TVT Supercharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 I just went in to eat char siew rice 24th July 2013, its at one of the coffeeshop along Jalan Johor Jaya. There are ard five coffeeshops there. Lots and lots of terrace type houses there. You go there and see for yourself, the food prices. RM$30 can eat until u vomit. One day no need to spend RM$30 and meals. The can of sprite I ordered was RM$1.20. My fren's milo peng was also RM$1.20. But is the food there nice? It is the area opposite that road (Jalan Johor Jaya) which is more popular and busy. Maybe RM30 there may not be enough also.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ocar Neutral Newbie August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 I always use below to compare the country living standard; earn 3K local currency at the following country SG need SGD7.50+ for BK Whopper meal US need USD5.50+ for BK Whopper meal MY need RM12+ for BK Whopper meal SG need SGD18+ for Audio CD US need USD12+ for Audio CD MY need RM38+ for Audio CD With the above info, you can judge yourself whether it is poor or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 But is the food there nice? It is the area opposite that road (Jalan Johor Jaya) which is more popular and busy. Maybe RM30 there may not be enough also.... I ate char siew rice only. I find the portion and char siew nice, acceptable standard like in SG but cannot compare to what I had in HK. The char siew in HK is in another different league. But it does fill the stomach. Also it comes with one medium size bowl of salty vege soup. So the drinks are not necessary actually. Me not a fussy eater, but a choosy eater. If I were to stay there, Morning - One glass of Milo = RM$1.20 Lunch - One upsize plate of want tan mee = RM$5 Dinner - One plate of char siew rice = RM$4 One day, only spend RM$10.20. I save RM$19.80 in my piggy bank every day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 In sgp if a single earn $5k and doesnt own a car, no need to pay housing instalment by cash, no children to provide for, can really save a lot and live comfortably. Right ? What? you mean 10 years ago ar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 I always use below to compare the country living standard; earn 3K local currency at the following country SG need SGD7.50+ for BK Whopper meal US need USD5.50+ for BK Whopper meal MY need RM12+ for BK Whopper meal SG need SGD18+ for Audio CD US need USD12+ for Audio CD MY need RM38+ for Audio CD With the above info, you can judge yourself whether it is poor or not. I bet someone will say, "but MY has Ramli burger as substitute and pirated CD".... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 I ate char siew rice only. I find the portion and char siew nice, acceptable standard like in SG but cannot compare to what I had in HK. The char siew in HK is in another different league. But it does fill the stomach. Also it comes with one medium size bowl of salty vege soup. So the drinks are not necessary actually. Me not a fussy eater, but a choosy eater. If I were to stay there, Morning - One glass of Milo = RM$1.20 Lunch - One upsize plate of want tan mee = RM$5 Dinner - One plate of char siew rice = RM$4 One day, only spend RM$10.20. I save RM$19.80 in my piggy bank every day. Try eating that EVERYDAY.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 What? you mean 10 years ago ar? learn to read leh. dont tell me 5k a month without the following cannot live comfortablely? doesnt own a car, no need to pay housing instalment by cash, no children to provide for, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Try eating that EVERYDAY.... I ate bar chor mee(closed down) every single working day for six years. And then ate kok kok mee(closed down) every single working day for eight years. Now, eating sliced fish noodles since beginning of the year. Me not a fussy eater. I can eat the same food everyday as long as it is available. Just to fill the stomach only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 I ate bar chor mee(closed down) every single working day for six years. And then ate kok kok mee(closed down) every single working day for eight years. Now, eating sliced fish noodles since beginning of the year. Me not a fussy eater. I can eat the same food everyday as long as it is available. Just to fill the stomach only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 I can eat the ccf every morning till I die if the owner still around selling I ate bar chor mee(closed down) every single working day for six years. And then ate kok kok mee(closed down) every single working day for eight years. Now, eating sliced fish noodles since beginning of the year. Me not a fussy eater. I can eat the same food everyday as long as it is available. Just to fill the stomach only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 learn to read leh. dont tell me 5k a month without the following cannot live comfortablely? doesnt own a car, no need to pay housing instalment by cash, no children to provide for, Thank you. I don't need to learn to read. It is my opinion that 5k cannot live comfortably these days and it will only get increasingly difficult in the next 10 years given the rising cost of living. Just because you strongly believe that it is enough does not mean others dunno how to read and it is enough for others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 My Malaysian mech fren working in sin bought a civic type r for $200k ringgit And he said we don't have COE I know of MY guys working as storeman in SG, can own semi D in JB, with 3 kids and wife, one car and one bike. wife not working at all yes, its possible to live on RM$5k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 I can eat the ccf every morning till I die if the owner still around selling Yeah. Just go to the stall and say usual. No need thing so much what to eat. As long as stomach full, good liao. Me dont like to think wat to eat one. As long got food to fill stomach can liao. If wana do lunch, dont forget to call me hor. Me ching chai eat one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Thank you. I don't need to learn to read. It is my opinion that 5k cannot live comfortably these days and it will only get increasingly difficult in the next 10 years given the rising cost of living. Just because you strongly believe that it is enough does not mean others dunno how to read and it is enough for others. why dont you tell us what you think living comfortably be?? every meal eat resturant??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 why you find it a surprise. a lot of ppl eat the same meal every day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 why dont you tell us what you think living comfortably be?? every meal eat resturant??? Living happy n healthy the best. No need big car or big house but dont mind fat pay cheque. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Living happy n healthy the best. No need big car or big house but dont mind fat pay cheque. i think its a interesting topic. Will be good to know what his ideal of comfortable living is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 why dont you tell us what you think living comfortably be?? every meal eat resturant??? I don't think it is for you to judge other people's lifestyle and spending. A lot of people forget that PARENTS exist and GFs exist when you are single. Nuff said right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...