Typhoonz 4th Gear August 25, 2014 Author Share August 25, 2014 wah lao… $14.2 K… daylight robbery... Jap driving less stressful huh? maybe hor… think not many places like SGP... For a car that old is quite high... Anyway my car is no better at $16k... Anyway come to think of it 2.5L plus 4AT hard to swallow... Seems like their safety standard is no improving and staying stagnant at 2 airbags... estima was first launched in the mid 2000s. the norm then was 2 airbags. maybe the next model will have more bags. i doubt they could retrofit more airbags without changing the entire body shell. For Japanese standard 2 airbags is perhaps enuff... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deranged 2nd Gear August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 Might be another choice mah if things don't work out for the Galaxy... Want to keep an open mind although driving a Presage is probably at the bottom of the list... My stingy ex-boss drives a Presage so kind of reminds me of driving his car when I was made the "driver"... Same colour some more... The "youngest" Presage (Jan 09) on sgcarmart is going for $77.8K with depreciation at $14.2K... All the best in your hunt! Do take your time & do your sums. BTW, have you look at others like the Elysion (or maybe rd tax is too pricey on this one?) or maybe the Mitsubishi D3:Delica (i think this is quite rare, but in terms of $$$, definitely cheaper than Alphard, Vellfire & perhaps the Elgrand). Looks similar IMO (Big Box Design). I've seen the Presage & it looks big too. Good recommendation as well to try & see if it fits your needs since you have to fit 6. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 25, 2014 Author Share August 25, 2014 All the best in your hunt! Do take your time & do your sums. BTW, have you look at others like the Elysion (or maybe rd tax is too pricey on this one?) or maybe the Mitsubishi D3:Delica (i think this is quite rare, but in terms of $$$, definitely cheaper than Alphard, Vellfire & perhaps the Elgrand). Looks similar IMO (Big Box Design). I've seen the Presage & it looks big too. Good recommendation as well to try & see if it fits your needs since you have to fit 6. The Elysion is 3.0L so like you say road tax will be hefty... Don't like the Delica's looks at all... Most MPVs are boxy but the Delica's looks can't do it for me... Even if go car showrooms it will be my wife and I... Quite a feat to bring all out... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 (edited) All the best in your hunt! Do take your time & do your sums. BTW, have you look at others like the Elysion (or maybe rd tax is too pricey on this one?) or maybe the Mitsubishi D3:Delica (i think this is quite rare, but in terms of $$$, definitely cheaper than Alphard, Vellfire & perhaps the Elgrand). Looks similar IMO (Big Box Design). I've seen the Presage & it looks big too. Good recommendation as well to try & see if it fits your needs since you have to fit 6. delica? don't la.cycle& carriage no longer sells Mitsubishi as a brand in Singapore. furthermore this is a rare model. break anything that is not shared with other Mitsubishi models, then you get stuck waiting for parts. any parts will have to come via parallel import and this can take sometime. like i mentioned in other posts, for the family bus, the main points must be reliability, easy to fix and obtain parts. other factors like driving pleasure and coolness are out the window. Anyway there is not much driving pleasure with an MPV regardless of which brand. Edited August 25, 2014 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 (edited) Is Presage really so good? How much is a used car for 2008, for example? Have been thinking of getting new MPV before Jan 16, but if COE remains high, maybe will consider used MPVs for interim. Min size i guess will have to be Picnic level i guess… i remembered checking Presage too when first scouting, and straightaway ruled it out then as it was too big (younger kid was only just on the way…). Kids now really jialat. At times when they fought, i asked wife to sit 2nd row, and got one kid to sit besides me, the other sit third row… when parents are not with us. There's an Oct 2008 Presage listed at 69+K. www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing.php?ORD=RGD_DESC&MOD=Nissan%20Presage&RPG=20&VEH=10&TRN=0&RGD=0&AVL=2 Picnic is Presage size. Or very slightly smaller than Presage if want to nitpick. MPV shd have sliding doors. Makes getting in and out a lot easier from the 3rd row and dealing with car seats as well. Split flat 3 row is also essential for increasing boot space. If I factored in for the longer term, a large mpv shd have been my first ride, especially for me bec I'm the drive-almost-all-the-way-to-the-end-of-COE type. Edited August 25, 2014 by Sabian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deranged 2nd Gear August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 Anyway there is not much driving pleasure with an MPV regardless of which brand. Perhaps, but MPVs are now designed to be more fun. So many have also incorporated "car like" driving dynamics or have already incorporated a turbo (Exiga, Touran / Sharan, Grand Picassa, Exora? & of course the Galaxy) for better performance (MPV poison anyone?). While you can't really have more fun with the entire village in tow (think of the dreaded in-laws), I'm sure there are instances when they are not around & that's where the "moderated" fun begins. Can't recall which AD that was, but I certainly agree - "Who says driving an MPV has to be boring?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 25, 2014 Author Share August 25, 2014 (edited) delica? don't la.cycle& carriage no longer sells Mitsubishi as a brand in Singapore. furthermore this is a rare model. break anything that is not shared with other Mitsubishi models, then you get stuck waiting for parts. any parts will have to come via parallel import and this can take sometime. like i mentioned in other posts, for the family bus, the main points must be reliability, easy to fix and obtain parts. other factors like driving pleasure and coolness are out the window. Anyway there is not much driving pleasure with an MPV regardless of which brand. While maintenance and parts availability is placed higher than the rest of the factors, driving pleasure should still be a point to want to get that car... Can't be driving a car you don't like although parts are readily available right? Perhaps, but MPVs are now designed to be more fun. So many have also incorporated "car like" driving dynamics or have already incorporated a turbo (Exiga, Touran / Sharan, Grand Picassa, Exora? & of course the Galaxy) for better performance (MPV poison anyone?). While you can't really have more fun with the entire village in tow (think of the dreaded in-laws), I'm sure there are instances when they are not around & that's where the "moderated" fun begins. Can't recall which AD that was, but I certainly agree - "Who says driving an MPV has to be boring?" Agree... Life is already so bloody jialat in Singapore all thanks to you know who... These little things in life help lift the spirits a bit... Exiga... Hmm... 7 seats too right? There was a Exiga GT on sale (Sep 09) but sold liao... All the Exigas left are the normal ones... Edited August 25, 2014 by Typhoonz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 Exiga... Hmm... 7 seats too right? There was a Exiga GT on sale (Sep 09) but sold liao... All the Exigas left are the normal ones... don't snatch with me leh, I'm aiming for Exiga GT also 14k pa. My Trajet left 8 months so hopefully prices will soften next year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 I think Vincar is the only one bringing in 6-airbags Estima Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 What about Mazda 8 ? But I do agree that large full size MPV, nothing comes close to Estima or Alphard/Vellfire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 What about Mazda 8 ? But I do agree that large full size MPV, nothing comes close to Estima or Alphard/Vellfire. There is another thread on Mazda Biante, the new entrant. From that thread, l learnt that Mazda 8 is smaller than even Biante. I didn't believe it initially, but when i went to the showroom to check out the Mazdas, it was true. M 8 3rd row seat is quite comfortably high (unlike those conti sit-on-floor type), but it's also further in front, giving a bit of boot while sacrificing leg room for 2nd and/or 3rd row… means it's only marginally more spacious than a mid-sized MPV like Wish, and far less spacious than Biante. I think it is for this reason that it is only slightly more ex than Biante, while Mazda 5 is significantly lower price. I think Vincar is the only one bringing in 6-airbags Estima huh, really? They have? I thought it's usually Richburg that brings in higher-end models among PIs. Now vincar has while richburg doesn't... While maintenance and parts availability is placed higher than the rest of the factors, driving pleasure should still be a point to want to get that car... Can't be driving a car you don't like although parts are readily available right? Agree... Life is already so bloody jialat in Singapore all thanks to you know who... These little things in life help lift the spirits a bit... Exiga... Hmm... 7 seats too right? There was a Exiga GT on sale (Sep 09) but sold liao... All the Exigas left are the normal ones... Exiga is one MPV that I've never had the chance to look inside, although incidentally there's one in my carpark. There are other models, but those maybe not worth looking much how is the space inside huh? It looks like only as tall as ody previous model, meaning it's quite sedan- rather than van-like. I'm sure subaru performance should be good, but what about the most impt thing for MPV - space? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 There's an Oct 2008 Presage listed at 69+K. www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing.php?ORD=RGD_DESC&MOD=Nissan%20Presage&RPG=20&VEH=10&TRN=0&RGD=0&AVL=2 Picnic is Presage size. Or very slightly smaller than Presage if want to nitpick. MPV shd have sliding doors. Makes getting in and out a lot easier from the 3rd row and dealing with car seats as well. Split flat 3 row is also essential for increasing boot space. If I factored in for the longer term, a large mpv shd have been my first ride, especially for me bec I'm the drive-almost-all-the-way-to-the-end-of-COE type. No lah, i think Presage was always in the league of Estima, which was 2nd bro of Toyota (Alphard being eldest, picnic being 3rd, Wish 4th, etc.). At that time there was Lafesta, which was 2.0 l so comparable to Picnic, although in reality it prob pales in comparison to wish... But at 69K, sigh… can't get over myself… this amt is less than 1K more that what i paid for my wish when brand new... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 26, 2014 Author Share August 26, 2014 (edited) don't snatch with me leh, I'm aiming for Exiga GT also 14k pa. My Trajet left 8 months so hopefully prices will soften next year [laugh] No more Exiga GT on the market liao... The car is discontinued so I guess the "youngest" you'll ever get will be late 2009? No lah Exiga did cross my mind... I see it's as an extended stationwagon with 3rd row seats... Perhaps only kids can fit in the 3rd row... I think Vincar is the only one bringing in 6-airbags Estima Estima prices are [dizzy] 4 year old Estimas are still over $120K... Edited August 26, 2014 by Typhoonz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 No lah, i think Presage was always in the league of Estima, which was 2nd bro of Toyota (Alphard being eldest, picnic being 3rd, Wish 4th, etc.). At that time there was Lafesta, which was 2.0 l so comparable to Picnic, although in reality it prob pales in comparison to wish... But at 69K, sigh… can't get over myself… this amt is less than 1K more that what i paid for my wish when brand new... times have changed if you cannot get over yourself to pay high dep for cars and no urgency to change cars, then drive on your current car until scrap and hope for COE prices to dip along the way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 26, 2014 Author Share August 26, 2014 What about Mazda 8 ? But I do agree that large full size MPV, nothing comes close to Estima or Alphard/Vellfire. Mazda 8 looks big and imposing on the outside but no so on the inside... I sat inside the Mazda 8 while I took my car to the AD for the last warranty servicing... Not too impressed with the interior and thought an full size MPV should have more space than this... Yes love the looks of the VellFire... But owning it is another thing... There is another thread on Mazda Biante, the new entrant. From that thread, l learnt that Mazda 8 is smaller than even Biante. I didn't believe it initially, but when i went to the showroom to check out the Mazdas, it was true. M 8 3rd row seat is quite comfortably high (unlike those conti sit-on-floor type), but it's also further in front, giving a bit of boot while sacrificing leg room for 2nd and/or 3rd row… means it's only marginally more spacious than a mid-sized MPV like Wish, and far less spacious than Biante. I think it is for this reason that it is only slightly more ex than Biante, while Mazda 5 is significantly lower price. huh, really? They have? I thought it's usually Richburg that brings in higher-end models among PIs. Now vincar has while richburg doesn't... Exiga is one MPV that I've never had the chance to look inside, although incidentally there's one in my carpark. There are other models, but those maybe not worth looking much how is the space inside huh? It looks like only as tall as ody previous model, meaning it's quite sedan- rather than van-like. I'm sure subaru performance should be good, but what about the most impt thing for MPV - space? I don't classify the Exiga as an MPV but rather an extended stationwagon... I have to saw I love the looks of the Exiga... Very nice... Not much space in the back... Also got a blue Exiga GT parked at the MSCP but the rear windows are super tinted till can't see inside... From the pictures on sgcarmart, the boot space slightly deeper than my Mazda 5 but many would take it as no boot space at all... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 times have changed if you cannot get over yourself to pay high dep for cars and no urgency to change cars, then drive on your current car until scrap and hope for COE prices to dip along the way. sigh… guess you're right about the current reality… si bey sian, have to fork out so much... will there be a repeat of the time when COE dropped from high of 100K to hover around 30K, encouraging all the 100K owners to immediately scrap and change to cheaper cars?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 26, 2014 Author Share August 26, 2014 No lah, i think Presage was always in the league of Estima, which was 2nd bro of Toyota (Alphard being eldest, picnic being 3rd, Wish 4th, etc.). At that time there was Lafesta, which was 2.0 l so comparable to Picnic, although in reality it prob pales in comparison to wish... But at 69K, sigh… can't get over myself… this amt is less than 1K more that what i paid for my wish when brand new... Even if the COE falls it won't go below $50K so have to get used to the kind of prices now... My Mazda 5 costs $72K when I got it and that's only the price of COE now... My first car the Fit RS was $59K and now it's $120K... Boh pian we need transportation so just have to suck it up... So intensify the monitoring and go in when the time is correct... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 (edited) sigh… guess you're right about the current reality… si bey sian, have to fork out so much... will there be a repeat of the time when COE dropped from high of 100K to hover around 30K, encouraging all the 100K owners to immediately scrap and change to cheaper cars?? assume 100k millionaires on this island with average of 2 cars each total car population ~ 600K do you think there is sufficient COEs to go around even at peak supply? Edited August 26, 2014 by Enye ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...