dash1234 3rd Gear March 9, 2016 Share March 9, 2016 è«è¡·ä¸æ¯..(no conclusion as to which one is right) NVH while there are sound engineering basis and science to it is to a certain degree subjective and remains partly dependent on perception of individuals (some more acute to them than others) . Some forumers here have mentioned they find it quiet ( as have car magazine reviews) yet others may find it otherwise ( so it somewhat illustrated the statement I made above about subjectivity aspects of NVH.. ) The suspect here is the continental tyres (rolling) noise when dry. Interestingly if you compare the noise caused by depressing the horn from inside of the car and pressing your car key from outside of the car to trigger the same horn, you will notice that there is a big difference (fairly quiet when you are inside). Likewise you can hardly hear the car engine from the inside of your car . However when the roads are wet (rain) I find the tyres noticeably quieter. So the choice appears to be to consider changing the tyre brand to a quieter type and getting extra sound insulation installed . Would having thicker or extra set of floor mats over existing help? Perhaps the bigger tyres have also contributed to increased noise.. Thank you guys and Eric for the suggestions and advises. Will repressure the Tyres later. Hope it help. Hopefully can bring down the noise level to be on par with my previous 10 year old car. Haha.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Collected my ride. The road noise is very loud. Especially from the rear. Could it be due to the 19" tyre or is like that being a SUV? How can l sound proof it. anyone has the same encounter as me? when you test drive the car before you place your deposit, you did not notice the road noise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Thank you guys and Eric for the suggestions and advises. Will repressure the Tyres later. Hope it help. Hopefully can bring down the noise level to be on par with my previous 10 year old car. Haha..What 10 yrs old car were you driving ?? My well kept 8 yr old toyota estima is certainly noiser than the qashqai w.r.t. road noise and deflating tyres which means more contact can only be more road-tyre noise hor. Yes, I do find the engine rough sounding but that could also be due to stressing small 1.2L engine before turbo kicks in and not helped cos I like to chiong. If still not satisfied with noise level and cannot tahan, must sell car or install a good audio system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mh23 4th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 What 10 yrs old car were you driving ?? My well kept 8 yr old toyota estima is certainly noiser than the qashqai w.r.t. road noise and deflating tyres which means more contact can only be more road-tyre noise hor. Yes, I do find the engine rough sounding but that could also be due to stressing small 1.2L engine before turbo kicks in and not helped cos I like to chiong. If still not satisfied with noise level and cannot tahan, must sell car or install a good audio system. Yes, our hippo is much more nosier than QQ... To me; QQ is much quieter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnipihz 1st Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Excited but also getting bored. Now doing paint protection for my new Qashqai. 4-6hrs... Maybe i should go it show instead of waiting here. But at least there is a comfy place to chill with WiFi, water and aircon. Been thinking long and hard about paint protection. But the birds at my carpark really irritating. Their shower of blessings pushed me to this. Pocket burnt again. 1st step: washing! [/url][/img] 2nd step: polishing [/url] In between: just a thought; new car already quite shiny and glossy. Wonder how's the effect after paint protection. [/url] 3rd step: solvent application. No idea what solvent but still not paint protection yet.[/url] Maybe it's time for me to grab lunch... Will post more to share later! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricChan 5th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 (edited) Excited but also getting bored. Now doing paint protection for my new Qashqai. 4-6hrs... Maybe i should go it show instead of waiting here. But at least there is a comfy place to chill with WiFi, water and aircon. Been thinking long and hard about paint protection. But the birds at my carpark really irritating. Their shower of blessings pushed me to this. Pocket burnt again. 1st step: washing! 2nd step: polishing In between: just a thought; new car already quite shiny and glossy. Wonder how's the effect after paint protection. 3rd step: solvent application. No idea what solvent but still not paint protection yet.[/url] Maybe it's time for me to grab lunch... Will post more to share later! Swee 赞. I am into my 4th month of pps, still outstanding but I never let water fester on the car. Big contrast between my qq and colleague without. Solvent used is IPA (iso proply alcohol) but should be very very rarely used. You just need water regularly, wipe dry , avoid standing water and nothing else. Get the micro fiber cloth from them Edited March 10, 2016 by EricChan 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nav14 6th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Excited but also getting bored. Now doing paint protection for my new Qashqai. 4-6hrs... Maybe i should go it show instead of waiting here. But at least there is a comfy place to chill with WiFi, water and aircon. Been thinking long and hard about paint protection. But the birds at my carpark really irritating. Their shower of blessings pushed me to this. Pocket burnt again. 1st step: washing! [/url][/img] 2nd step: polishing [/url] In between: just a thought; new car already quite shiny and glossy. Wonder how's the effect after paint protection. [/url] 3rd step: solvent application. No idea what solvent but still not paint protection yet.[/url] Maybe it's time for me to grab lunch... Will post more to share later! With paint protection there is no longer any need to quickly wash away bird shit? No more stains from bird shit? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricChan 5th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 With paint protection there is no longer any need to quickly wash away bird shit? No more stains from bird shit?Need to . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mred1-2 4th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 With paint protection there is no longer any need to quickly wash away bird shit? No more stains from bird shit? Not true. According to car care product specialists Autoglym, however, damage actually results from cooling paint lacquer which contracts and hardens around the deposits. The good news is that damage can usually be avoided – but only if owners act fast. The firm's researchers say that when paint lacquer warms – in sunlight, for instance – it softens and expands. At the same time, the heat dries and hardens any bird droppings on the surface. But as the paint lacquer cools again, such as overnight, it contracts, hardens and moulds itself around the texture of the bird dropping. extract from below, full post; http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/news/8495819/The-real-reason-why-bird-droppings-damage-your-car.html 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nav14 6th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Need to . That is what I thought, Based on my experience paint protection is no magic formula. I rather save the money and give the car a new coat of paint after 5 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricChan 5th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 (edited) That is what I thought, Based on my experience paint protection is no magic formula. I rather save the money and give the car a new coat of paint after 5 years.You will get water marks and swirls without pps.with pps you have the warranty against them Edited March 10, 2016 by EricChan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latiorarri 1st Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Hi! Ask a noob question. Can our rims fit 235/55 R17 tyres?? This tyre size seems to be more common le.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnipihz 1st Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Now it's the coating time! Been 3.5hrs since I came here... Ealier 1st coat on entire paintwork. Also coating on the black plastics and the rims. Now 2nd person take over 2nd coating on paintwork. (No idea why: maybe tiring?) Another person start to apply tire shine. Think the bird shit that I need to clean tomorrow will be the acid test to see if this is worth the time and money. The moment I mentioned the "colourful" droppings, the guys here tell me that its a must to clean off asap. No amt of coating protections will help if it's left there for days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linbo 2nd Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Something to ponder.. I have the autoglym resin polish and extra gloss protection (DIY myself) Similar or same as PPR? Seems to me that this is the trend now, most polish company promote this 'protection'and various charges due to package from $350 to over thousand dollars. Me just spent less than 100 to get these 2 products and the related cloth, applicaton tools to apply. No matter how 'fierce' they claim the protection is, some minimum care still needed to care for the paint. As long we do washing at least once a month, should be okie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricChan 5th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Something to ponder.. I have the autoglym resin polish and extra gloss protection (DIY myself) Similar or same as PPR? Seems to me that this is the trend now, most polish company promote this 'protection'and various charges due to package from $350 to over thousand dollars. Me just spent less than 100 to get these 2 products and the related cloth, applicaton tools to apply. No matter how 'fierce' they claim the protection is, some minimum care still needed to care for the paint. As long we do washing at least once a month, should be okie. Not just the coating but more important is the quality of the surface preparation. You also don't have the handtools nor skills to buff them and apply them properly as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CashQai 1st Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 IMO, PPS is no magic coat. It's just to minimize and not to prevent as claimed by many shops.My friend did layers after layers of coating by a well known shop but i can still see swirl marks on his paintwork under the sun just after few washes. Yes i would rather spend on respraying when my paintwork turns bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teycz 2nd Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 You will get water marks and swirls without pps.with pps you have the warranty against them Bro, think with pps also will kena water marks or swirls depending on how you wash or take care of your car. Dont think the pps company has warranty on swirl or water mark. But they can recoat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricChan 5th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Bro, think with pps also will kena water marks or swirls depending on how you wash or take care of your car. Dont think the pps company has warranty on swirl or water mark. But they can recoat. The moment the water beading property is lost I will invoke the warranty. Won't wait until water marks and swirling occurs ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...