Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 25, 2013 Share September 25, 2013 Why nobody mentioned Continental's CSC3/CSC5? Not good? Not as value for money compared to it's peers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 25, 2013 Share September 25, 2013 (edited) Not sure what is yr level of 'cheong' but i have tried ad08 in wet at 130kph before and still grips well no swaying although its noisy. Definitely never for the slightest moment had any 'fail' as compared to assy2 I've been able to drive faster with UHP tyres in the wet over AD's (and much faster through puddles). They're more than adequate for normal road driving though. That being said my issue with AD08's is not so much the grip, but it's progressiveness. IMHO you have to be a very alert driver with it especially when you're nearing it's limits. My personal preference on the road are tyres that give me lots of warning over all other factors. P.S. I'm not too much a fan of yoko tires anymore. For all those that I've tried, with the exception being C Drives, the rest were far less progressive than their peers from other manufacturers. Edited September 25, 2013 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 25, 2013 Share September 25, 2013 Yokohama? Any views on DB advan v551? Im on Yoko ADrive R1. Good grip on wet n dry but a little noisy lah. Mine 45 series profile. Price is reasonable. Im thinking of trying Michelin PS 3 on my Optra next. Sud b an improvement but slightly more ex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 25, 2013 Share September 25, 2013 Definitely make a diff. But the question is, do you need it for day to day driving and understanding of your own requirement? U never know when u wil need good tires. U cud encounter poor road conditions n a better tire wil help prevent u from skidding when u least expect it. Of course the trade off wil b noisier, less comfort n maybe a bit more ex. Some wil wear faster too. But I try to get the best tires I can afford cos when u skid n hit the metal barrier or another car/cyclist/pedestrian, the inconvenience n cost wil b much higher. Plus yr insurance goes up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Youaredie Clutched September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 Wow, so many good suggestions so far. Just read up a little on Vega's recommendation of the Goodyear F1A2 and they do look good as well. I have another friend who also suggested GT Radial, and their CHAMPIRO UHP1 also looks good. I'll continue looking at the great suggestions here until this weekend where I'll make my choice. Thanks all! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 Not sure what is yr level of 'cheong' but i have tried ad08 in wet at 130kph before and still grips well no swaying although its noisy. Definitely never for the slightest moment had any 'fail' as compared to assy2 noise level we dun bother about it, i think if we fix ad08, our car engine properly loud enough to cover the tyre noise. ad08 in wet weather is ok, like some bro mention, its only when u cut through puddle of water when u really feel the different. the car really float on the water, aquaplaning . but if compare to tyres like csc5, aysm2 they cut though puddle of water much much better. but of course they lose out in pure dry grip, esp when heat up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Locknload 5th Gear September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 Actually I won't mind the noise over grippy tyres, as you can't avoid the noise when going over certain stretches of PIE/CTE/KJE/BKE etc as the roads are made to drain off water quickly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizardofzzz 1st Gear September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 Do consider the tread wear rate if you are a high mileage person PSS will be a good option , prices have been dropping a fair bit I think extreme summer tyres like Ad08, Re11 or ZII abit overkill unless you hit the track or $$ to you not a problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Youaredie Clutched September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 Do consider the tread wear rate if you are a high mileage person PSS will be a good option , prices have been dropping a fair bit I think extreme summer tyres like Ad08, Re11 or ZII abit overkill unless you hit the track or $$ to you not a problem HAHA! $$ is a huge problem with me that's y I'm researching and asking like siao lol. I've read that the PSS loses out to Goodyear F1 A2? I've actually narrowed my choices down to dunlop direzza zii, goodyear f1a2, and goodyear f1d5. Waiting for a price quote from Soh before finally deciding lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 HAHA! $$ is a huge problem with me that's y I'm researching and asking like siao lol. I've read that the PSS loses out to Goodyear F1 A2? I've actually narrowed my choices down to dunlop direzza zii, goodyear f1a2, and goodyear f1d5. Waiting for a price quote from Soh before finally deciding lol. PSS is a better tire than F1A2. previously, I was using the eagle GSD3 which I think is the current F1A2. while I love the wet and dry grip, the noise level is bad. now I am using F1A2 for almost 2 month, I am pleasantly surprise its much quieter than the GSD3. maybe the tire is still new. the thing I am not too happy with F1A2 is steering feedback is not precise. Well, we can't have the cake and eat it too. do share with us the quote you got. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 PSS is a better tire than F1A2. previously, I was using the eagle GSD3 which I think is the current F1A2. while I love the wet and dry grip, the noise level is bad. now I am using F1A2 for almost 2 month, I am pleasantly surprise its much quieter than the GSD3. maybe the tire is still new. the thing I am not too happy with F1A2 is steering feedback is not precise. Well, we can't have the cake and eat it too. do share with us the quote you got. i think he mention his size is 195.50.15? if confirm this is size , i doubt got pss or aysm2? gyd5 should have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 i think he mention his size is 195.50.15? if confirm this is size , i doubt got pss or aysm2? gyd5 should have. not sure these brands got offering for 15". I am just sharing what I experienced with these tires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Youaredie Clutched September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 i think he mention his size is 195.50.15? if confirm this is size , i doubt got pss or aysm2? gyd5 should have. Yup true, Frankie from Soh tires just told me that only the d5 is available in my required size. So that will be my choice! Thanks all!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...