2BDriver Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 i come this thread to learn things so many things i dont know You not interested in how the world ship's sails mah, you only like to see how lorlee cruising ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 No wonder they are one of the biggest contributors to the global warming... got hidden agenda one... yeah very clever. melt the artic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 when polar caps melts completely, will still have SG or not? or the world become Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 You not interested in how the world ship's sails mah, you only like to see how lorlee cruising big ship is lowlee of the sea mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 when polar caps melts completely, will still have SG or not? or the world become SG confirmed under water and many many other cities as well... you watch to movie waterworld?? we will grow grills and live in the waters... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 i come this thread to learn things so many things i dont know Same same. Although me in marine industry but dont know anything abt shipping. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Same same. Although me in marine industry but dont know anything abt shipping. my sister who is in-charge of allocating which container put where in the big ship still very busy day in day out leh donno whether shipping business is how liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 SG confirmed under water and many many other cities as well... you watch to movie waterworld?? we will grow grills and live in the waters... buying real estate on mount everest now!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 (edited) my sister who is in-charge of allocating which container put where in the big ship still very busy day in day out leh donno whether shipping business is how liao Busy can be due to many reasons.... Not necessary more containers coming here......, but more work when other ports screwed up, principals flip prata at last minute changes, etc, etc and............. they like to zhut this type of pattern when vessel is calling Singapore next....... they will not do it when vessel is calling some of our neighbouring ports de....... You get what I mean? We do more sh1t work, but not paid for lor. They also like to send damaged loaded containers to Singapore to rework. Edited August 21, 2013 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 my sister who is in-charge of allocating which container put where in the big ship still very busy day in day out leh donno whether shipping business is how liao I also dont know. The ships I deal with now are like lorry, carrying various cargo from shore to rig. Then sometimes act like tow tuck and pull the rig from one location to another. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 i come this thread to learn things so many things i dont know Works the same way as FedEx/UPS/DHL. When you track your package using the airwaybill, have you wondered why your stuff goes to so many countries before reaching SG? eg: an item from US would most likely stop over at Cologne germany, then to Hong Kong before flying to SG. Why not direct from US to Singapore? Isn't it shorter and more direct? For the couriers, their assessment of cost is not just solely on the fastest/shortest route. Running on low loads but on a direct route can be more expensive than having a full load but with several stop-over. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 (edited) Works the same way as FedEx/UPS/DHL. When you track your package using the airwaybill, have you wondered why your stuff goes to so many countries before reaching SG? eg: an item from US would most likely stop over at Cologne germany, then to Hong Kong before flying to SG. Why not direct from US to Singapore? Isn't it shorter and more direct? For the couriers, their assessment of cost is not just solely on the fastest/shortest route. Running on low loads but on a direct route can be more expensive than having a full load but with several stop-over. Well, for freight forwarding, this may involve some kick backs..... If you send cargo to certain ports with heavy in coming, but low outgoing volume (for example), you pay not only zero dollar in freight charges, you also get kickbacks. Edited August 21, 2013 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 (edited) my sister who is in-charge of allocating which container put where in the big ship still very busy day in day out leh donno whether shipping business is how liao If you're worried then advise her to get marry asap and let your new brother-in-law to take good care of her lor Just fold arms and witness PSA passing away peacefully Edited August 21, 2013 by Fongmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 (edited) Busy can be due to many reasons.... Not necessary more containers coming here......, but more work when other ports screwed up, principals flip prata at last minute changes, etc, etc and............. they like to zhut this type of pattern when vessel is calling Singapore next....... they will not do it when vessel is calling some of our neighbouring ports de....... You get what I mean? We do more sh1t work, but not paid for lor. They also like to send damaged loaded containers to Singapore to rework. Maybe our Honorable Minister's visiting then every body will gets very busy to do house keeping and area cleaning [laugh] Edited August 21, 2013 by Fongmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Well, for freight forwarding, this may involve some kick backs..... If you send cargo to certain ports with heavy in coming, but low outgoing volume (for example), you pay not only zero dollar in freight charges, you also get kickbacks. Good one. I didn't know about that. But i guess your point again illustrates there is a whole spectrum of factors to consider then just the distance of the route. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 buying real estate on mount everest now!!! Not high enough ! Buy a yatch and stays in it for survival Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrathchild156 2nd Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 To add on Shipping is not just having the vessel carry the goods from point A to B. There's also logistical hubbing, consolidation and distribution involved. A ship is just like a bus. The goods like passengers. Passengers do not always head for the same destination. However, you can safely and mostly assume they are headed somewhat in the same direction. So if you have a ship leaving from China to US, you would have most goods on it headed to US. But there are other goods which might be heading to Europe etc. So this is where a good port like Singapore comes in. When the ship stops here, the containers are unloaded and then loaded onto different ships. Just like how passengers get off at certain stops to catch another bus. So the real competition isnt really so much on the route. The focus is more on the type of services and how reliable the port is. But on the flip side, good reliable services are pointless when you don't have ships coming to you. So in a way, we're also very lucky to be strategically located. This part is really really heng! To add on;- Ship Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 As long as we still have a navy, there will still be jobs in the marine industry. Navy ineeds govt money. PSA earns money. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...