L23 6th Gear October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/transport/story/november-january-coe-quota-11932-slight-increase-last-quarter-lta-201 A lot of car owners are holding on and extending the COE for their cars. COE will sky rocket soon I guess. How come open another thread? I tot there is already a thread talking about the new quota liao? or too few COEs thread here... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 I see 3 of my neighbors just renew COE in my carpark. 1 camry, 1 lexus and 1 hyundai accent. Accent renewed coe? Which year accent is that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Allen 2nd Gear October 16, 2014 Author Share October 16, 2014 A lot means how much? Sky rocket by how much? Your info come from which source? I think a lot of people here intetested to know mechanics is if they cut quota by 50% then the premium is going up by 50%. Renewed Coe is not in the quota. So less pple de-register their cars then less new coe will be in the system. There is a huge chunk of cheap coe registered in 2005 to 2007. If those pple extend coe then less new coe means high premium. Not rockrt science. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 mechanics is if they cut quota by 50% then the premium is going up by 50%. Renewed Coe is not in the quota. So less pple de-register their cars then less new coe will be in the system. There is a huge chunk of cheap coe registered in 2005 to 2007. If those pple extend coe then less new coe means high premium. Not rockrt science. I'm not a smart man & this makes sense ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 Accent renewed coe? Which year accent is that? SFM plate. Heard he just renew around this few months only. So should be 2004 accent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerichol 2nd Gear October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 Why people keep using the word "buy" when in uniquely Singapore you only rent not own. Example COE now 60K and ten years later zero so we pay rent 6K a year. To add insult to injury, you pay tax and ERP. Oh let us not forget we have to pay for a new IU if yours is faulty after the warranty period so that you can continue to Pay And Pay....this is the most TL thing!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 (edited) Why people keep using the word "buy" when in uniquely Singapore you only rent not own. Example COE now 60K and ten years later zero so we pay rent 6K a year. To add insult to injury, you pay tax and ERP. Oh let us not forget we have to pay for a new IU if yours is faulty after the warranty period so that you can continue to Pay And Pay....this is the most TL thing!!! Whether you "buy" or lease you still have to pay to cover what needs to be paid what. What difference does it make calling it lease or "buy"? If you are leasing means you are paying more so that the car dealer can profit from the deal. So do you want to "buy" or lease? Edited October 16, 2014 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerichol 2nd Gear October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 Whether you "buy" or lease you still have to pay to cover what needs to be paid what. What difference does it make calling it lease or "buy"? Buy you own it but lease you dun. We may pay for the car in full but after ten years you cannot own it but again have to lease!!!??? I correct or cor-wrong?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 Buy you own it but lease you dun. We may pay for the car in full but after ten years you cannot own it but again have to lease!!!??? I correct or cor-wrong?? I dunno. You are the one asking why ppl use the word "buy" and here you are using it too. You are in a lot of contradiction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerichol 2nd Gear October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 I dunno. You are the one asking why ppl use the word "buy" and here you are using it too. You are in a lot of contradiction. Eh....sigh....never mind. Goodnight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 (edited) Eh....sigh....never mind. Goodnight You got no originality lah. Repeating what other ppl say. I call this limited ownership. The car is registered to your name, it's an asset to your name even though it's a depreciating asset with limited ownership. If it's leasing it's registered to a leasing company's name. There's a big and huge difference. Edited October 16, 2014 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 SFM plate. Heard he just renew around this few months only. So should be 2004 accent.SFM plate is car registered in 2004. His accent should be in very good condition that he renewed his car coe, cause people usually have doubts in renewing korea cars. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yo2020 6th Gear October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 (edited) mechanics is if they cut quota by 50% then the premium is going up by 50%. Renewed Coe is not in the quota. So less pple de-register their cars then less new coe will be in the system. There is a huge chunk of cheap coe registered in 2005 to 2007. If those pple extend coe then less new coe means high premium. Not rockrt science.i cannot understand how u deduced those u mentioned in 1st post n this quoted post frm the linked article in 1st post.we r going to hv 22% more Cat A for the next quarter n most likely another at least 20% (basing on high dereg figure in Sep n new formulae announced by LTA today) for the quarter after next. so why high COE?? also, in all mths this yr there r only abt 100-150 COE being renewed every mth. this is deduced frm data published by LTA, no need rocket science. Edited October 16, 2014 by yo2020 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 SFM plate is car registered in 2004. His accent should be in very good condition that he renewed his car coe, cause people usually have doubts in renewing korea cars. Lol. Recent korean cars ok already. They are reliable. Thinking of renewing mine if COE remains around current level. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yo2020 6th Gear October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 (edited) How come open another thread? I tot there is already a thread talking about the new quota liao? or too few COEs thread here... ya, y no warning frm mod n lock the thread? i tried without searching history (without knowing of course), start a new thread n kena warning b4. Edited October 16, 2014 by yo2020 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 (edited) i think you cor-wrong ... a buy is a buy ... period. hdb ... 99 years leasehold .... you buy condo ... 99 years leasehold ... you buy landed ... freehold ... you buy you buy you can sell whether it is 10 years 99 years or forever you lease/rent you cannot sell ... can you? can you lease an apartment and sell it? can you rent a car and sell it? you buy a car even though the life span is 10 years ... you own it for that 10 years 1 day i happy i spray the car red color 1 day i happy i spray the car blue color 1 day i sway i scratch the door and i don't repair it ... i happy can liao ... can you do that if your car is on leased or rental? there is a clear difference whether you own and not own the car right ... anything that is on your name ... you own it ... for how long ... that's another question that's why people say if your car mortgage or home mortgage is not fully paid ... you don't own it yet if paid FULL ... you definitely own it ... Buy you own it but lease you dun. We may pay for the car in full but after ten years you cannot own it but again have to lease!!!??? I correct or cor-wrong?? Edited October 16, 2014 by Wt_know 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 (edited) Make no sense to extend given PQP is so high. The price of brand new car and the depreciation is lower than 2nd hand cars. Many people say a lot of car owners are extending their cars? But i dont see anyone around me, even at my house carpark here? Noticed many either buy new car or used car. Lease damn lay chek. Especially for those who retain # plate. Whether you "buy" or lease you still have to pay to cover what needs to be paid what. What difference does it make calling it lease or "buy"? If you are leasing means you are paying more so that the car dealer can profit from the deal. So do you want to "buy" or lease? Edited October 16, 2014 by Achtung 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic October 16, 2014 Share October 16, 2014 (edited) that is precisely the reason why many die die buy new car ... cat A 130bhp also take la ... no fish prawn also good Make no sense to extend given PQP is so high. The price of brand new car and the depreciation is lower than 2nd hand cars. Edited October 16, 2014 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...