Honda Vezel

Hsiao

bro, i don't think anyone will pay premium for more premium car for the sake of good sound system, unless oredi considering that range of cars. personally, for B&B range, i'm of the opinion that mz3 sound system is reasonably competent in terms of clarity, staging and balance. even mpv like mz5 n wish cmi (mayb not the wish in japan w 10 spkr option).

wan better (or supposedly better) sound, go the ICE route. but be warned that it'll b hassle to demod when one's gonna sell ride, unless sell together.

I won't comment on Mz3's speaker system since that time i tested briefly (less than five minutes) with the radio. So far seems to be a lot of complaints about its radio reception.

Frankly though in axela72's price range the Forester XT that they were considering has one of the stronger audio systems for the money.

Really depends on individual I guess. Some cannot live without good sound system in car because they maybe don't care so much about car things in a car, just want some good music to alleviate the journey. Some models in the B&B tier have surprisingly good system too... for others, having good speakers is simply icing on the cake.

I won't comment on Mz3's speaker system since that time i tested briefly (less than five minutes) with the radio. So far seems to be a lot of complaints about its radio reception.

Frankly though in axela72's price range the Forester XT that they were considering has one of the stronger audio systems for the money.

Really depends on individual I guess. Some cannot live without good sound system in car because they maybe don't care so much about car things in a car, just want some good music to alleviate the journey. Some models in the B&B tier have surprisingly good system too... for others, having good speakers is simply icing on the cake.

radio excepted; i tried w mp3 & cd on ex-colleague mz3. XT sound system very competent imho. volvo v40 too cramped (can't enjoy good sound when trying 2b comfortably seated) at xt price.

u know of other B&B rides that oredi came w good sound system?

i only know kia, vw, hyundai - usually mid range above ones.

radio excepted; i tried w mp3 & cd on ex-colleague mz3. XT sound system very competent imho. volvo v40 too cramped (can't enjoy good sound when trying 2b comfortably seated) at xt price.

u know of other B&B rides that oredi came w good sound system?

i only know kia, vw, hyundai - usually mid range above ones.

Ya. KIA and Hyundai are known for engineering their own no-brand systems which are surprisingly good. In the sub 120k range, as I mention, I was satisfied with the Peugeot 308's. Six speakers with reasonable presentation. Not really sure what else since I haven't really tested a lot of cars' speakers.

I feel that I can still live with the 6 speaker sound systems from the test drive HRV. I didn't know that their basis model come with only 4 speaker. Not to mention what kind of sound systems provided by the PI.

I only made use of the steering wheel to control the sound and selection of music, other buttons on the steering wheel is redundant to me. If this not able to do so, this is kind of suck :(

No only that, Vezel got no steering buttons to control the sound system cos it's not factory fitted.

HRV better cos sound system is factory fitted and got buttons on steering. But the sound quality is "-_-.

I think he can decide how good is the quality himself ba

I feel that I can still live with the 6 speaker sound systems from the test drive HRV. I didn't know that their basis model come with only 4 speaker until I read their spec. Not to mention what kind of sound systems provided by the PI.

I only made use of the steering wheel to control the sound and selection of music, other buttons on the steering wheel is redundant to me. If this not able to do so, this is kind of suck :(

No only that, Vezel got no steering buttons to control the sound system cos it's not factory fitted.

HRV better cos sound system is factory fitted and got buttons on steering. But the sound quality is "-_-.

I think he can decide how good is the quality himself ba

Just collected my silver Vezel. Comes factory fitted with steering audio control buttons. I was told the steering audio control now comes as a standard item

Edited by Yamapi

Just collected my silver Vezel. Comes factory fitted with steering audio control buttons. I was told the steering audio control now comes as a standard item

Also depends on PI whether the HU they give is compatible with the buttons or not.

It's not 100% from wat I know.

poh heng sway your PI give,,,

If a Mazda6 2L can get at 116k, will you get a Vezel or Mazda 6? Why? Ty

If I choose, It's M6. But it's my taste. Bigger, more powerful, more chio, not draggy CVT, more luxurious inside. The sound also better.

The HRV and Vezel is just a taller Jazz, more for first time buyers,

I testdrive the HRV, feel less power than my current Avante, material also so so..

now car already cao cao, above 100k of course buy the better one.

But Mazda 6 got 116k so cheap meh??

Edited by Cantina

the list price is 130k. read from some post there is 10k discount for those 30 units that used to ferry those tennis player. so mean 120k. trade in car get another additional 3k + 1k for current mazda owner loh

I'm surprised! Mazda6 is now selling at 116K?!

The HRV and Vezel is just a taller Jazz, more for first time buyers,

I testdrive the HRV, feel less power than my current Avante, material also so so..

now car already cao cao, above 100k of course buy the better one.

But Mazda 6 got 116k so cheap meh??

If Vezel/HRV is for 1st time buyer, does that mean Qashqai is also under the same category?

What?! They dropped price until like that ah!!

I was offered a $10K discount for the Mazda6 event (WTA) car which was selling at $142,888 in Sept 2015. The SE quoted me $132,888 after discount and assured a below 2,000KM mileage and delivery of the car before end of Nov 2015.

And now it's $116K?

Ya. KIA and Hyundai are known for engineering their own no-brand systems which are surprisingly good. In the sub 120k range, as I mention, I was satisfied with the Peugeot 308's. Six speakers with reasonable presentation. Not really sure what else since I haven't really tested a lot of cars' speakers.

really gotta hand in to the koreans. the frequency sensitivity kinda exceeded my prev amp-ed setup with some musical / synthesizing instrument that may only be heard at a louder volume setting in the latter. twas then i thot i should try to leave sound system alone if i get another new ride.

just came to my mind another 2 makes - suzuki also have decent sound (from s-cross), &. nissan sylphy sig series prev has pioneer spkr n act subwoofer as part of sig package.

err, my calculation is based on current 130k list price. Probably during your time, the list price might be 142k bah. Nevertheless, good lobang wont last. All car have been taken up [laugh]

What?! They dropped price until like that ah!!

I was offered a $10K discount for the Mazda6 event (WTA) car which was selling at $142,888 in Sept 2015. The SE quoted me $132,888 after discount and assured a below 2,000KM mileage and delivery of the car before end of Nov 2015.

And now it's $116K?

I believe most PI will include a certain head unit (i think many are offering Pioneer 8750 or similar) with the purchase price, but Vezel usually have 4 speaker for lower trim or maybe 6 speakers on the higher trims. Usually the PI is supposed to have the head unit installed for you before you collect your car from them. In its own way, PI car are also better for audio-freaks as the aftermarket head unit means it is easier for a workshop to do custom audio.

Vezel has a CEVS advantage due to PI being allowed to declare lower emissions level or something like that (I think it's some LTA rule), so yes, Vezel has a lower ARF and thus lower PARF rebate. But Vezel however also have generally lower OMV of about 5~6k less (don't ask me how, since Vezel is clearly the better equipped car...), so combined with higher CEVS, its ARF and PARF are really much lower than HR-V.

But Vezels are also being offered at a much lower price than HR-V, so do your math and consider it if you want to.

But if good factory sound system is seriously such a priority for you, best look elsewhere. I think I have suggested Peugeot 308SW to you before? I find that car's sound quality appreciably good, even if it is not very high tier.

Ford Mondeo 1.5L also has the same 9.0 speakers Sony sound system as the 2.0L. I am personally dissatisfied with its treble and the mid-range is a little dull imho, but it is still a good system in its price class. But Mondeo I suppose is not in your intended price range or body class.

Maybe you could look at Volvo V4 cross-country. I have heard good things about Volvo's sound systems. But Volvo is also in the premium price range.

Thats true, Especially for Jap car, better to have custom head unit, easy to replace and upgrade.

My car has a Bose sound system which is very good, but i listen to Radio and the same 7 cds over and over again, hahah....

err, my calculation is based on current 130k list price. Probably during your time, the list price might be 142k bah. Nevertheless, good lobang wont last. All car have been taken up [laugh]

Axela72, u very funny leh. If you knew all such cars have been sold then why still ask a quesfion: 'If a Mazda6 2L can get at 116k, will you get a Vezel or Mazda 6? Why? Ty'

no point to ask since the cars already sold mah. Ask for fun meh. Not practical anymore mah. Have you decided on a car? I remembered you have been looking around for months?