8 town councils to increase service & conservancy charges

Vulcann

Lift upgrade is paid for by the gahmen (really ?) and the people who voted for it.

What's that got to do with TC ?

Even if my dog shit, I hire someone to pick up, they also can cite that as a bloody excuse to increase charges.

More lifts means more electricity use

more like.... more floors to stop = more wear and tear = more $$$ need. :D

Most precint with upgraded lifts have some lifts removed, while new ones are installed at another access point.

Why not say bcos lift has to stop at every level, so use more electricity.

The estate where my parents stay, before lift upgrade only 2 lifts serving the residents. After upgrading, still 2 lifts servicing the residents. They actually sealed off one lift at the original lift lobby, which I don't understand the logic why. Some say bcos to be fair to the residents on both ends of the block, then each side only 1 lift serving the resident. What a joke!

The increase seems to be staggered. Mine was increased a year or so back then....... [bigcry]

Now another wave for another batch.

Could be a strategy lor.

They try to reduce the pain.

In my block, there's 2 lifts. They built a 3rd one yes.

Then they tear down 1 existing lift.

So it's back to 2.

Unless the new cheapo china made lift they "upgraded" are electricity guzzlers.

Y news dun put title properly, shd write "All PAP Town Councils"

If u watch yesterday news, while the newscaster was reporting the increase, it show aljunied town council logo n area.....don't understand cos it's the pappies town council increasing the charges...

Aljunied town council got increase meh?

If u watch yesterday news, while the newscaster was reporting the increase, it show aljunied town council logo n area.....don't understand cos it's the pappies town council increasing the charges...

[sly] what do you think [sly]

Lift upgrade is paid for by the gahmen (really ?) and the people who voted for it.

Lift Upgrading Programme gahment pay?

gahment pay kor dua lan jiao leh.....

every household pay a significant sum....either one shot or installment plan using cpf fund.....except those on lift level previously.....

this is wat i know.....

somehow the new / upgraded lift seems to breakdown more often also!

Take your money, spend few cents on cable ties only. Of course breakdown more often la.

Where is the anti-competition commission when you need them? They're a joke aren't they?

Raising prices all at the same time? Collusion? Price-fixing? Corrupt?

If our town councils dont use the monies for lousy "investments" and loses them earlier, we wouldn't need to worry about price increase... damn.

The raise is expected.

But the more important thing is the millions loses due to poor investment. Has it been recouped?

Where is the anti-competition commission when you need them? They're a joke aren't they?

Raising prices all at the same time? Collusion? Price-fixing? Corrupt?

When COE increase, the cost of cars increased much more than the COE increase, went into tens of thousands more.

When petrol cartels control the price increase.

Tobacco price increase more than the tax rates

I didn't see CASE make any comment.

Because they can argue they are non-essential items.

Something I didn't know is beer has become so important and essential that the recent price hike due to the tax hike need CASE to monitor, since when alcohol has become basic needs?

More like scoring a few publicity points to me.

Only bother those small retailers.

The market is self regulated, if price is too high volume will be affected, they will definitely self correct. Why so CASE so kaypoh on the wrong stuff?

What do you expect from 150th?.. You ain't seen anything yet... Wait till it reaches 170th then you know...Hehehe.. .