BBDC/Cyclist incident: 'Just overtake la! So easy!'

Eighttales

Cyclists not only pose a HUGE risk for themselves, but also a safety hazard for other road users as well.

Enough said.

?????

Other road users do not pose a risk?

Who is more of a risk to a cyclist? Another cyclist or a car? by that logic, let's ban all cars [:p][:p]

Fair enough - it doesn't revolve around me - but neither does it revolve around you.

I will go as fast as I reasonably can, and impede you as little as I can, and in return - please don't "buzz" me, buang me, or horn at me from behind unless there is a pressing safety need (and no - wanting me to go faster isn't a safety need sorry)

And let me ask you - once I know that "you're there" - what happens next? What do you want the cyclist to do? If the cyclist is already keeping in their leftmost lane of traffic - where else do you expect them to go?

Do nothing, but just be mindful a car is about to overtake you and turn left further ahead. That was my intent, get it?

If you are turning left "further ahead" - there is no need to honk at him in the first place.

The horn is supposed to be used in dire circumstances as a warning device

Why do you need to warn the cyclist that you are coming past then? What is the benefit to the cyclist?

And please don't tell me he needs to be warned you are there - he doesn't - UNLESS he is weaving all over the road or something similar.

Honking at the cyclist serves no discernable purpose - UNLESS there is some action you want him to take. At the same time - it can have a negative effect - so why do it?

If you are turning left "further ahead" - there is no need to honk at him in the first place.

The horn is supposed to be used in dire circumstances as a warning device

Why do you need to warn the cyclist that you are coming past then? What is the benefit to the cyclist?

And please don't tell me he needs to be warned you are there - he doesn't - UNLESS he is weaving all over the road or something similar.

Honking at the cyclist serves no discernable purpose - UNLESS there is some action you want him to take. At the same time - it can have a negative effect - so why do it?

i horn at cyclist when i over take him, reason, very simple. i scare he any how cut into the middle like this pinky, i over run him he die hi s problem, but i dun want get into trouble,,,

he dun like my horn , not my issue, tell that to tp , if i am not allow to horn. but at least he know i am overtaking, and i prevent myself running over him.

i horn at cyclist when i over take him, reason, very simple. i scare he any how cut into the middle like this pinky, i over run him he die hi s problem, but i dun want get into trouble,,,

he dun like my horn , not my issue, tell that to tp , if i am not allow to horn. but at least he know i am overtaking, and i prevent myself running over him.

Where did the pinky cut into the middle? For the entire video he was in the left lane.

You have got three regular cyclists here all telling you variations on "horning" at a cyclist is unneccessary, can be seen as intimidating, is aggravating and in some situations can be dangerous.

Why aren't you listening?

Where did the pinky cut into the middle? For the entire video he was in the left lane.

You have got three regular cyclists here all telling you variations on "horning" at a cyclist is unneccessary, can be seen as intimidating, is aggravating and in some situations can be dangerous.

we have here several drivers telling you that not all honks is aggressive, why aren't you guys listening too?

No - we are listening - and it has been acknowledged that not all honks are aggressive

But by saying NOT ALL you are already acknowledging that some proportion of honks ARE aggressive.

And again - even if the honks aren't aggressive - WHAT CAN THEY ACHIEVE? So far - there is no coherent explanation for this.

Of the three here that do cycle regularly - NONE of us think that a "honk" has any benefit for us. We don't, of course, represent all cyclists in Singapore - but it is not a bad sample as far as this message board goes.

Really - If I hear a honk I am not going to going cringing in fear - neither am I going to go postal - but my immediate reaction, every single time will be "what is wrong"? What does that guy want from me?

If you are simply trying to "announce your presence", and nothing else, I can assure you - it is of no benefit to me - and the process of honking has the potential to cause harm

Signal switches and horns are there for a purpose.

u didnt see the cyclist cut into the middle of the road? its the left lane, but right into the middle of the left lane is still the middle of the road.

he know got car he still cut in simply bo chap for his own life and other road user. if i dun horn him and i over take at 70 km, and last min he decided ' i am going to ride in the middle of left lane' HOW??

i alway tell in my best hokkien want to die go jump from building, dun sabo ppl.

he might dun like my horn and give me fuk up stare baba, but i give back my simple bo chap face and horn all the same.

objective is achive, cyclist know my car is coming fast. and i over take safety without running over him,

he might not like it, he can go install a horn and horn all he want i dun care, but i avoid a potensial accident in my view

( sorry for bad english)

To me, honk means buai chai driver.

I will move to the centre of the lane.

Tell us no use. Go to cycling forum & tell roadies. I don't ride roadies.

U have been warned. Don't come back to MCF & KPKB about some leotard smash your windows.

No - we are listening - and it has been acknowledged that not all honks are aggressive

But by saying NOT ALL you are already acknowledging that some proportion of honks ARE aggressive.

And again - even if the honks aren't aggressive - WHAT CAN THEY ACHIEVE? So far - there is no coherent explanation for this.

Of the three here that do cycle regularly - NONE of us think that a "honk" has any benefit for us. We don't, of course, represent all cyclists in Singapore - but it is not a bad sample as far as this message board goes.

Really - If I hear a honk I am not going to going cringing in fear - neither am I going to go postal - but my immediate reaction, every single time will be "what is wrong"? What does that guy want from me?

If you are simply trying to "announce your presence", and nothing else, I can assure you - it is of no benefit to me - and the process of honking has the potential to cause harm

since the honks is not there for a purpose, maybe we should just disable it. So everyone happy.

To me, honk means buai chai driver.

I will move to the centre of the lane.

Tell us no use. Go to cycling forum & tell roadies. I don't ride roadies.

U have been warned. Don't come back to MCF & KPKB about some leotard smash your windows.

give me the link to the cycling forum lor.

i can post the address where my car is parked.

if kanna smash , at most i repair but it go to show what kind of people are those wannabe leotards is.

Singapore roads are too congested to cater to road cyclists, especially those cycling in groups.

I can never understand why some of these cyclists (many of them are drivers too) suddenly become stupid once they put on leotards and start to challenge trucks/cars to prove their manhood. In any accident, they will be at the losing end, even if the driver is in the worng and gets jailed/fined.

Maybe it is Nature's way to improve the human gene pool.

i DO honk cyclists if i am going to use a filter road. it is the only RIGHT thing to do because it's to WARN them that I'm turning and likely going to turn left ahead of them because.. why? the car IS a much much faster moving vehicle. if you actually feel OFFENDED that a driver does that then you should just bloody hell ride a motorbike instead.

of course i do NOT honk like in the video, but I do tap my horn and given my horn is loud, some cyclists find it offensive. i also do NOT cut in too near. I will honk in advance of the filter lane.

don't be a self rightgeous idiot. my time is as precious as yours. your life is as precious as mine. if i respect your life, you respect my time, the world will be a better place.

I also don't like drivers to cut infront of me to turn left. So I normally move further out to the middle of the left lane when approaching these kind of slip roads so the drivers do not need to honk. It does help cuz most drivers then realise that they are able to just follow behind and still turn left.

since the honks is not there for a purpose, maybe we should just disable it. So everyone happy.

if kanna smash , at most i repair but it go to show what kind of people are those wannabe leotards is.

u see wat is happening, now egolist leopat is threatening road rage to driver who obey traffic rules, and horn to warn of danger.

they make their own set of traffic rules from what driver learn at driving centre. LMAO

Singapore roads are too congested to cater to road cyclists, especially those cycling in groups.

I can never understand why some of these cyclists (many of them are drivers too) suddenly become stupid once they put on leotards and start to challenge trucks/cars to prove their manhood. In any accident, they will be at the losing end, even if the driver is in the worng and gets jailed/fined.

Maybe it is Nature's way to improve the human gene pool.

hmmmm......maybe genital acne has got something to do wif it. [lipsrsealed]

"Genital acne, also known as hidradenitis suppurativa and acne inversa, is a condition that results from clogging in the apocrine glands around the groin area. Excessive heat and sweating in the groin area can leave oil, dead skin and bacteria on the skin that then blocks the apocrine glands, forming acne."

http://www.livestrong.com/article/184587-genital-acne/

Edited by Soya

Sigh....

Nobody say horn not there for a purpose

this one refers to tunnels

General restrictions in road tunnels and expressway tunnels
13. Except as otherwise directed or signalled by a police officer or conforming to any traffic sign, no person shall in any road tunnel or expressway tunnel —
(a)
stop any vehicle or permit it to remain at rest except when —
(i)
lawfully required to do so;
(ii)
compelled to do so by reason of accident, breakdown or emergency;
(b)
enter therein on foot;
(c)
alight from a vehicle except in an emergency or to summon assistance;
(d)
use the horn, siren, whistle or any other noise making device except in an emergency;
(e)
make any U-turn or reverse a vehicle;
(f)
change a tyre or wheel;
(g)
refuel or repair a vehicle; or
(h)
propel a vehicle by pushing it, whether manually or by other means
and from an "ask the police" site

A horn should only be used when warning someone of danger, not to indicate your annoyance at a manner of driving.

A horn should not be sounded when stationary on a road at anytime, other than at times of danger due to another vehicle on or near the road.

So - do you think you are a danger when you are behind a bike? If you think you are - perhaps you should go back to driving school

u see wat is happening, now egolist leopat is threatening road rage to driver who obey traffic rules, and horn to warn of danger.

they make their own set of traffic rules from what driver learn at driving centre. LMAO

Cite for me please, from Singapore statutes, where it says that a left turning driving should sound his horn.

I dunno if its different now. But when I was learning at BBDC about 6 years ago, the instructors told me the horn is to warn people of danger to prevent an accident. So when I am cycling and I hear the car behind me honk, I assume that he knows it is dangerous for him to overtake me at this point of time thats why he is honking to warn me so I'll move further out to ensure he has to wait till its safe to overtake before he does so.

If it is safe for him to overtake with the 1.5m gap from the cyclist then I don't see why he need to honk at all.

Edited by Nzy