Kangadrool Supersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Reading your thread title "PSA Finished" I thought you are refering our PM National Day Rally mentioned our southern harbour would be shifting to Tuas eastern anchorage That's why consolidating all into one place - Tuas and making trillions from properties for waterfront living. Huat arh.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 I doubt it. Nobody can beat us when it comes to cheaper-er, better-er, faster-er Seriously, when it comes to a combination of reliability, quality, speed and economical costs - few can beat singapore, or more accurately, singapore workforce. The ang-moh may have their quality and reliability, but are frequently wracked by industrial troubles and higher costs of labour. The PRC has lower costs to operate, but quality and reliability are dubious, not to mention lack of transparency and rule of law when it comes to business. I remember some years ago when our northern neighbour promoted their tanjong pelepas port that threatened to draw away some business from our port here (and indeed, some major companies did make the move...). And now, look how it has turned out? They simply did not have the quality of the workforce and organisation to match up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 That means I will lose my job soon???? dealing with marine supplies haiz......better look for a new job before it really happens. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 That means I will lose my job soon???? dealing with marine supplies haiz......better look for a new job before it really happens. So many people in MCF in the marine industry arh? Don't need to worry one..... unless you just started out in your 20's. For most of us, it should be our last job in the same industry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 I doubt it. Nobody can beat us when it comes to cheaper-er, better-er, faster-er Seriously, when it comes to a combination of reliability, quality, speed and economical costs - few can beat singapore, or more accurately, singapore workforce. The ang-moh may have their quality and reliability, but are frequently wracked by industrial troubles and higher costs of labour. The PRC has lower costs to operate, but quality and reliability are dubious, not to mention lack of transparency and rule of law when it comes to business. I remember some years ago when our northern neighbour promoted their tanjong pelepas port that threatened to draw away some business from our port here (and indeed, some major companies did make the move...). And now, look how it has turned out? They simply did not have the quality of the workforce and organisation to match up. Yup...its our efficiency to clear containers out of ports gave us the edge not to mention no missing containers as what happened to boleh land..hear say there are cases, goods are taken from the containers all the time...so Evergreen & Mazersk sealand properly have lose more customers than their saving and insurances also charges higher for them too...its all about the system Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Agree. PSA's efficiency and transparency is something new set ups cannot match in years to come, like Hong Kong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Yup...its our efficiency to clear containers out of ports gave us the edge not to mention no missing containers as what happened to boleh land..hear say there are cases, goods are taken from the containers all the time...so Evergreen & Mazersk sealand properly have lose more customers than their saving and insurances also charges higher for them too...its all about the system Nope. Not true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 So many people in MCF in the marine industry arh? Don't need to worry one..... unless you just started out in your 20's. For most of us, it should be our last job in the same industry. As long as we still have a navy, there will still be jobs in the marine industry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Every time I drove past Tanjong Pagar, I see those cranes like not moving, no loading or unloading of containers, no ships. I wonder if PSA business still that good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Every time I drove past Tanjong Pagar, I see those cranes like not moving, no loading or unloading of containers, no ships. I wonder if PSA business still that good. We are a dumping ground for empty, DG, reefers and OOG containers. Most of the GP dry standard containers movement have been shifted to neighbouring countries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 (edited) Every time I drove past Tanjong Pagar, I see those cranes like not moving, no loading or unloading of containers, no ships. I wonder if PSA business still that good. yeah.. year after year.. budget ends with giving gst exemption for marine sector.. i doubt it's doing well.. Maybe moving it to TUAS is a signal that this industry no longer is the primary driver of our economy. Service and Financial sector is and it expanding to takeover that plot of prime land. Edited August 21, 2013 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Singapore is one of the few ports with dirt cheap pilotage fees. This has not been changed for decades for a good reason. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 yeah.. year after year.. budget ends with giving gst exemption for marine sector.. i doubt it's doing well.. Maybe moving it to TUAS is a signal that this industry no longer is the primary driver of our economy. Service and Financial sector is and it expanding to takeover that plot of prime land. The revenue from land sales and property is too hard to resist. Agree with your point, we can tell future focus will be on Changi Airport, Financial and commercial sector, property development. I think they foresee PSA and this industry will soon be sunset, thus shifting them to Tuas makes logical sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 We are a dumping ground for empty, DG, reefers and OOG containers. Most of the GP dry standard containers movement have been shifted to neighbouring countries. Chim leh. Catch no ball on those acronyms. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Chim leh. Catch no ball on those acronyms. easy... empty = contains only air. DG = Dangerous Goods Reefer = Refrigerated OOG = Out-of-Gauge (typical odd sized machineries packed onto flatracks or open top container or breakbulk shipped on container vessel - e.g. MRT trains, yachts.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 Another blow could be the Dagger of Kra.... http://www.themalaymailonline.com/what-you...azmi-mohd-rusli With the construction cost up to USD23 billion measuring approximately 120kms from one side to the other through the Kra Isthmus, the proposed canal would be about 25m deep and 400m in width. The Government of Thailand will be funding this project with contributors from other maritime States such as Japan, China, the United States of America (US) and other interested States like Malaysia and Indonesia. Currently, this proposed project has temporarily been put on hold due to economic, environment and political reasons. Nevertheless, the Thai government has never announced its intention to scrap the project. I would think this is a more immediate threat to us than the so call "Northeast Passage". If the "Dagger" is indeed put to effect, alot of southeast country's lifeline will be cut, Brunei, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia and many more. I think this part of the "political reason" that was mentioned. We would become like africa and would be bypassed. If not handled properly, it could escalate to another Suez Canal crisis of the east... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 easy... empty = contains only air. DG = Dangerous Goods Reefer = Refrigerated OOG = Out-of-Gauge (typical odd sized machineries packed onto flatracks or open top container or breakbulk shipped on container vessel - e.g. MRT trains, yachts.... Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 This will never happen. Once they built the canal, there will be a bloody civil war for an independant state(country) in that region. The Thai govt knows they cannot cope with it. The crap reasons they give is just to save face. Another blow could be the Dagger of Kra.... http://www.themalaymailonline.com/what-you...azmi-mohd-rusli With the construction cost up to USD23 billion measuring approximately 120kms from one side to the other through the Kra Isthmus, the proposed canal would be about 25m deep and 400m in width. The Government of Thailand will be funding this project with contributors from other maritime States such as Japan, China, the United States of America (US) and other interested States like Malaysia and Indonesia. Currently, this proposed project has temporarily been put on hold due to economic, environment and political reasons. Nevertheless, the Thai government has never announced its intention to scrap the project. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...