Agencies slam NATAS for lack of transparency

Mustank

I see the itinerary I very stress [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

tink his sis needs a holiday after this horrid-day. [laugh]

I have tried for F&E and packaged tour... both have their advantages lah :))

To Europe, or those countries that still can converse a bit of english, F&E is the way :)

Just plan a bit beforehand, and can just go and relax while touring :))

See more, touch more, and enjoy more :))

But for countries where english is not well converse, I think packaged tour would be easier... example, would be Japan (apart from Tokyo)...

For other places in Japan, most of the ppl could not understand english, and the wordings everywhere is in Jap...

So, perhaps it would be good to go on tour :))

Travel agencies won't die one lah... they can still cater to older folks, who do not want to F&E :))

hmmmmm........... so you can't speak Mandrain, Cantonese, Malay thats why have to book package tour to China, Hong Kong, Taiwan & Boleyland .... [sly]

:D:D

hmmmmm........... so you can't speak Mandrain, Cantonese, Malay thats why have to book package tour to China, Hong Kong, Taiwan & Boleyland .... [sly]

can't speak korean and japanese leh [:(]

Hahahah :D :D

I haven't been to China and Taiwan, so can't comment much.. HK, still can converse in english lah, so can still F&E :))

Boleyland? .... they can still converse in english lah, give them some credits :))

I won't be surprised if some hands behind lobby and make it "illegal" for these tour agents to gang up to hold their own fairs. [pirate]

I never go to such fairs and honestly, i'm shocked to know that NATAS actually charge admission fees for ppl who want to book holiday?

i don't see any rationale in charging admission fee.... SITEX and other expo, they don't charge any admission fees and they grow bigger and bigger every year.

NATAS say they charge admission because of crowd control. I still don't get it. Travel firms already said that there is lesser crowd year after year.

What crowd control is NATAS saying, when there is no crowd? This BS explanation reminds me of our ERP system. Got jam or not, ERP still charge. So what's the rationale of ERP then?

Anyway, i know some old timer ppl in this travel industry. Everyone say NATAS is all BS, and no agency likes them.....

if NATAS is only good for holding expo fairs, this is easily copied by travel agencies. Like now, they gang up and have their own fair with cheaper overheads and rentals. NATAS is not adding any value to the business. Sure kena cut off at one point.

Hahahah :D :D

I haven't been to China and Taiwan, so can't comment much.. HK, still can converse in english lah, so can still F&E :))

Boleyland? .... they can still converse in english lah, give them some credits :))

Yup, boleyland if serve by chinese shop can still speak english but if went into a malay kampong provision shops, they all speak malay. Still need to converse in malay ... [grin]

You join packaged tours, can remember your way around?

I still remember my way around places I have been to on F&E.

Save money to spend on things you want to spend on.

Save time for things you actually want to see.

Linger on longer for attractions you want to spend more time on and leave not so nice attractions asap.

If you don't feel well, you can postpone the highlight of your trip instead of missing it bec the tour group is moving on.

Every trip we have taken since getting married is F&E.

She chooses the attractions, I let her know which I like, she edits it to a final list.

I will hunt for the most value air tickets, hotels and plan the route.

Worked out very well for us so far. Next stop, Northern Lights and Latin America.

Linger on longer for attractions you want to spend more time on and leave not so nice attractions asap.

If you don't feel well, you can postpone the highlight of your trip instead of missing it bec the tour group is moving on.

She chooses the attractions, I let her know which I like, she edits it to a final list.

Worked out very well for us so far. Next stop, Northern Lights and Latin America.

"Thats the way ... Ah Ha Ah Ha ... I Like it ... Ah Ha Ah Ha ..." ... [nod]

To find local tour guide (chinese speaking), there are plenty.

There are so many ah tiong bu tourguide in japan n korea N aussie land

Your wife very good leh. Mine tells me the places she wants to go, I do everything else. To the point that I have to tell her to cut down the number of attractions because there's not enough time. [bigcry]

Ok mah. She still gives you her inputs.

Better than " I wanan go somewhere..." Then you figure everything out yourself.

Ok mah. She still gives you her inputs.

Better than " I wanan go somewhere..." Then you figure everything out yourself.

better than my wife.

planning a short trip to HK in a few weeks.

i told her i want to stay somewhere i know the area well and convenient

"but its not near shopping"

ok then where to stay?

suddenly all the places etc come out until cannot decide. finally told her just book whatever she wants la. bo bian, going for friends wedding, but her shopping place is sibei far frm the wedding location ..but she wants shopping. oh well.. spend taxi $ lo.

better than my wife.

planning a short trip to HK in a few weeks.

i told her i want to stay somewhere i know the area well and convenient

"but its not near shopping"

ok then where to stay?

suddenly all the places etc come out until cannot decide. finally told her just book whatever she wants la. bo bian, going for friends wedding, but her shopping place is sibei far frm the wedding location ..but she wants shopping. oh well.. spend taxi $ lo.

Cannot take the train meh?

Damage control lai liao

Natas to waive entrance fee for next year's travel fair

SINGAPORE - The National Association of Travel Agencies Singapore (Natas) said on Thursday that it will waive the entrance fees to next year's travel fair next year in line with Singapore's 50th birthday.

This comes shortly after several outbound travel agencies said on Tuesday that they have opted out of an upcoming Natas travel fair next March and are organising a separate fair on the same dates.

The 24 outbound travel agencies said they will be holding a fair with free admission at Marina Bay Sands (MBS) from March 27 to 29 next year.

This group of agencies contributed to 80 per cent of the total sales at previous Natas fairs.

Besides the "Big Four" agencies - CTC Travel, Dynasty Travel, Chan Brothers Travel and SA Tours - other agencies include Apple Holidays, Nam Ho Travel and Farmosa Holidays.

Representatives of the agencies said several issues, such as the lack of transparency by the National Association of Travel Agencies Singapore (Natas), had led to the pull out.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/natas-waive-entrance-fee-next-years-travel-fair-20141127#sthash.ht1vHzlo.dpuf

Damage control lai liao

Natas to waive entrance fee for next year's travel fair

SINGAPORE - The National Association of Travel Agencies Singapore (Natas) said on Thursday that it will waive the entrance fees to next year's travel fair next year in line with Singapore's 50th birthday.

This comes shortly after several outbound travel agencies said on Tuesday that they have opted out of an upcoming Natas travel fair next March and are organising a separate fair on the same dates.

The 24 outbound travel agencies said they will be holding a fair with free admission at Marina Bay Sands (MBS) from March 27 to 29 next year.

This group of agencies contributed to 80 per cent of the total sales at previous Natas fairs.

Besides the "Big Four" agencies - CTC Travel, Dynasty Travel, Chan Brothers Travel and SA Tours - other agencies include Apple Holidays, Nam Ho Travel and Farmosa Holidays.

Representatives of the agencies said several issues, such as the lack of transparency by the National Association of Travel Agencies Singapore (Natas), had led to the pull out.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/natas-waive-entrance-fee-next-years-travel-fair-20141127#sthash.ht1vHzlo.dpuf

Free entrance because of SG50???? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh] I think that excuse is inline with how our gahmen will say

It just get more and more amusing by the days in this tiny dot.

Free entrance because of SG50???? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh] I think that excuse is inline with how our gahmen will say

Cannot take the train meh?

erm, the area we are going ... mtr will be up in a year hahaha.

besides, difficult to wear a full suit and take train ><

yes i am spoilt that way :P

lol.. rubbish la these guys. actually even though i wont buy travel package, at least the big 4 had the balls to do something about natas charging us.

now natas has its tail between its legs liao.