Nearly 2,000 HDB car parks to have at least 3 EV charging points each by 2025

zipping

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/electric-vehicles-ev-charging-points-hdb-car-parks-2025-2547471

File photo of an electric vehicle (EV) charging point in Singapore. (Photo: iStock/taikrixel)
Grace Yeoh
Grace Yeoh
08 Mar 2022 01:37PM (Updated: 08 Mar 2022 01:37PM)
Bookmark

SINGAPORE: To make every Housing and Development Board (HDB) town “EV-ready” by 2025, nearly 2,000 HDB car parks will each have a minimum of three charging points.

These charging points will “mostly provide low-powered, overnight charging”, to meet the needs of car owners and minimise the load on the electrical grid, said Transport Minister S Iswaran on Tuesday (Mar 8).
Advertisement

Speaking during a multi-ministry joint segment on the Singapore Green Plan 2030 at the Committee of Supply debate, Mr Iswaran said more charging points will be installed in car parks where there is demand and adequate electrical capacity.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) said in a press release that the move is a “significant step” in achieving Singapore’s target of 60,000 EV charging points by 2030.

A “large-scale tender” for HDB car parks will be launched in the first half of this year, it added.

Singapore’s land transport emissions peaked at 7.7 million tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent (MtCO2e) in 2016 - way ahead of the 2030 timeline set at the national level, LTA said.

As such, the Government has set a new target of reducing emissions by 80 per cent from the 2016 peak by around 2050.

19 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/electric-vehicles-ev-charging-points-hdb-car-parks-2025-2547471

3?? LoL...

3 is ok but i quote...."These charging points will “mostly provide low-powered, overnight charging”, to meet the needs of car owners and minimise the load on the electrical grid, said Transport Minister S Iswaran on Tuesday (Mar 8)."

Overnight charging? n 3+ slots oni per carpark....wat r they thinking? If every car is a ev here, as targeted....:a-bang:

3 minutes ago, zipping said:

3 is ok but i quote...."These charging points will “mostly provide low-powered, overnight charging”, to meet the needs of car owners and minimise the load on the electrical grid, said Transport Minister S Iswaran on Tuesday (Mar 8)."

Overnight charging? n 3+ slots oni per carpark....wat r they thinking? If every car is a ev here, as targeted....:a-bang:

Maybe they know smth we dont. Like $200K just for COE. 3 should be enough for rich dwellers in HDB.

But seriously if ppl expect them to install fast charging points and many of them....they will have to upgrade the infrastructure that will cost a lot of money.

Maybe we will get to see the offshore nuclear power plant.

nuke-post-cover2.png

Let's not kid ourselves. If every car owner now is switching to driving an EV the power grid needs a major upgrade. Burning natural gas to produce electricity might not be sustainable on the long run.

24 minutes ago, zipping said:

@kobayashiGT

@Carbon82

ps, can merge w e electric car topic, didn't realise tis news posted there alr.

I move to the electric car folder. This is a valid thread, let's continue the discussion.

Thanks buddy!

3 points in 1 MSCP is really too few as there are many inconsiderate people in singapore. They will plug in and not plug out even if fully charged.

Perhaps there can be a mechanism built into the charging point: Before you plug in, you need to register with your NRIC, tel number and a prepaid amt of $200 (though credit card or some prepaid card). When fully charged, the system will send you a SMS. You have a grace period of 15 min to unplug and move your vehicle. If you do so within that 15 min grace period, you get back $200 less amt charged for the electricity. For every min after the grace period of 15 min, you will be charged $5/min which will be deducted from your deposit when you finally unplug.

1 hour ago, zipping said:

image.png.83c2f928ed9d84c99bed25d032613594.png:XD:🤐

• Haha! 7

20 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Let you use song song 

Then put in tax :XD:

Don't laugh hor.

Your Musso will be the 1st victim hor.

🤣

2 hours ago, zipping said:

@zipping 

I am very sure and 100% confirm some selfish smart alec and their neighbors will take turn to CHOPE this 3 charging point.  

Confirm dispute, quarrel or fight will happen over these 3 charging point

Singaporean already fight while queuing up for Mac Donald Hello Kitty and other stuff. Buy Bubble Tea cut Q also fight....................

1 hour ago, Kxbc said:

3 points in 1 MSCP is really too few as there are many inconsiderate people in singapore. They will plug in and not plug out even if fully charged.

Perhaps there can be a mechanism built into the charging point: Before you plug in, you need to register with your NRIC, tel number and a prepaid amt of $200 (though credit card or some prepaid card). When fully charged, the system will send you a SMS. You have a grace period of 15 min to unplug and move your vehicle. If you do so within that 15 min grace period, you get back $200 less amt charged for the electricity. For every min after the grace period of 15 min, you will be charged $5/min which will be deducted from your deposit when you finally unplug.

Aka as ezlink on bus style? Charge full amount 1st.