Good running shoes to recommend

Babyt

Those minimalist running shoes are road racing shoes; they are not the best for running on hard pavements if joint protection is important.

I have a pair of Adidas road racing shoes and they are light and comfortable.

Try Adidas. I think Bayi Singh once mentioned that Mizuno is a good brand.

i have a pair of adidas with me for 5+ yrs the base came out nicely like new. Brought it to repaired ask the uncle to sew all round till now a yr still going strong. I like the comfort of the cushion and lightness of this make.

I've been wearing my Adizero for 3 years liao. Very good cushion and very light. Only con and very big con is that grip is not so good.

Wore it to IPT training, slipped and fell a few times, especially on wet grounds.

If you are running outdoors (not tracks), go for cross-trainers (SAF standard issues are all cross trainers, that's what I learned from PTIs). If just track running, go for cushioned running shoes for impact absorption.

Just don't go for those toe shoes with minimal cushion.

i know cross trainers are good for outdoor path but then hor, they r bulky and heavy than pure running shoes. i have been running with SAF shoes since active days and never brought my own pair until last yr, i paid for a Reebok running shoes and found that its lighter and faster to run with such shoes than cross trainers....thus i brought a minimlist shoes for better speed.

i did not buy Asics cos its the brand for SAF shoes and i m looking for minimalist shoes.

in the end, just brought Saucony Kinvara 4.

Kinvara is a good shoe with mileage up to 200km. After that, u can't use it for long distance.

After using so many pairs of running shoe, my prefer brand is Asics. Now stay wit Asics.

Same preferred brand.

Has switch from another A brand for 3yrs since.

Same preferred brand.

Has switch from another A brand for 3yrs since.

Have been using this Gel for so many years liao. Will stick to Asics!

I am wearing Cumulus. I injured my left knee previuosly when I started to run longer distance. 4yrs ago the maximum avg distance was around 5km. Injury occured when started to run 15km and more.

Recommended by friend on this brand and felt heavy intially. Very durable too. Have ran almost 1400km including 5 FM on the previous model.

I use Brooks. Buy from SportLink. I specifically only go for those old stock/off season, & then this or that size left.......

This type usually have major/Huge discounts.

I use Brooks. Buy from SportLink. I specifically only go for those old stock/off season, & then this or that size left.......

Same here. I only buy past season shoes for the discount.. Most of them at least 2 generation old

I would not buy such an old shoe as it will lose its support. I rather buy from US when got sales. I still got 2 pair of Kinvara 3.

I'm of the opinion that the synthetic EVA material of nowadays last much longer. 2 years old is still consider new. Manufacturer would have you believe that shoes sitting on the shelves would degrade after a year.

I remember reading an article from Runner's World where they did a comparison with more than 2 years old shoes. They don't find any degradation in them.

I'm of the opinion that the synthetic EVA material of nowadays last much longer. 2 years old is still consider new. Manufacturer would have you believe that shoes sitting on the shelves would degrade after a year.

I remember reading an article from Runner's World where they did a comparison with more than 2 years old shoes. They don't find any degradation in them.

I see so many self-disintegrate into ashes. On the other hand, if u wear it regularly, it lasts longer.

Edited by Kangadrool

I had more than once bad experience buy those old stock, shoe sole open up after a few run. Now will only buy new stock.

I see so many self-disintegrate into ashes. On the other hand, if u wear it regularly, it lasts longer.

Like wise, I bought so many more than 2 years old gen without degradation. To each his own..

There're may still be shoes using lousy EVA material of the older times that to degrade over times, but I feel as long they aare from usual Mizuno, NIke, ASic, adidas, the EVA material are much improved.

I had more than once bad experience buy those old stock, shoe sole open up after a few run. Now will only buy new stock.

Sole opened up is more of the failure of the glue they use, rather than the EVA material.. Disintegration is the degradation of the EVA material. I notice NIKE and some older Adidas model tends to use glue that falls off over time.

Edited by Ender

i know cross trainers are good for outdoor path but then hor, they r bulky and heavy than pure running shoes. i have been running with SAF shoes since active days and never brought my own pair until last yr, i paid for a Reebok running shoes and found that its lighter and faster to run with such shoes than cross trainers....thus i brought a minimlist shoes for better speed.

Yes, Minimalist shoes good for speed. do note that it is not recommended for longer distant (>21km) running.

For me, I find mizuno wave rider 16 suit me well, light n well cushioned. Used to be a fan of ascis but find it gettin more ex n not so value for $ anymore

Edited by Fastnfaster

The material might have degraded after being stored for so long. Bought a 2+ year old shoe before at a huge discount. Sole separated from the upper on the second time I wore it. Wore it for less than 5km.

I agree for 2 years for glue failure. I erroneously state 2 years gen in my previous post. I'm actually buying 2 generation old model, since the new gen release are usually less than a year. e.g. current Mizuno Waver is Wave Rider 16. I would be shopping of a Waver Rider 14 or 15.

Those minimalist running shoes are road racing shoes; they are not the best for running on hard pavements if joint protection is important.

I have a pair of Adidas road racing shoes and they are light and comfortable.

Try Adidas. I think Bayi Singh once mentioned that Mizuno is a good brand.

Tiang kah pager?! U is it Ah Pork?

I also a bit out of touch on shoes liao... heh. Now Mizunos sold here are mainly export models. I use to was lyrical about them because a retailer that I used to go to carry JDM models. I went through 3 pairs of Wave Aeros. Now no more liao. Prices have also increased lately and models are limited. But quality, fit, durability and the waveplate cushioning is still top notch. Wave Rider is still good and for those on a budget, Wave Precision good enough.

Asics leh... used to be a huge fan until I tried out their lightweight trainers, ie the infamous DS. Back then prices were good. But IMO still not as durable as MIzuno in terms of cushioing. For serious runners clocking 50 to 60km at least per wk, after 3 to 4 mths can throw liao. But models like GT, Cumulus, Kayano are bomb proof. My old Kayano 10 lasted me for a full year. Prices were marked up to crazy levels a few years bk. Go online for Asics if you really have to, provided you know yr sz.

Brands like MIzuno n Asics are from Japan so they fit well for Asians. I belong to the 'Small Tall' frame so lightweight trainers are good enough for me. So shoes that I own has to do it all. Long run, track sessions, etc, the lot. Even trail. Right now I'm on my 2nd pair of Adizero Tempo 5. Adidas is not known to provide lasting cushioning but I love the ride of the shoe. Heel to forefoot transition is smooth and fit is good since adizero is like the 'asian fit' version of Adidas, and for the Japanese market for their love of lightweight shoes.

I'm mild flat foot and though lightweight, it provides adequate medial support for me. Outsoles are made by Continental, marketing ploy or not but it does last for very long. Comparable to Mizunos. Price is acceptable by local standards and widely available. I have a brand new 3rd pr sitting in my store. That's how much I love them. For the amount of running I do, 2 pairs in 10 mths is pretty decent in terms of lifespan I must say.

Oh yah, for the record, I got my kicks online :) :) :) Brands like Saucony and Brooks I nvr try before. Heard they're on a roll lately with good mag reviews. Especially Saucony Kinvaras. I never believe in mag reviews cuz the shoes are tested by seasoned runners. Furthermore, no two runners are the same even though timings can be same.

Shoes are very personal is it's really up to the buyer. Pricing aside, try with what you think it's good for you and make sure they fit well. The difference can be felt right up to just what kind of socks you wear so choose carefully. And for the avg runner, durability is important.

Edited by Relagsingh