Enye Hypersonic June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 Then all I can say is if you are the kind of driver who don't want it, turn it off For most cars, the button will be illuminated if it is activated, I think. I experienced the feature in the Golf, it's more useful as a hill-hold assist, but frankly I don't care much for the feature since I've gotten used to holding my brakes down at the lights. Yes I turned it off after using it for an initial period of ownership. For hill hold I would rather consciously use the parking brake than to risk running my car up the kerb or into the wall during parking I have to admit it's quite a convenient feature when driving until parking time when it is a nuisance and a safety hazard. 😂 For autohold, it will be activated when the car is stopped with slight incline or decline for a few second only. It will be deactivated automatically or through throttle input. How to get confuse? Unless it is designed with a switch which is driver problem. I don't know about your car's auto hold feature but for mine, it will remain stationary until there is throttle input, incline or not. Doesn't deactivate after a few secs only. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 bro my test drive experience, you only need to turn on the hold function when you first start the car. at the traffic light, once you step on the gas, the hold function and disengage. I did not really observed but I did not feel any unusual when doing reversal. I presume he's saying that because it stops the car from creeping which is what you should be doing when parking. But generally auto-hold is activated by a button so it's easy to disable quickly... and I think it only works in forward gear, but I'm not sure. that is what I experience in the short drive also but cant remember if there is a slight incline/decline. actually at that time, I kind of like don't quite trust that it will work. to used to hold on to the brake. haha For autohold, it will be activated when the car is stopped with slight incline or decline for a few second only. It will be deactivated automatically or through throttle input. How to get confuse? Unless it is designed with a switch which is driver problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 11, 2015 Share June 11, 2015 Yes I turned it off after using it for an initial period of ownership. For hill hold I would rather consciously use the parking brake than to risk running my car up the kerb or into the wall during parking I have to admit it's quite a convenient feature when driving until parking time when it is a nuisance and a safety hazard. 😂 I don't know about your car's auto hold feature but for mine, it will remain stationary until there is throttle input, incline or not. Doesn't deactivate after a few secs only. If it is based on throttle input, how to get confused? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 11, 2015 Share June 11, 2015 If it is based on throttle input, how to get confused? i don't know what you are trying to drive at(pun intended) but i will try to clarify if i activate auto hold for normal driving and deactivate it for parking, i might get confused and forget whether it is activated or not. so I would prefer it to be either permanently activated or deactivated and not switch from 1 mode to another. i chose to not use this feature totally because i find it a potential safety hazard when parking the car. when the car is stationary, i need to give a little throttle input to get the car moving first and then quickly switch to brake pedal to control the speed of the vehicle. if I get distracted during parking for whatever reasons, i might forget to switch my foot from the throttle to the brake pedal and therefore instead of stopping the car, i might give more throttle input and run my car up the kerb or into a wall or another car. this is esp so for current turbo vehicles where max torque comes in @ low revs, however if the car creeps forward or backward with a slight release of the brake pedal, my foot is constantly on the brake pedal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 11, 2015 Share June 11, 2015 i don't know what you are trying to drive at(pun intended) but i will try to clarify if i activate auto hold for normal driving and deactivate it for parking, i might get confused and forget whether it is activated or not. so I would prefer it to be either permanently activated or deactivated and not switch from 1 mode to another. i chose to not use this feature totally because i find it a potential safety hazard when parking the car. when the car is stationary, i need to give a little throttle input to get the car moving first and then quickly switch to brake pedal to control the speed of the vehicle. if I get distracted during parking for whatever reasons, i might forget to switch my foot from the throttle to the brake pedal and therefore instead of stopping the car, i might give more throttle input and run my car up the kerb or into a wall or another car. this is esp so for current turbo vehicles where max torque comes in @ low revs, however if the car creeps forward or backward with a slight release of the brake pedal, my foot is constantly on the brake pedal For my car, i have no switch to off this feature entirely. It will be enable as & when there is incline. I have no problem parking in incline. In fact, i am still driving like as if there is no autohold, i.e. foot & hand brake if required. Unless is chiobu, i will not get distracted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 11, 2015 Share June 11, 2015 (edited) For my car, i have no switch to off this feature entirely. It will be enable as & when there is incline. I have no problem parking in incline. In fact, i am still driving like as if there is no autohold, i.e. foot & hand brake if required. Unless is chiobu, i will not get distracted. yours sounds like hill hold feature does it creep on level ground, say at traffic lights when brake is released? you lucky only got chiobu distract you i have 3 screaming kids and 1 bellowing wife Edited June 11, 2015 by Enye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged June 11, 2015 Share June 11, 2015 For my car, i have no switch to off this feature entirely. It will be enable as & when there is incline. I have no problem parking in incline. In fact, i am still driving like as if there is no autohold, i.e. foot & hand brake if required. Unless is chiobu, i will not get distracted. This one is a "hill-start assist" or "hill-hold" feature, it is not "auto-hold". Auto-Hold will hold the car still automatically by engaging parking brake when you come to a complete stop and release the brakes. Hill-Assist features will only perform this action when the car detects it is going to or is starting to roll backwards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leowizardee Neutral Newbie June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 Dear brothers I have test driven NX 200t, and really liked it. Am considering this as a purchase, but the only unknown is FC. Salesperson told me is above 10km/l, but I am not sure as it could sales talk. As Lexus turbo engine is untested, would any brothers that have bought the care care to share their own FC? Thanks Leo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 Its Sept delivery if you order now. But good thing is you can ask for any colour you like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 Dear brothers I have test driven NX 200t, and really liked it. Am considering this as a purchase, but the only unknown is FC. Salesperson told me is above 10km/l, but I am not sure as it could sales talk. As Lexus turbo engine is untested, would any brothers that have bought the care care to share their own FC? Thanks Leo You are looking at which spec - classic, exec, lux or fsport? The lowest end one is 2wd which is lighter and more fuel efficient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 Just look at the specs sheet, discount 30% and you're there in reality. Anything better when you've collected your ride is a bonus. Dear brothers I have test driven NX 200t, and really liked it. Am considering this as a purchase, but the only unknown is FC. Salesperson told me is above 10km/l, but I am not sure as it could sales talk. As Lexus turbo engine is untested, would any brothers that have bought the care care to share their own FC? Thanks Leo 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
peacenowar 1st Gear June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 Dear brothers I have test driven NX 200t, and really liked it. Am considering this as a purchase, but the only unknown is FC. Salesperson told me is above 10km/l, but I am not sure as it could sales talk. As Lexus turbo engine is untested, would any brothers that have bought the care care to share their own FC? Thanks Leo If Fc is your concern why not choose hybrid? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 If Fc is your concern why not choose hybrid? Lexus hybrids always quote high efficiency but their real-world fuel efficiency seems to be like 50% worse than claimed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 Dear brothers I have test driven NX 200t, and really liked it. Am considering this as a purchase, but the only unknown is FC. Salesperson told me is above 10km/l, but I am not sure as it could sales talk. As Lexus turbo engine is untested, would any brothers that have bought the care care to share their own FC? Thanks Leo If worry about FC, better get B.M.W. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 I have test driven NX 200t, and really liked it. Am considering this as a purchase, but the only unknown is FC. Salesperson told me is above 10km/l, but I am not sure as it could sales talk. Leo You have a budget of S$2xxk... FC should be last on mind. My cheeky friend driving his $20k Nissan sunny grumbling abt FC. Can understand..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 If worry about FC, better get B.M.W. Or how about an Audi 1.4TFSi! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Docomospur 3rd Gear June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 Lexus hybrids always quote high efficiency but their real-world fuel efficiency seems to be like 50% worse than claimed... I've got an IS 300h and my FC is 18 km/l, with about 60-65% highway driving on normal mode. Not too bad against paper FC of 20 km/l, but driving pattern certainly plays a big part. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ttl1976 5th Gear June 13, 2015 Share June 13, 2015 I always amazed by pple asking the FC when they are driving a car thats in the 200+k region. Anyway, i OT liao.... sorry for that. Cheers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...