Dragonl 1st Gear April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 Yeah pretty worrying as some owners only know how to drive but do not know how to maintain. I take care of mine and service regularly and doing self maintenance. Perhaps that's why my ride never fail me through its 9.5 yrs of lifetime, never done more than $2k of repair works since brand new. Quite surprised that it still runs like new and no funny noises like some similar age cars like mine. A Toyota bah. If can afford go for a 10 year renewal if not 5 year, considering the low cost of maintenance and repair according to you. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antonee 6th Gear April 22, 2015 Author Share April 22, 2015 before you sign with the agreed price, just tell them you dont entertain admin fee. i did not pay any last month. Shxxt I signed the dotted line already. He showed me the casetrust paper something to do with dealers admin fee blah blah etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 Shxxt I signed the dotted line already. He showed me the casetrust paper something to do with dealers admin fee blah blah etc. then too late liao. ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 Jap cars may or may not be more reliable depending on the previous owners I feel. Just in the past month, I already see 6 toyota breaking down on the road and coincidentally all of them are vios that were more than 7 years old.I noticed most car model who got their coe renewed is vios. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 The question is which reliable workshops? Bamms, Was a roadworthiness test carried out by STA when the agent sent it for inspection. I believe most agent only test on package A. Here is the link to show 3 type of package from STA. http://www.stai.com.sg/service2.php. Basic comphrensive inspection only detect obvious flaw and physical defects. Seepages and leakages takes time to built up. If dealer has been diligent enough, most of this flaws will be touch up before the inspection. Seepages and leakages are detectable after a prolong period. Roadworthiness test will test the gearbox, steering rod, brake, radiator and engine of its conditions when on the road. In short, if it is safe enough to drive the car. Like any workshop, you visit often you become friends, just like agent going to a inspection centre. Complacency may take place but that doesn't mean inspection centres are not doing their job properly. Lastly, rule of thumb when you get a 2nd hand car. Go to a reliable workshop to check brake pad & rotor, timing belt, fan belt. Change all the oil - engine oil, brake fluid, transmission oil and coolant. If you are not sure where to find a workshop, go to those model specified forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonl 1st Gear April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 The question is which reliable workshops? lol, I guess you are not someone who own a car the very first time, am I right? So i believe you have a reliable workshop you go to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 We want to hear it from you. lol, I guess you are not someone who own a car the very first time, am I right? So i believe you have a reliable workshop you go to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 (edited) I noticed most car model who got their coe renewed is vios. maybe low parf value.. Edited April 22, 2015 by Hamburger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chephren 1st Gear April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 (edited) Hey guys, just a quick summary to many of the post here. 1) Reliable workshop? I go to Comfort Delgro. The one that repair lots of taxi at bradell. So far they do help me save some money, but every replacement they do for the past years are permanent and seldom leads to another parts faulty. Some workshop help you save money here and there but end up the related parts faulty, your car still break down. (my own opinion, anyone with bad experience, feel free to share but this is just my experience) 2) Lemon law, as twisted by our "mostly ah beng" car dealer, they will not honor the law, they will tell you (wah you buy second hand and we buy from other people, not our fault leh) And then there's the better ones, who's many years in the industry reputation is important, so they buy warranty (engine and gearbox) for 6 months, usually cost around S$ 280 to $800 depending on make of the car. So good luck using lemon law on them, don't use hard tactics, unless it's ah beng, then don't even buy from him in the first place. (As with buying used mobile phone, look out for bad behaviour ah beng) 3) Latest update from my car hunt. Sorry I didn't contact some of you guys who wants to go with me, took me 2 days and lots of walking. I finally settled on this car you won't believe. - Nissan sunny, 1.6 EXA, OPC, scrap take back S$ 5k plus, bought price S$ 7k. drive for 9 months. I convert to normal car cost S$ 1.5k including roadtax. Depre? S$ 4k per year. Major repair? dunno yet, will have to send to my workshop for check. I met a few dealers who can offer me low depre of around S$ 7k for a honda CITY, S$ 6k for nissan sunny, Also a few offers of high end cars like camry, cefiro (left a few months) and audi SUV, estima at below S$ 10k depre. better than a FIT or ALTIS or CIVIC. But to summarize, depre S$ 10k per year is easy to find, latio, civic, altis, sylphy.... If you are in for big cars, S$ 12k can get X5 or AUDI SUV... I still have their location fresh in mind, mostly old racecourse place and ubi used car mart. If anyone keen, I can meet you there and tell you which at ubi, but I don't get a cut, I am collecting my car tomorrow. Then I will be hunting again before christmas, lets see any major changes this july with the new rules and extra COE. chef Edited April 22, 2015 by chephren 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 I noticed most car model who got their coe renewed is vios. True. Got a few mitsu and nissan too...i was rather shocked to see toyotas breaking down...most prob it is either heavily used and not properly maintained second hand or the owners just bobian. Saw a number of mitsu glx breaking down too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guanleng Clutched April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 Hey guys, just a quick summary to many of the post here. 1) Reliable workshop? I go to Comfort Delgro. The one that repair lots of taxi at bradell. So far they do help me save some money, but every replacement they do for the past years are permanent and seldom leads to another parts faulty. Some workshop help you save money here and there but end up the related parts faulty, your car still break down. (my own opinion, anyone with bad experience, feel free to share but this is just my experience) 2) Lemon law, as twisted by our "mostly ah beng" car dealer, they will not honor the law, they will tell you (wah you buy second hand and we buy from other people, not our fault leh) And then there's the better ones, who's many years in the industry reputation is important, so they buy warranty (engine and gearbox) for 6 months, usually cost around S$ 280 to $800 depending on make of the car. So good luck using lemon law on them, don't use hard tactics, unless it's ah beng, then don't even buy from him in the first place. (As with buying used mobile phone, look out for bad behaviour ah beng) 3) Latest update from my car hunt. Sorry I didn't contact some of you guys who wants to go with me, took me 2 days and lots of walking. I finally settled on this car you won't believe. - Nissan sunny, 1.6 EXA, OPC, scrap take back S$ 5k plus, bought price S$ 7k. drive for 9 months. I convert to normal car cost S$ 1.5k including roadtax. Depre? S$ 4k per year. Major repair? dunno yet, will have to send to my workshop for check. I met a few dealers who can offer me low depre of around S$ 7k for a honda CITY, S$ 6k for nissan sunny, Also a few offers of high end cars like camry, cefiro (left a few months) and audi SUV, estima at below S$ 10k depre. better than a FIT or ALTIS or CIVIC. But to summarize, depre S$ 10k per year is easy to find, latio, civic, altis, sylphy.... If you are in for big cars, S$ 12k can get X5 or AUDI SUV... I still have their location fresh in mind, mostly old racecourse place and ubi used car mart. If anyone keen, I can meet you there and tell you which at ubi, but I don't get a cut, I am collecting my car tomorrow. Then I will be hunting again before christmas, lets see any major changes this july with the new rules and extra COE. chef cool .. can you pm me the contact /dealer for the 7k Honda City or Nissan ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 Hey guys, just a quick summary to many of the post here. 1) Reliable workshop? I go to Comfort Delgro. The one that repair lots of taxi at bradell. So far they do help me save some money, but every replacement they do for the past years are permanent and seldom leads to another parts faulty. Some workshop help you save money here and there but end up the related parts faulty, your car still break down. (my own opinion, anyone with bad experience, feel free to share but this is just my experience) 2) Lemon law, as twisted by our "mostly ah beng" car dealer, they will not honor the law, they will tell you (wah you buy second hand and we buy from other people, not our fault leh) And then there's the better ones, who's many years in the industry reputation is important, so they buy warranty (engine and gearbox) for 6 months, usually cost around S$ 280 to $800 depending on make of the car. So good luck using lemon law on them, don't use hard tactics, unless it's ah beng, then don't even buy from him in the first place. (As with buying used mobile phone, look out for bad behaviour ah beng) 3) Latest update from my car hunt. Sorry I didn't contact some of you guys who wants to go with me, took me 2 days and lots of walking. I finally settled on this car you won't believe. - Nissan sunny, 1.6 EXA, OPC, scrap take back S$ 5k plus, bought price S$ 7k. drive for 9 months. I convert to normal car cost S$ 1.5k including roadtax. Depre? S$ 4k per year. Major repair? dunno yet, will have to send to my workshop for check. I met a few dealers who can offer me low depre of around S$ 7k for a honda CITY, S$ 6k for nissan sunny, Also a few offers of high end cars like camry, cefiro (left a few months) and audi SUV, estima at below S$ 10k depre. better than a FIT or ALTIS or CIVIC. But to summarize, depre S$ 10k per year is easy to find, latio, civic, altis, sylphy.... If you are in for big cars, S$ 12k can get X5 or AUDI SUV... I still have their location fresh in mind, mostly old racecourse place and ubi used car mart. If anyone keen, I can meet you there and tell you which at ubi, but I don't get a cut, I am collecting my car tomorrow. Then I will be hunting again before christmas, lets see any major changes this july with the new rules and extra COE. chef Not worth buying a car left few months to a year. Chances are the ex-owner didn't want to repair it as it is not worth the hefty bill. If the car breaks down then good luck will have to repair and use it only for a few months. If not, the hassle of car breaking down on the road side now and then , and the days spent at workshop, the cost etc. More importantly, a problematic car is not a safe car to drive. e.g. brakes faults. All these factors make it not worth the trouble and the risk. Also, one will have to shop for another car months before the car is scrapped, else will end up with no car to drive for sometime. And if for some reason it is not worth repairing but to scrap it, such as gear box problem , then one stands to make a total loss of the depreciation that is already paid. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antonee 6th Gear April 22, 2015 Author Share April 22, 2015 Sorry do you guys pay the admin fee of $500 to used car dealer (with the exception of hamburger ) ? Just felt its really too much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug2 3rd Gear April 22, 2015 Share April 22, 2015 i also think not worth to drive few mths old balance car due to some bills if they come up, then it becomes not so worth to repair. must cross fingers hope it doesnt need repairs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleonly 5th Gear April 23, 2015 Share April 23, 2015 Sorry do you guys pay the admin fee of $500 to used car dealer (with the exception of hamburger ) ? Just felt its really too much. i did not pay the so call admin fee when I purchase 3 years ago.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chephren 1st Gear April 23, 2015 Share April 23, 2015 Ha ha, Totally agree guys!! That's why it's a chance to take, and if everyone here thinks it's worth the risk, I wouldn't be buying the car at such price. So why is the price of those car with 2 to 3 years so high and the depre is more than new cars? It's because everyone here agree it's worth buying 2 to 3 years car, so all car dealers jack the price up to MARKET PRICE. The only way to get cheap cars is when it's belongs to a group not many people want it. Those left with a few months are usually snapped up by car rental company. While dealer always say if you don't buy, we just throw to car rental. And the very often heard word "it's cheaper than renting a car" as if we don't know. Anyway, for admin fee, it is something for the dealer to make extra. It's not a neccessity, but you can't fault them on the admin fee, they have the right to charge the fee, just lump it together with the car price then you negotiate. Don't finish negotiation than ask got admin fee or not. chef PS Please don't buy car left with a few months, leave to poor people like me who needs a car to make a living.. :) PPS I bought a car within 2 days, depend on luck for sure, but I don't hunt for months for the perfect cars, just one that fits my bill plus some repair allowance I can fork out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonl 1st Gear April 23, 2015 Share April 23, 2015 Ha ha, Totally agree guys!! That's why it's a chance to take, and if everyone here thinks it's worth the risk, I wouldn't be buying the car at such price. So why is the price of those car with 2 to 3 years so high and the depre is more than new cars? It's because everyone here agree it's worth buying 2 to 3 years car, so all car dealers jack the price up to MARKET PRICE. The only way to get cheap cars is when it's belongs to a group not many people want it. Those left with a few months are usually snapped up by car rental company. While dealer always say if you don't buy, we just throw to car rental. And the very often heard word "it's cheaper than renting a car" as if we don't know. Anyway, for admin fee, it is something for the dealer to make extra. It's not a neccessity, but you can't fault them on the admin fee, they have the right to charge the fee, just lump it together with the car price then you negotiate. Don't finish negotiation than ask got admin fee or not. chef PS Please don't buy car left with a few months, leave to poor people like me who needs a car to make a living.. :) PPS I bought a car within 2 days, depend on luck for sure, but I don't hunt for months for the perfect cars, just one that fits my bill plus some repair allowance I can fork out. Ya, the way dealer tag cars to the "Market Price" is outragous. How can a MK1 which is phased out from production has a market price? Based on the price of MK2? MK1 no longer in production isn't that zero?? End up people who need a bread and butter has to pay for old technology for the price of new technology. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antonee 6th Gear April 27, 2015 Author Share April 27, 2015 i did not pay the so call admin fee when I purchase 3 years ago.. Ya.. btw how much is the used car interest rate for banks like Maybank and DBS? I purchased mine at 2.68% ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...