Property in Johor

nazerath

On 11/1/2023 at 9:05 AM, Spidey10 said:

kids stay here coz they "might" be working here...that's the 1st assumption...Since my HDB is paid off, they might as well stay here and we can use it as a 2nd home when we come back..

Just need a small place for wifey and me in JB, nothing fancy....as we might just stay for a few mths in JB and a few month in SG and a few mths somewhere else...:grin:

My only hope is that I am still able to travel like this when I reach that age...ahhhhhhahahah

Yeah, me and wife also thinking of that.

Travel to nearby countries while still can before medical issues become too much of a problem.

On 10/31/2023 at 5:54 PM, Windwaver said:

Yeah.

I keep seeing people say retirement home from other forums but we need medical facilities during our retirement years isn't it.

A friend of mine is already doing that. He stays in a HDB but bought a 3 storey house just 15 mins drive from Tuas Checkpoint.

On 11/1/2023 at 11:53 AM, Davidklt said:

A friend of mine is already doing that. He stays in a HDB but bought a 3 storey house just 15 mins drive from Tuas Checkpoint.

A lot of ppl never think about an exit plan especially it is a cross-border inheritance.

This thread suddenly came alive and I suddenly feel like going JB.

So yesterday 2pm went in, eat, eat, eat, shop, shop, shop.....then after dinner came back to SG

I think next time when RTS is ready, people who has time or on leave will do the same....just go in during non-peak hours, makan, shop and come back after dinner.

Edited by Starry

On 11/1/2023 at 1:14 PM, Starry said:

I think next time when RTS is ready, people who has time or on leave will do the same....just go in during non-peak hours, makan, shop and come back after dinner.

macam HKee go SZ ... eat, shop and "massage" ... :grin:

On 10/30/2023 at 11:09 PM, Starry said:

Yes, the close proximity between JB and SG is a big big advantage, not replaceable by any other location around the world.

Absolutely right.

So near and prices so different!

SG so ex to retire JB is the best option for wifey and me.

JB also has an international airport to BKK and HCM and can always use Changi for other destination.

Anything can just drive in 24 hours a day if need to see kids.

On 10/31/2023 at 7:13 PM, Ct3833 said:

Retire in JB, come back queue up in public hospital when sick, best of both of both world.😅

I thought KBW say send Ah gong to JB home, then mati and cremate there also. 🤣

then the big Ah gong here can also save money on building more crematoriums here too! 

Edited by Mkl22
  • Sad 1

On 11/1/2023 at 3:24 PM, Jamesc said:

Absolutely right.

So near and prices so different!

SG so ex to retire JB is the best option for wifey and me.

JB also has an international airport to BKK and HCM and can always use Changi for other destination.

Anything can just drive in 24 hours a day if need to see kids.

Yes, and if kids misses mama cooking, can drop by after work to eat, eat.....hahahhah

Hope his 3-storey hosue has a built-in lift. Otherwise, all the best to him to climb the staircase as he ages.

On 11/2/2023 at 9:27 AM, Flying_genie said:

Hope his 3-storey hosue has a built-in lift. Otherwise, all the best to him to climb the staircase as he ages.

Just only use the lowest level lo

To achieve his dream of staying in a landed? 😂

As weekend home, it is more chore than anything else.  

On another note, I saw my friend getting some prescription medication from the pharmacies there. Its significantly cheaper.

One example : Guardian in Singapore $22, Alpro in Malaysia RM10. I was shocked at the discrepancy for the same type of medication.

On 11/2/2023 at 12:10 PM, Voodooman said:

To achieve his dream of staying in a landed? 😂

As weekend home, it is more chore than anything else.  

Big family for him la. Need breathing and running space for them. 4 kids and 2 helpers. And sometimes, mother in law.

Edited by Davidklt

On 11/2/2023 at 12:22 PM, Davidklt said:

Big family for him la. Need breathing and running space for them. 4 kids and 2 helpers. And sometimes, mother in law.

Wah. The kids are studying in Singapore or International school in Iskandar? Genuinely curious to know how this works for some families.

Edited by Voodooman

On 11/2/2023 at 12:20 PM, Davidklt said:

On another note, I saw my friend getting some prescription medication from the pharmacies there. Its significantly cheaper.

One example : Guardian in Singapore $22, Alpro in Malaysia RM10. I was shocked at the discrepancy for the same type of medication.

Yes, for many years already. 

Have a friend who stays in a 4-room HDB with wife and 4 daughters. He bought a big 2-storey bungalow in JB, so proud of it and boasts to everybody about his huge weekend home.
For the first 2 months, the family dutifully travelled across to stay the weekend. Before staying, need to clean the house, clean the yard and weed the garden. Before leaving the house, need to clear the perishables, tidy up, lock up.
Then, the trips to JB became once a month. Last I spoke to him, he hadn't been there in 4 months. It is simply too much of a chore and hassle. 
🤣

On 11/2/2023 at 3:10 PM, Volvobrick said:

Yes, for many years already. 

MY don't even need prescription for many type of medicine, including Cialis... 😂

On 11/2/2023 at 3:04 PM, Voodooman said:

Wah. The kids are studying in Singapore or International school in Iskandar? Genuinely curious to know how this works for some families.

Study in Singapore. With 8 person in a 5 room HDB, it’s just too small la.