I cannot understand the new law...

Sci10213

I think lock them up forever worse than asking them to die....of course the cell must not be like a 4 star hotel lah...if not you chase them out they also dun wanna leave.

The problem with this approach is that the really hard core ones will continue their ways inside prison as seen in those drug gangs in South America and even USA. They will work with impunity knowing that what is the worst that can be thrown at them? With the money and connections, they are able to 'enjoy' many things as long as they are alive. Prison just another place for them. Death penalty is a bitch but losing the willpower to combat is worse.

If not die, then please define "death" ...

Is it not more suffering or torture to those already sentenced to death but pending death for many years?

No. I support reviewing the death penalty. There may be cases where people are blackmailed into crimes, such as drug carriers,so the law cannot simply sentence someone to death just because he has drugs on him.

If let says that the person serving 'Life' is the only male in the family. In order to carry on the family tree, will the prison allow the man to mate when his father bring a woman to the cell so that the family tree could carry on.... [lipsrsealed]

Wow you think so siok huh , they will ask him to diy , collect the stuff in a tube can liao lor !

No. I support reviewing the death penalty. There may be cases where people are blackmailed into crimes, such as drug carriers,so the law cannot simply sentence someone to death just because he has drugs on him.

i dun want to sound harsh, but the excuse of being blackmailed into crimes mean u should receive a lighter sentence?

i give 1 example. i take loashark 1/2 m loan, i cannot return , the loanshark threaten me my family bababa, tell me go rob go steal go kill, but get them their 1/2 m.

in despration, i go rob some 1 and never excpect resistence and i kill the victim. if the victim happen to be some 1 close to u , and i beg u for forgiveness and beg the judge to spare me the death sentence cos i was force to rob. blackmail bababa

some time we want to be a graclious soclity , always say give ppl chance , he should not die ,

he is still young, he is forced, he is blackmailed, he got no choice.

but only when it happen to u, do u still think the same??

Edited by Beregond

in despration, i go rob some 1 and never excpect resistence and i kill the victim. if the victim happen to be some 1 close to u , and i beg u for forgiveness and beg the judge to spare me the death sentence cos i was force to rob. blackmail bababa

no intent to kill and kill someone by accident is manslaughter and it doesn't carry a death sentence.

Edited by Jman888

i dun want to sound harsh, but the excuse of being blackmailed into crimes mean u should receive a lighter sentence?

i give 1 example. i take loashark 1/2 m loan, i cannot return , the loanshark threaten me my family bababa, tell me go rob go steal go kill, but get them their 1/2 m.

some time we want to be a graclious soclity , always say give ppl chance , he should not die ,

he is still young, he is forced, he is blackmailed, he got no choice.

but only when it happen to u, do u still think the same??

Murder is different. Killing a person is divided into many categories. Plan to kill and killed the person is murder. No plan to kill but killed is manslaughter. You don't see motorists getting the death sentence do you?

Drug trafficking is a whole new story. I assure you a person can be blackmailed into carrying drugs. 15g of heroin and he will get the mandatory death sentence.

I think the law makers already had plans to review & amend the capital punishment for certain crimes. But to review & draft the amendments for submission and approval, it's not an overnight thing. There must be tons of law books to look thru to review, plenty of meetings no doubt, delays & etc. So those whose cases are put on hold so that the amendments could be made are actually very lucky. I think they have selected cases like Yong's drug offense to be put on hold until the new laws are in effect.

What I'm surprised to know is that our so called president clemency the president has to seek advise from the parliamentary cabinet in order to grant clemency to the convict on death sentence. Kinda obvious who make the final decision in the cabinet. Go one big round and do so many paperwork. This is the kinda thing is even more mind boggling.

These cases are "already" sentenced, not on hold... so why need to review them???

• Dislike 1

These cases are "already" sentenced, not on hold... so why need to review them???

'Govt aware Yong could escape gallows, but changes to law made for society's benefit'
Published on Nov 14, 2013
By Rachel Chang In Colombo, Sri Lanka
The Government was aware that drug mule Yong Vui Kong could escape the gallows when it proposed lifting the mandatory drug penalty, said Law Minister K. Shanmugam on Thursday.
But it went ahead with the changes for the benefit of the wider society, he told reporters on the sidelines of a gathering of Commonwealth foreign ministers here.
"We were certainly aware of the possibility that he could be one of those to benefit from the changes, because we know that he had given some information which led to the arrest of someone else more senior in the hierarchy and that had helped us," Mr Shanmugam said.
"It was a case that seemed to fit within the changes we were making but we made those changes because it was in the interest of society as a whole."

By all means go ahead to review, but my point is the amended law should be forward-looking, not back-dated to include all those cases already sentenced but still not executed.

The new standards should be applied for new cases or those still on hold but definitely not those already decided.

Just like the new car loan of 50% downpayment - if the new law states it applies also to those already bought their new car before the implementation date, and govt tell you to pay 50% , will u be happy to do so? Same for the new HDB rules, how you feel if the HDB also tell you the new rules also apply to those with flats already?

My point is any new law or rules should be applied on the immediate day of implementation or on a future date, and not applied to past cases.

Sentenced but still the lawyer of the defendant is able to appeal. The AG can always review the appeal. Take ages to review. LoL...

3) Those criminals already sentenced to death a few years ago - why are they still ALIVE today? Shouldn't they been dead a few years ago?

the death sentence is executed only if all avenues of appeal have failed bah.

some time we have to be very careful of wat we wish for.

we want a clean and safe street , low crime rate.

but in the other hand, we want to have 1st world human rights etc etc.

usa and western europe is very good example. human right is alway their pority,

but do we want our streets to be like the street of usa?

its impossible to have the best of both world.

some time we have to be very careful of wat we wish for.

we want a clean and safe street , low crime rate.

but in the other hand, we want to have 1st world human rights etc etc.

usa and western europe is very good example. human right is alway their pority,

but do we want our streets to be like the street of usa?

its impossible to have the best of both world.

singaporean also want to see a society where 法,理,情 can be more balance.

By all means go ahead to review, but my point is the amended law should be forward-looking, not back-dated to include all those cases already sentenced but still not executed.

The new standards should be applied for new cases or those still on hold but definitely not those already decided.

Just like the new car loan of 50% downpayment - if the new law states it applies also to those already bought their new car before the implementation date, and govt tell you to pay 50% , will u be happy to do so? Same for the new HDB rules, how you feel if the HDB also tell you the new rules also apply to those with flats already?

My point is any new law or rules should be applied on the immediate day of implementation or on a future date, and not applied to past cases.

think this is special case and before the law was passed, this scenario was taken into consideration and probably they provisioned for this as lives are involved.

You know why the monkey got trapped?

The poacher dig a hole just big enough for the monkey's palm and place lots of peanuts inside.

The monkey came and slots his hand into the lobang and grab a bunch of peanuts.

It can't remove its fist because it is full and the hole isn't big enough.

The poacher come and pick it up since the coconut is heavy and the monkey is stucked.

The moral of the story is, let go and you'll be able to see the lights of the heavenly glory. [flowerface][sunny]

Conversely, remained trapped as an unhappy person or an ignoramous (spelling??) if you don't want to release your grudges [nod]

Edited by Poohbor