Maseratigood 5th Gear December 2, 2013 Share December 2, 2013 (edited) 2016 is erections.... to build good will amongst the peasants from 2015 onwards should see a downtrend in coe. so as to prevent it from being a election issue. Moral of the 'story':- if the buyer is keen to avoid paying thru his nose, good time to buy a car will be within 6-7 months before GE!!! ..... may even go up higher you know. Confidence to the future! You very sure it will drop just to appease certain segments of the population. If COE is too low, what will happen to those who have paid at high COE? Not happy also right? It's like raiding the owner's assets. [laugh] If need car, buy now. If want to and can afford to change, change now. Else, do nothing. That's the only way COE can stabilize. Don't understand why some people kpkb about high COE and cannot change car when their cars is only 4-5 years old relatively fault-free. yours is an interesting view / prediction on how voting can be affected by high / low COE prices... same for property prices i guess Edited December 2, 2013 by Maseratigood ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 2, 2013 Share December 2, 2013 (edited) Yep, just like flats, they control the supply. So when demand is low, they can simply make supply even lower to maintain high price. Actually, govt has nothing to lose but lots to gain when property market shoots up:- for a start, land sales to developers by govt will reap billions dollars of profit as developers will bid high riding on bullish market who then will end up supporting the bullish market by paying thru their noses? buyers, you and I, and young couples who just started working and dont have lich parents foreigners can push up highend market and the chain reactions will bring up prices in lower end markets even ECs! the same foreigners will dump and run when they smell something bad, leaving the locals to pick up the pieces how our ever wise govt regulates the market or leaves all things to 'market forces' will affect many lives of the local population Even the death of "someone" cannot dictate COE price. Only economy n how many COEs r avaliable at the time wil decide how much we pay for it. But now seems gharmen wil "tweak" the qty now n then to keep the price high, unless ty wan the price to come down. Then ty just "tweak" the qty again to bring it down. COE has stopped being a Free Market System to control the number of cars on our roads. With all the "tweaking" being done, how can it still b a Free Market System? when they say its free, its "FREE".... understand or not? hahahahahaha Edited December 2, 2013 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 2, 2013 Share December 2, 2013 Actually, govt has nothing to lose but lots to gain when property market shoots up:- for a start, land sales to developers by govt will reap billions dollars of profit as developers will bid high riding on bullish market who then will end up supporting the bullish market by paying thru their noses? buyers, you and I, and young couples who just started working and dont have lich parents foreigners can push up highend market and the chain reactions will bring up prices in lower end markets even ECs! the same foreigners will dump and run when they smell something bad, leaving the locals to pick up the pieces how our ever wise govt regulates the market or leaves all things to 'market forces' will affect many lives of the local population + earn from fees on paper work since its % based.? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 2, 2013 Share December 2, 2013 Yep, just like flats, they control the supply. So when demand is low, they can simply make supply even lower to maintain high price. Our gharmen manipulate almost everything here. Always to their advantage. We r usually the losers. 2016 is erections.... to build good will amongst the peasants from 2015 onwards should see a downtrend in coe. so as to prevent it from being a election issue. My COE expire in early 2016. Thats why I still got hope for a lower COE price in 2016. may even go up higher you know. Confidence to the future! You very sure it will drop just to appease certain segments of the population. If COE is too low, what will happen to those who have paid at high COE? Not happy also right? It's like raiding the owner's assets. [laugh] If need car, buy now. If want to and can afford to change, change now. Else, do nothing. That's the only way COE can stabilize. Don't understand why some people kpkb about high COE and cannot change car when their cars is only 4-5 years old relatively fault-free. Usually when COE drops, those who bought high wil just scrap their cars to get back the high price n use it to buy a new n cheaper car. Thats what has been happening all along. when they say its free, its "FREE".... understand or not? hahahahahaha Something like when shops have offer.....Buy 1 get 1 free. But the free one u r actually paying for it cos the price has been adjusted higher to include the price of the "free" item. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 2, 2013 Share December 2, 2013 (edited) Our gharmen manipulate almost everything here. Always to their advantage. We r usually the losers. My COE expire in early 2016. Thats why I still got hope for a lower COE price in 2016. Usually when COE drops, those who bought high wil just scrap their cars to get back the high price n use it to buy a new n cheaper car. Thats what has been happening all along. Something like when shops have offer.....Buy 1 get 1 free. But the free one u r actually paying for it cos the price has been adjusted higher to include the price of the "free" item. Dont forget to factor in the ministers' salaries, plus their headcount! For a country of our size, we have many more ministers, 2nd, 3rd ministers per 1,000,000 citizens compared with other countries!! Edited December 2, 2013 by Maseratigood 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 Dont forget to factor in the ministers' salaries, plus their headcount! For a country of our size, we have many more ministers, 2nd, 3rd ministers per 1,000,000 citizens compared with other countries!! U forgot to mention ministers of state and secretaries.. not the usual chiobu type but the lau ah peh permanent types... Many many layers of fat to feed.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 (edited) Actually I don't think COE will drop when 2016/2017 comes where alot people have to scrap their cars. I got 2 main reason. 1. If drop, their bonus also dropped! If you, you want meh? 2. We need to control the amount of cars. So if drop, more cars.. then not effective liao. so next GE is my closest bet that it may be a "cooling measure" for the COE. otherwise, i foresee the COE will always stay or go even higher. Dont forget to factor in the ministers' salaries, plus their headcount! For a country of our size, we have many more ministers, 2nd, 3rd ministers per 1,000,000 citizens compared with other countries!! Don't know why you tio junk I praise you back. but I agree with what you're saying. We have the highest paid ministers in the world. not even highest paid minister per ratio of population. If our govt can complain say HDB losing money when building flats, then imagine no COE country bankrupt? you may say different funds. but afterall, who's pocket is it? Edited December 3, 2013 by Knoobie 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 U forgot to mention ministers of state and secretaries.. not the usual chiobu type but the lau ah peh permanent types... Many many layers of fat to feed.. Yes! Maybe they are trying to use quantity to overcome the lack of quality Actually I don't think COE will drop when 2016/2017 comes where alot people have to scrap their cars. I got 2 main reason. 1. If drop, their bonus also dropped! If you, you want meh? 2. We need to control the amount of cars. So if drop, more cars.. then not effective liao. so next GE is my closest bet that it may be a "cooling measure" for the COE. otherwise, i foresee the COE will always stay or go even higher. Don't know why you tio junk I praise you back. but I agree with what you're saying. We have the highest paid ministers in the world. not even highest paid minister per ratio of population. If our govt can complain say HDB losing money when building flats, then imagine no COE country bankrupt? you may say different funds. but afterall, who's pocket is it? It seems the COE revenues can be use to prop up the salaries of these people so that with such high salaries, they feel they gain more respect despite so-so performance if any at all In short, COE is a necessary stream of income for some important purpose such as this. COE should stay!!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yhn 4th Gear December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 Even my previous COE car I found an improvement in engine smoothness, power n FC when I DIY the grounding. Thats why I did it for my Optra also. Anyway cost is only abt $5 n no need to do any maintenence, just install n leave it, so just do lah. It does no harm anyway. BTW now Im getting abt 14km/lit on average. Hi Pisces would you give us some tips on how DIY grounding is done, if it's not trade secret. Thanks a lot yhn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 Hi Pisces would you give us some tips on how DIY grounding is done, if it's not trade secret. Thanks a lot yhn No secret. I just buy heavy duty copper wire (same as used in household wiring) n the round lugs. I just ground the engine block(this most important), throttle body, ECU, Autobox, Body near headlights/horn, AC compressor, Alternator(if u can access) n firewall. I try to run seperate wires from all these points back to the battery - terminal. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 No secret. I just buy heavy duty copper wire (same as used in household wiring) n the round lugs. I just ground the engine block(this most important), throttle body, ECU, Autobox, Body near headlights/horn, AC compressor, Alternator(if u can access) n firewall. I try to run seperate wires from all these points back to the battery - terminal. bro Pisces, if you don't mind, can take picture and show so that noobs like me can learn a little how to DIY? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 bro Pisces, if you don't mind, can take picture and show so that noobs like me can learn a little how to DIY? I think there were many threads on Grounding in MCF b4 as several years back, this Grounding was very popular. Maybe u can search n see if ty hv the pics u require? U just make sure u attach the ground wires to metal parts of the things u wan to ground. All cars r different so u got to see where u need to attach the wires based on the car u drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 (edited) may even go up higher you know. Confidence to the future! You very sure it will drop just to appease certain segments of the population. If COE is too low, what will happen to those who have paid at high COE? Not happy also right? It's like raiding the owner's assets. [laugh] If need car, buy now. If want to and can afford to change, change now. Else, do nothing. That's the only way COE can stabilize. Don't understand why some people kpkb about high COE and cannot change car when their cars is only 4-5 years old relatively fault-free. Ballless junker again! Junk w/o reason! Edited December 4, 2013 by Kangadrool 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 Ballless junker again! Junk w/o reason! Aiyoh, why bother with these kids 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 i think the admin and mods need to relook at the junking system. all agree? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 Ballless junker again! Junk w/o reason! knn. I also kena junk for nothing. Lol. Fark it la. Dont bother. I upz u bro 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLSAMG88 1st Gear December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 Yes. From abt 2016 to 2019 there sud b many cars going for scrap n COE sud drop ..................unless the gharmen again steps in to "tweak" the system to keep COE price high. Im waiting to see what happens as the time comes. During 2009, COE dropped to abt $7K IIRC. Keeping my fingers crossed. I am also one of this group! Car to be scrapped in Jan 2018...but unlike you, I do not wish for COE to drop. I hope to government continues to cut down on the COE quota - as China has shown, cars are a cancer to civil society. Bad for the environment and with more idiotic drivers, unsafe for everyone on the roads. Less cars - more bicycles! Let's go back to China in the 1970s! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 i think the admin and mods need to relook at the junking system. all agree? I actually agree .... MCFrs should be given the right to "like" or unlike" the postings. I don't see a problem at all. We cannot expect everyone to agree with us right ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...