Buying car on $45K inheritance

Obscurest

i'm going to claim my inheritance next mon

any advice what to buy?

Bro....how come you are also aiming for the same inheritance as me for next Monday??

Though the ticket is already in my hand!

ha ha ha

HUAT Ah!

u also inherited from Singapore pools ar?

Wah lau don't talk about Spore Pools. Have been buying a number for 4D, didn't open. Once I didn't buy, strike second prize. kns!

I didn't read the rest of replies.

But what kind of car "luxury" were you thinking of using the $45k?

Maybe a bit of luxury with $100k for the 50% down payment for brand new car.

My take is keep the $$$. Having a car now is already a luxury, no need to change.

Bro....how come you are also aiming for the same inheritance as me for next Monday??

Though the ticket is already in my hand!

ha ha ha

HUAT Ah!

Let's all share share lah... and I am sure after we share, our inheritance is still more than what TS has got :D

Wow...

I'm really overwhelmed by all this replies.

Is not easy my desire vs senses....

Anyway thanks for all the advices and because im not that rich and this is really a windfall for me and because I'm timid, jumping into a new ride is very unlikely.

But u really need to vent out what and how I feel. My feeling of changing my current ride is super strong. The only reason I can give myself is life is too short to think too much.

Gggrrrrrr

Guess will stick to my current ride for the time being.

To answer some of your queries :

1) this windfall is not a inheritance from someone death.

2) my current ride is 3.5yrs old stream

3) my current ride does show some issues but is not major juz tat I feel like changing after seeing so many nice chio cars zooming past me

4) wana change to focus or honda vezel

Guess will dig out my eyes and rein my heart don't let them wander out too much.

Thanks for all the advices.

when an entire CAR forum of people is telling you not to change car, there's still hope for singaporean sanity. i was afraid it went down the drain each time i read the COE bidding results.

For selfish reasons lah, my thinking was actually,

1) TS keeps the $ and invest into STI or stocks instead of buying car help me push my investments.

2) TS don't buy car helps to prevent COE from going up further (not much but at least 1 less contender) then I got better chance for chance for lower COE.

3) TS keeps the $ don't buy car stops adding into the core inflation nubmer so that makes my Sing $ PP remains stronger.

4) TS don't buy car with that $, AD/PI no business have to lower car price a bit.

5) Lastly, keep the $ and spend on kids, family expense and other purchases other than car helps Spore economy, then maybe my salary increment will higher next year?

What a joke. Got 45k inheritance and instead of feeling a little fortunate, TS is thinking of getting of turning the inheritance into liability by buying a new car.

Edited by Dumb

Hi folks,

I need some advice here and I'm not sure does it really helps in my decision making but still wana give a shot and try.

For some reason I inherited a sum of 45k. Tat makes me very excited and first thing that came into my mind is to change to a brand new car. Logically I shld not as I am not rich and this $$ though not a lot but will comes in handy and one day might save my arse if my housing repayment fail if for some reason if me or my wife loses our job. I mean anything can happen. But becos my believe is that if a person got too much to worry about or think about he will never enjoy life as there are too much restrictions in life for life is so short.

1) Shld I just dump all of this 45k on a brand new car and enjoy the luxury of owning a brand new car or shld I restrict myself and keep it for raining days?

2) my thinking was that becos of the ruling, we are force to pay 50% and a 5 to 6 yrs loan, tat means if I reAlly need cash badly, if I sold away the car, I shld lose 50% of my down payment (at least) I won't ended up owe the bank money right?

3) is it the right time to get a car now cos a lot of them days wait till CNY.

A little background info of me:

Currently driving a stream and if I sold away my car I can take back approx 20k so add on to my current 45k is enough for the new ride.

Appreciate your advice on this

Thks

how to advise u when u never say wat is your net worth? if is $1M, then go ahead if u want, if is $1000, then better dont buy new car.

For selfish reasons lah, my thinking was actually,

1) TS keeps the $ and invest into STI or stocks instead of buying car help me push my investments.

2) TS don't buy car helps to prevent COE from going up further (not much but at least 1 less contender) then I got better chance for chance for lower COE.

3) TS keeps the $ don't buy car stops adding into the core inflation nubmer so that makes my Sing $ PP remains stronger.

4) TS don't buy car with that $, AD/PI no business have to lower car price a bit.

5) Lastly, keep the $ and spend on kids, family expense and other purchases other than car helps Spore economy, then maybe my salary increment will higher next year?

I have very serious doubt that SGD45K is sufficient to help push up the value of your investment in stock market.

But if you are successful in convincing many more people to stop buying car, I think LTA maybe interested to hire you also!

ha ha

TS better to invest in trust fund at this stage. The good time has come to near end.

Next year will not be better then this. Our leader has already spoken recently on the 2015 forecast.

The axe is ready to chop tree. Good luck

Was in the same situation as u few months back. Very tempted to use the money for a new car but eventually heeded wife's advice and use a portion of the inherited sum to settle the outstanding amount on my current car loan. The feeling of debt free is great!

Same as me. I tiok a car w/o coe, tried to sell it away but no fantastic offers due to the cash component buyer needs to fork out. So took coe and sold off my 9.5yr old ride instead. Paid full for the car coe and if car price still gd after 6mths then will sell it off as i foresee not much fluctuations for coe within the nxt 6-9mths

Edited by Luckydrawcar

I was telling him not to buy so there would be 1 less bidder lah.

Anyway I heard the economy is going into crisis and I am just waiting for the S$2 COE.

So TS please feel free to buy a new car now and don't snatch the S$2 COE from

me. Afterall no one left me S$45,000 lah.

TS better to invest in trust fund at this stage. The good time has come to near end.

Next year will not be better then this. Our leader has already spoken recently on the 2015 forecast.

The axe is ready to chop tree. Good luck

Why invest the money now when good time has come to an end?

He will just lose his investment right?

Better just to hide the cash under the bed and only invest when

the good times come again.