Van 1st Gear July 21, 2014 Author Share July 21, 2014 Don't have android so can't comment but Apple has a few ways. http://www.edudemic.com/the-4-easiest-ways-to-mirror-the-ipad-comparison-chart/ Just read the article, seems like need to get another device for Ipad - apple tv , then use airplay ipad - get apple tv can already. den just enable "airplay" function and can mirror on tv android - sorry no idea. get the cable for ur device to hdmi port of tv? ok got it will search for android apps ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 21, 2014 Share July 21, 2014 tks... i was also thinking of getting samsung TVs, but it didn't have smart TV at 32", when I was moving house so i had to get LG instead… sigh… can't get the best of both worlds... router has USB?? I don't think mine (Aztech modem and the other China boh-brand gadget) has USB... I use phone to look for movie more than the PC leh… where do you normally go to look for movies? The USB is for you to access the external harddrive. There's one more usbport which is the 3.0 Nowadays routers are more high tech. That's why I dump the SH one. You can remote access your external harddrive anywhere that has internet connection. You can watch the movie you have downloaded even if you are overseas. You dun have to carry your external drive around. Look for movies? Where else? "Ahem" file sharing sources. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 21, 2014 Share July 21, 2014 streaming and mirroring is different, screaming some smart tv can do, but i you want mirroring, i think you need to get and android box or apple tv for the two different system. Android box has apps for Apple device but it won't be so smooth and set up will not be straight forward compare to Apple TV. So which are the not-so-smart TVs that cannot do screaming? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 21, 2014 Share July 21, 2014 (edited) So which are the not-so-smart TVs that cannot do screaming? i mean direct streaming without using the media box lah. Edited July 21, 2014 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged July 21, 2014 Share July 21, 2014 i think your tv needs to be DLNA cmpliant. i used my xperia Z and mirrored to my LG TV successfully. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishbowl 2nd Gear July 23, 2014 Share July 23, 2014 Hi, this is my setup. I dun hv smart tv so I bot a wifi display receiver n plug it to my tv hdmi port. Download app Wifi Display (Miracast) Helper from Play Store. Turn on TV, select the HDMI port that the receiver is plug into. Open app and it will scan for the receiver device. Select the device and it will connect. Your TV should mirror what is display on your phone. Note, if your phone already have screen mirroring function, then you do not need to download the Miracast app. Hope this helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JamesBondbond Neutral Newbie July 23, 2014 Share July 23, 2014 WHat is screen mirroring? LoL... Or do you mean streaming contents like pics, movies, music from smartphone/tablet to TV? You have to connect your smart TV to your router either using LAN cable or using wireless. I connect my smart TV to the router using LAN cable. Connection is more stable compared to wireless via dongle. Dan connect your smartphone/tablet via wi-fi to the same wireless router. Download the suitable app and connect. If you dun have a smart tv dan get an android box or apple tv to connect to your tv. 1) Screen Mirroring is to project your device screen to the TV either wirelessly or wired without using a LAN. This is different from content screaming which uses DLNA technology which requires a home LAN. 2) Wired version are done by using MHL(most Android smartphone) or Slimport(LG and Nexus Android) technology. For older smart TV that doesn't have MHL built-in to the TV, you can purchase an MHL adaptor(about $20). Newer model of TV starts to built-in MHL function which only required a HDMI-MicroUSB cable to mirror the mobile device to TV. Slimport still requires a adaptor as most smart TV are not using slimport as mirroring standard. 3) Wireless mirroring uses WIFi-Direct technology which uses Peer-to-Peer method for connection. The current standard adopted is called Miracast. This is similar to Bluetooth technology which connect 2 devices together directly without the need for a LAN. In this case, your mobile device does not need to connect to your home network to mirror your device screen to the TV. 4) To use wireless mirroring for your mobile device to your smart TV, both device must have Miracast function turned on. On the Samsung TV, the input source is called Screen Mirroring and you need to select this source. On the mobile device, you need to turn on the Miracast function and it will scan for available Smart TV and present a list of TV which it detected with Miracst turned on. Then choose your TV to connect from the presented list. Above method is for Android device and I am not clear how Apple devices do it. You need to find out whether both your devices support screen mirroring or Miracast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holdenutessv Turbocharged July 23, 2014 Share July 23, 2014 (edited) If it's just streaming stuff from phone to TV, then just go download the app for your phone. (I use BubbleUPNP for android) You just need a DLNA capable TV/Smart TV and connect them into the same wifi. Tried before and I can't get my screen mirroring to work using Miracast... Highly likely that it's just my phone's problem. Edited July 23, 2014 by Holdenutessv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged July 23, 2014 Share July 23, 2014 I mirror wirelessly over wifi. Auto-detect cos tv/tablet/phone all from samseng. Maybe later I go home and try my sony experia see how. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 30 Share June 30 Tapping on this.... Anyone used a touchscreen display that can mirror your phone ? And when you press the display screen, it registers with the phone to execute the command? Recently I have been tasked to upload alot of pictures sent to me via WhatsApp, and then upload the photos to an checklist app. Every time I finish uploading the photos using my phone, my eyes already blurred. So I am thinking of a device that can mirror my phone and at the same time "act" as the phone so I don't need to keep squinting my eyes for a few hours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic June 30 Share June 30 (edited) On 6/30/2026 at 2:50 PM, Ysc3 said: Tapping on this.... Anyone used a touchscreen display that can mirror your phone ? And when you press the display screen, it registers with the phone to execute the command? Recently I have been tasked to upload alot of pictures sent to me via WhatsApp, and then upload the photos to an checklist app. Every time I finish uploading the photos using my phone, my eyes already blurred. So I am thinking of a device that can mirror my phone and at the same time "act" as the phone so I don't need to keep squinting my eyes for a few hours. Sure is a very inefficient way to do things. Why not put the photos in a shared folder in the first place and select all to upload to the second app? Or just tell the joker to upload directly himself/herself rather than go through you via WhatsApp! Edited June 30 by Volvobrick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 30 Share June 30 @Volvobrick a few ppl uploading their pics to a group chat and I am supposed to collate and group the photos and then upload to an app , one set by one set, 4 times every set. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic June 30 Share June 30 On 6/30/2026 at 2:50 PM, Ysc3 said: Tapping on this.... Anyone used a touchscreen display that can mirror your phone ? And when you press the display screen, it registers with the phone to execute the command? Recently I have been tasked to upload alot of pictures sent to me via WhatsApp, and then upload the photos to an checklist app. Every time I finish uploading the photos using my phone, my eyes already blurred. So I am thinking of a device that can mirror my phone and at the same time "act" as the phone so I don't need to keep squinting my eyes for a few hours. How about wats app on your computer, then just screen shot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic June 30 Share June 30 e pix send 2 u using whatsapp? Install whatsapp desktop edition onto ur pc, then dl e pix into ur pc. Win hav a app to link n mirror ur hp (iirc is 'phone link') Alt is 'airdroid' app 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 30 Share June 30 @zipping thank you very much for this .... I was looking for something like this initially also but can't find it so opted for the touch screen. I just tried it and it seems to be working but abit slow only ... I will just tweak it abit and see if I can really use it. Thanks again !! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghgan 6th Gear June 30 Share June 30 On 6/30/2026 at 2:50 PM, Ysc3 said: Tapping on this.... Anyone used a touchscreen display that can mirror your phone ? And when you press the display screen, it registers with the phone to execute the command? Recently I have been tasked to upload alot of pictures sent to me via WhatsApp, and then upload the photos to an checklist app. Every time I finish uploading the photos using my phone, my eyes already blurred. So I am thinking of a device that can mirror my phone and at the same time "act" as the phone so I don't need to keep squinting my eyes for a few hours. connect your android via usb to external touchscreen panel or you can install AirMirror & AirDroid in those 65" android panel to control wirelessly. YTDown_Shorts_Acer-Portable-touchscreen-monitor-connec_Media_8z5fmDCYJTQ_001_720p.mp4 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...