Folding bikes

Duckduck

Any one else with a Tern folding bike? I am tempted to get one and need some advice.

just bought Tern's new basic model Link B7 3 weeks ago. 7 Speed Shimano. $499.

Very smooth and effortless ride.

Easy to fold.

Edited by Toothiewabbit

Bro, Jalan Mas Kunning is along West Coast Road? I think Tern not cheap hor? [sweatdrop]

Yup... Entry about 600+ if I'm not wrong... But it's worth it. No point going for those $100 - 200 you find in Giant, ride is not smooth & joints will loosen over time.

Go test ride & you'll know why...

That reminds me, my Dahon foldie has not be ridden for a while....

Edited by Karu

Yup... Entry about 600+ if I'm not wrong... But it's worth it. No point going for those $100 - 200 you find in Giant, ride is not smooth & joints will loosen over time.

yah you are right bro. Thanks for the sound advice [laugh]

just bought Tern's new basic model Link B7 3 weeks ago. 7 Speed Shimano. $499.

Very smooth and effortless ride.

Easy to fold.

wah serious bro? make me gian liao . . tomolo go check it out.

Thanks! [thumbsup]

But do note that tern doesn't fold as small as brompton, it is quite still quite big when folded.

Thanks! [thumbsup]

If you got more budget, go for Link D7 $799. Better, lighter components, 8-speed.

[grin]

for dahon or tern foldies, can consider go Khass Bicycles location in Msia near 2nd link. much cheaper pricing than what you can get here.

http://www.khassbicycles.com/

few of my friends got their there since most of them drive. same bike different price. what they did is to test ride the bikes locally then purchase it there. hahaha... the money you save can buy many other essential accessories to kick start your cycling routine.

enjoy!

But do note that tern doesn't fold as small as brompton, it is quite still quite big when folded.

But I'm no NEA ehh . . . Brompton? [laugh][bigcry]

for dahon or tern foldies, can consider go Khass Bicycles location in Msia near 2nd link. much cheaper pricing than what you can get here.

few of my friends got their there since most of them drive. same bike different price. what they did is to test ride the bikes locally then purchase it there. hahaha... the money you save can buy many other essential accessories to kick start your cycling routine.

enjoy!

Woh!! But never like the idea of going up North . . . in fact only been there twice.

Thanks bro.

enjoy!

Looks like it's in the Bkt Indah area. What's the price delta between S'pore & Johor??

That's depend on how many foldy u need to carry. I think Jazz boot can carry 2 Brompton.

Looks like it's in the Bkt Indah area. What's the price delta between S'pore & Johor??

it depends on which model you looking at, higher model i think the price difference should be bigger but that's based on last year knowledge when my friends were getting their bikes. can whatapp the sales girl and compare, very easy. my friends did get additional discount from the listed price then.

brompton is different league leh... it is just like iphone, premium brand premium price. it is a dream to own one for me but just can't bear to part that amount of money right now for one. love the fold but don't ride that much to justify the price yet.

last time can purchase one cheaper at hong kong but last i know one need an HK id to purchase at the local pricing. still it is worth the effort due to the price difference. locally all bikes like mark up a lot as compare to oversea. some said local warranty is important but to me bike is not that complex and most warranty only covers frame i think. for the saving, it is still worth it bah.

Any one else with a Tern folding bike? I am tempted to get one and need some advice.

I have, but I seldom ride on it. It rides well, and mine can go quite fast. Now just collecting dust.

I mention about the compactness of the fold because it took up the whole boot of my car. So the boot now can only carry my children small foldies instead.