ECP fatal accident

Vega

eh... dont look like beer crate lah... tho can't tell also (maybe car battery?) ... driver wrong liao... but if he was drunk... police sure say so imo

I also think it looks like the battery. IIrc, the battery of golf is under the rear seat!

Whoa!!!! You know him?

yeah..was suppose to go fishing with him at maldive last year but i didnt make it...btw his golf very shiok to drive one, donnoe how come can lose control until like that :(

This guy should have slowed down and go behind the video car to exit

But I guess he wanna show his superiority

Initially the cam car was in lane 1. The golf could have done something to alert the cam car that was when the cam car switched to lane 2. Before the golf overtook, the voice in the cam car say "lai liao lai liao" and the gold zoomed past the cam car and cut into his lane!

The golf could have just gone by lane 2 and then filter left to exit by Marine Vista. It did not have to overtake the cam car at all!

Edited by Fitvip

A manual car may have helped prevent this accident in some ways.

It gets the driver engaged in the driving process.

Some claim the deceased driver was driving at an excessive speed, way above the legal limit.

With a manual car, let's say he was on 5th gear (top gear). As one approaches a slip road, you got to downshift to 4th gear which engine brake automatically shows down the car, and then to 3rd gear if it is tight bend.

Unlike in an automatic car whereby it's just the accelerator and brakes. You might not get a realistic feel of the car.

Drive safe. Multiple airbags or traction control may not save lives in a high speed crash.

Imho, at that speed, even if the car is manual, there were simply no time for the driver to down shift twice. No way!

I also think it looks like the battery. IIrc, the battery of golf is under the rear seat!

Under the rear seat how to change battery?

Initially the cam car was in lane 1. The golf could have done something to alert the cam car that was when the cam car switched to lane 2. Before the golf overtook, the voice in the cam car say "lai liao lai liao" and the gold zoomed past the cam car and cut into his lane!

The golf could have just gone by lane 2 and then filter left to exit by Marine Vista. It did not have to overtake the cam car at all!

There's a "long" time between the change of lanes and the Golf coming past...

In the earlier part of the video, the Camera car was "kinda" road hogging - he was in the fast lane, but there is no indication there was anyone behind him.

Given the lapse between switching lanes, and the golf coming past - I'm kinda doubtful he switched because of the golf...

if u hit the brakes hard instead of throttling ard a fast corner, u will lose grip and trailbrake oversteer unintentionally.

Actually i feel all owners of powerful cars should for racetrack training sessions to understand the limits of their car. It helps alot for defensive & highway driving to know how your brakes work under different scenarios

That is why it is important to brake before a corner. Not in the corner.

Now that u mention, based on my print out from 1moto site, its for 4 occupant (only noticed a couple of mths ago).

but theres me & oc in front, 2 kids behind at the position that uses the 3pt seat belt (+ child seat for both) & the centre rear is the maid.

Centre only has lap belt. Total 5.

Does that mean that 1 of us is not insured? [sweatdrop] If so, will it be the maid? [sly]

Driver don't think is considered passengers, so 4 passengers should be still covered.

If you look at the wordings on vans, you'll see 1 driver + 1 passenger.

These few days short sudden rains and whatever the situation, everyone drive safely...

Take care and RIP to the deceased.

Rear boot has a panel which can be opened. Battery is located below.

Oic. Possible to do jump start at that location?

Remove the seat lor! The old beetle's battery is also under the rear seat!

Oic. Possible to do jump start at that location?

I think there's a jump start point in front at the engine side, just like many Merz and BMW.

There's a "long" time between the change of lanes and the Golf coming past...

In the earlier part of the video, the Camera car was "kinda" road hogging - he was in the fast lane, but there is no indication there was anyone behind him.

Given the lapse between switching lanes, and the golf coming past - I'm kinda doubtful he switched because of the golf...

I think something might have transpired as the voice "lai liao lai liao" were heard before the overtaking.

No one who uses ecp regularly will take that exit like that. Madness.

I used to take that exit quite often before I moved further east. The bend can be deceiving if you're trying to negotiate at speed.

After looking at the video and though nobody deserves to die, the dead driver won't get any sympathy from me. The other deceased and the rest of the 4 pax were the innocent victims.

Others were right to say luckily it didn't happen at a busy area with other vehicles and pedestrians.