Jman888 Moderator December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 Tampopo (1985) A Japanese comedy about truck driver Goro who helps out a struggling family ramen business helmed by a young widow named Tampopo. The film is interspersed with short food-related scenes and celebrates the fact that food is (for many) the essence of life, and plays many roles as reward, ritual, rite, family and vice. Masterful food shots are plentiful with the old master waxing lyrical about how to eat a bowl of ramen, the gangster couple using food in their erotic ways, an old woman caressing food in the supermarket, a widow who rises from her deathbed to cook one last meal for her family and of course Goro and Tampopo’s mission to make the perfect ramen. http://youtu.be/NqA-mP0MhZg anyone tried this method? i mean watch this movie ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 I watched this movie when i was young... it was shown on Arts Central... got accidental nude scene somemore! Now older liao... I think this scene is too artistic for my liking... but this shown grew my liking for ramen! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 anyone tried this method? i mean watch this movie got lah sometyimes prawn will have 3p 4p one, then the zao bor will pass the siao from one mouth to the other damm turn off though 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 19, 2013 Author Share December 19, 2013 I watched this movie when i was young... it was shown on Arts Central... got accidental nude scene somemore! Now older liao... I think this scene is too artistic for my liking... but this shown grew my liking for ramen! ok i go find, seem like a good movie about japanese food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 ok i go find, seem like a good movie about japanese food. Be warned hor... this is an artistic film. it has long stretches of dullness... but ultimately quite a good film... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 19, 2013 Author Share December 19, 2013 Be warned hor... this is an artistic film. it has long stretches of dullness... but ultimately quite a good film... dun worry, i watched quite a few such arty movies and some i came out of cinema not knowing what was going on..... but i never snore inside the cinema hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 What's the egg juggling for? Don't find that sexy or erotic leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oblong 3rd Gear December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 I do think Tampopo is a carnal interpretation on food is the essence of life. I don't think it is really that arty (boring) or draggy, in fact, it is quite funny and sometimes thoughtful, sometimes wierd, a very multi-layered and enjoyable movie. Regarding kissing movie, I thought Cinema Paradiso is pretty good too. Mmm, on Japanese movies well known to an international audience, Akira Kurosawa may be the first to open the western door but I would think Yasujiro Ozu influential too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 anyone tried this method? i mean watch this movie With wine but not egg yolk :p :p :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oblong 3rd Gear December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 I remembered some scenes are censored in Rashomon (ch 12?). Afraid i didn't bother to watch much from TV. SGIFF was doing a very good job in the 80s till 90s. Japanese film fest (Singapore) is pretty good too. I guess youtube, amazon, library@esplanade or Japanese association (Adam road) may be a good start. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...