Wt_know Supersonic June 22, 2024 Share June 22, 2024 (edited) hawker, foodcourt or restaurant .... take note that's today value hor in spore 2F2F cost of living ... no $10K no talk ... that's about right Edited June 22, 2024 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/22/2024 at 2:06 PM, TangoCharlie said: Yes, no such things as perfect one or marriage of equals. The reality is the wife's routine also be disrupted should your friend retire. So there's a period if adjustment and adaption for both parties. My point is that's shouldn't be a reason for not retiring because it's delaying this process only. The way I see it, the older one gets, the harder for one to change or adapt. 过来人,天天有经念!🤣🤣🤣 So how long did you take to get used to 24/7 with wifey? 😂😂😂 I think it is important to build your own network of retiree friends with common interest but my main issue with retirement is really a mindset thingy. Just sharing an interesting episode. I was looking for a Netflix movie to watch with wifey, who retired a few years ago, a couple of weeks ago. To my amusement, she watched most of the popular ones. I was thinking, at the back of my mind.... hmm.... You have been rotting away watching movies and Korean drama everyday... Think I need to start watching Korean drama. 😂😂😂 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 Wife cooked King Crab Scallop porridge for lunch 😀 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/22/2024 at 8:52 PM, Wt_know said: hawker, foodcourt or restaurant .... take note that's today value hor in spore 2F2F cost of living ... no $10K no talk ... that's about right 6k per month can maintain high end car, have maid and twice AMDK holiday..... hmmm... talk about optimistic 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 (edited) On 6/23/2024 at 2:47 PM, t0y0ta said: 6k per month can maintain high end car, have maid and twice AMDK holiday..... hmmm... talk about optimistic so overly optimistic that $6K can live like KING prince ... condo, conti car, 2 x europe holiday, 1 x full time maid, etc this ocbc guy smoke simi huh? may be tio TOTO $5M never mention .... Edited June 23, 2024 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/22/2024 at 8:52 PM, Wt_know said: hawker, foodcourt or restaurant .... take note that's today value hor in spore 2F2F cost of living ... no $10K no talk ... that's about right I stay in terrace house, drives 13-yr-old Sylphy, don't have maid, am subsidised patient, travels to mostly Malaysia and Asian countries, don't need $6k/month to be comfortable 😆 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 (edited) On 6/22/2024 at 8:52 PM, Wt_know said: hawker, foodcourt or restaurant .... take note that's today value hor in spore 2F2F cost of living ... no $10K no talk ... that's about right I can do A, B, C.......but C above sounded like a lot of work... I mean still need to maintain and service a high end car + manage a full time helper! Mai la.......I want to just chill, don't want to do all these work la... Edited June 23, 2024 by Stary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 5th Gear June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/22/2024 at 8:52 PM, Wt_know said: hawker, foodcourt or restaurant .... take note that's today value hor in spore 2F2F cost of living ... no $10K no talk ... that's about right Either live on handouts or move to malaysia lor. Cpf payout only starts from 65 and many after 55 are involuntarily retired🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/23/2024 at 2:47 PM, t0y0ta said: 6k per month can maintain high end car, have maid and twice AMDK holiday..... hmmm... talk about optimistic All these research and nonsense done by banks and govt is crap, you and i know. They even say you can retire with $1,600 remember? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/23/2024 at 3:44 PM, Ginyu said: Either live on handouts or move to malaysia lor. Cpf payout only starts from 65 and many after 55 are involuntarily retired🤣 Thats the reality that many still refuse to accept. But they will when the time comes….. might be too late though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/23/2024 at 12:43 PM, Voodooman said: So how long did you take to get used to 24/7 with wifey? 😂😂😂 I think it is important to build your own network of retiree friends with common interest but my main issue with retirement is really a mindset thingy. Just sharing an interesting episode. I was looking for a Netflix movie to watch with wifey, who retired a few years ago, a couple of weeks ago. To my amusement, she watched most of the popular ones. I was thinking, at the back of my mind.... hmm.... You have been rotting away watching movies and Korean drama everyday... Think I need to start watching Korean drama. 😂😂😂 Hehe I didn't keep track. More like when she gets used to me being at home. In my case I made myself useful... a couple of hours a day spending time with kids, and sharing household chores. Happy to share the load, since I can do what i want for the rest of the day. The day I realised I "made" it was when she left me with the kids (then in their teens) at home and went for a 6 weeks vacation with her girlfriends. No way 24/7 with each other, that much we agree on.😂 We do chill out with some common friends but we have different hobbies and separate circle of friends too. Still have disagreements. Give and take, give and take. All small matter. Hope it helps you look forward to yours in due time. 😄 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 (edited) On 6/22/2024 at 11:33 AM, Voodooman said: I know the wife, not a bad person actually but can tell who wears the pant in the family. Their relationship is also not acrimonious but maybe he thinks if I am getting bossed around, might as well get paid to do so. 😂 Well, not the first time I am hearing such stories. In Japan, it is common for old couple to get divorced after the husband has retired, the retired husband syndrome. Well sometimes it's give and take. I think going it alone as a senior is really very difficult. My mum is controling and has a short temper. My dad is more laidback, though i won't say he's beta. Argue for so many years, sometimes call us to pick sides in the argument. Argue until want to divorce also got... Retire that time, really some turmoil for maybe 2 years before it sorta simmered down. Now my mum dementia liao, need my dad to jaga most things. Still argue a lot. But when you're in your 70s, LL have to rely on each other. Few weeks ago, my dad slipped and fell. Initially don't want to go see doctor, finally got nagged by my mum to go poly. Fractured 2 ribs. Lol they didn't even tell me until i found out the next day. Edited June 23, 2024 by Lala81 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/23/2024 at 4:30 PM, TangoCharlie said: Hehe I didn't keep track. More like when she gets used to me being at home. In my case I made myself useful... a couple of hours a day spending time with kids, and sharing household chores. Happy to share the load, since I can do what i want for the rest of the day. The day I realised I "made" it was when she left me with the kids (then in their teens) at home and went for a 6 weeks vacation with her girlfriends. No way 24/7 with each other, that much we agree on.😂 We do chill out with some common friends but we have different hobbies and separate circle of friends too. Still have disagreements. Give and take, give and take. All small matter. Hope it helps you look forward to yours in due time. 😄 I definitely won't have any problems. Cos i do the cooking and most of the laundry. 😅 My wife's chores are within the domain of stuff that i assign when I'm not home and stuff she generally does. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/23/2024 at 5:01 PM, Lala81 said: I definitely won't have any problems. Cos i do the cooking and most of the laundry. 😅 My wife's chores are within the domain of stuff that i assign when I'm not home and stuff she generally does. You are new generation man! 👏👏👏😄😄😄 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/23/2024 at 5:26 PM, TangoCharlie said: You are new generation man! 👏👏👏😄😄😄 Lol my wife have to stand me when I don't want to talk. Still very old generation man. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 23, 2024 Share June 23, 2024 On 6/23/2024 at 5:44 PM, Lala81 said: Lol my wife have to stand me when I don't want to talk. Still very old generation man. But better open ears when she wants to talk...just hmm...node node...enuf oredi...no need open mouth...trust me...i learned it the hard way...kena an earful after i opened my big mouth...that's when she knew salah frequency...😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 24, 2024 Share June 24, 2024 On 6/21/2024 at 6:49 PM, 13177 said: So your boss only wants to retire cause he almost died during a surgery?! So if he never almost died 4 years ago, he will continue to work a long as he wants? Yes, when he was 54 before his operations, he cheong on anything one. He also never spends much time with family till he realizes, if he had died, he would regret. So, after that, he goes meet friends with me, cycling, invite us to his house for drinks and take out his camera with me. More importantly, he goes with wife to UK to see his daughter instead of wife goes alone. Anyway, he is 58, my big boss will tell him to work more years. Our company mostly see people retiring at 62 leh 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 24, 2024 Share June 24, 2024 On 6/24/2024 at 9:32 AM, Arogab said: Yes, when he was 54 before his operations, he cheong on anything one. He also never spends much time with family till he realizes, if he had died, he would regret. So, after that, he goes meet friends with me, cycling, invite us to his house for drinks and take out his camera with me. More importantly, he goes with wife to UK to see his daughter instead of wife goes alone. Anyway, he is 58, my big boss will tell him to work more years. Our company mostly see people retiring at 62 leh I always like people to retire early 60s or when reached retirement age if can. Esp those people in top management in the company. I cannot stand those people in top management and die die continue to work as long as they want, some even into their 70s, i don't think it is healthy in a company. People from below would never able have a chance to move up or a change of new culture and work style. ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...