx

Residential consumers in Singapore buy electricity from SP Services, a market support services company regulated by the EMA. The tariff set by SP Services is reviewed each quarter, and is regulated by the EMA to reflect the actual cost of electricity.

This tariff comprises two key components – fuel cost and non-fuel cost.

The fuel cost, or cost of imported natural gas, is tied to oil prices by commercial contracts, which can change depending on global market conditions. The non-fuel cost is the cost of generating and delivering electricity to homes. 

Edited by Vratenza

Is that guy foreigner???

Wonder if lta gave him consession will people kpkb say government twist the rule for rich people.