One Litre of Petrol Idle for How Long?

Thaiyotakamli

Lets say car average petrol fc is 10km/l, how much time of idling in minutes will consume one litre of petrol?

Aiyah why you never ask this when I was younger?

I used to idle at ECP for a few hours and could

have taken measurements for you.

• Praise 10

Chevrolet Optra 1.6A with FC around 10km/L :-

1.5 LPH in N

1.9 LPH in D

P.S.

Extensive idling may cause dirty throttle body and reduce service life engine oil.

Consider an oil catch tank.

Engine is most efficient and clean while being driven.

I am not so sure this is true.

People that idle at ECP are usually getting

their throttle body cleaned or so I heard.

You will get a whole range of answers.

There are too many factors to consider...

Idle from a cold start?

Ppl calculate from when they are driving at 100km/hr?? That's at least 2000rpm with added load. How can it be compared with engine idling.?

During the day or night, as in difference in ambient temperature?

Air-conditioned on while idling?

If you don't name the conditions how to know which one fits your question?

Even if your car's fc is 10km/like it's not constantly moving. There's start/stop traffic to consider. I dun think you will get an answer.

You will get a whole range of answers.

There are too many factors to consider...

Idle from a cold start?

Ppl calculate from when they are driving at 100km/hr?? That's at least 2000rpm with added load. How can it be compared with engine idling.?

During the day or night, as in difference in ambient temperature?

Air-conditioned on while idling?

If you don't name the conditions how to know which one fits your question?

Idle mean engine idling with aircon.

Idle shoulbe from with warm engine. Not calculate from 100km/h

Day or night shouldnt had any much difference?

Idle mean engine idling with aircon.

Idle shoulbe from with warm engine. Not calculate from 100km/h

Day or night shouldnt had any much difference?

With aircon on the engine will work harder during the day. Duh.

To me it's a go nowhere question coz the purpose of having a car is to travel not idle.

With aircon on the engine will work harder during the day. Duh.

To me it's a go nowhere question coz the purpose of having a car is to travel not idle.

Sometimes i ever wait for my friend to come out for 20min, dunno how much fuel i burnt waiting. Next time charge her lol

Lets say car average petrol fc is 10km/l, how much time of idling in minutes will consume one litre of petrol?

Of so many people, least expected the question to come from you. You must be trying to get @Throttle2 to come and laugh at you. LOL

Edited by Nicfoo

Keep in mind that when your car is idling, the engine is not getting the rush of cooling air it needs to keep the engine bay cool. The radiator fans will keep cycling on and off depending on the ambient temperature. Nevertheless there will be more heat soak of everything in the engine bay as the radiator fans only cool the radiator. Plastic and rubber are likely to dry out and crack sooner.

I've seen more alternators than starter motors fail - just saying.

better to go JB on long weekend. Top up and reset meter before heading to check point. At least you are not wasting petrol for this test. :D

we did that test so often....................just didnt record the reading............ [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Aiyah why you never ask this when I was younger?

I used to idle at ECP for a few hours and could

have taken measurements for you.

we might just had parked side by side.................I am saying might hor........... [laugh] [laugh]

Sometimes i ever wait for my friend to come out for 20min, dunno how much fuel i burnt waiting. Next time charge her lol

must be chio bu................and you being thinking of charging into her..............just want to find a good excuse only right.............WTF............. [laugh] [laugh]

Wah lau, your car so lousy meh, dont hv on board computer to show the FC at anypoint in time as long as the engine is on?

Wahahah.

I think sld be cheaper than the cheapest hotel........... [laugh] [laugh]

Also must factor in the the possibility of NEA agent issue summon for idling cars. [laugh]

Of so many people, least expected the question to come from you. You must be trying to get @Throttle2 to come and laugh at you. LOL

I wonder mah since car manufacturers dont provide these details

Moreover I am not elites neither ASK le

Wah lau, your car so lousy meh, dont hv on board computer to show the FC at anypoint in time as long as the engine is on?

Wahahah.

My on board com only show max 25km/100l

Unless my fuel level shows the litre of petrol left in the tank

must be chio bu................and you being thinking of charging into her..............just want to find a good excuse only right.............WTF............. [laugh] [laugh]

Bei ni shuo zhong le!! Haha