GLZT 6th Gear April 3, 2015 Share April 3, 2015 But its really hard to find now.. btw what brand of those cars you have bought with 20% lower dp? Even though I have fren 'S fren who have worked in these industry. It was unfortunate none of them help me in sourcing. They only source for their own.😞 How come dont source for yourself? I think SGCM is more than sufficient. I mean, most dealers post their ads there. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 It's all down to supply & demand. Most jap demands high depreciation which is ridiculous. I chose mine which is near or lesser but my omv is almost 3 times that of the Jap. No brainer there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 I have gotten Suzuki, Mazda, Fiat and Opel in the last 6 years. Contrary to what people thought, I had only spent money to replace an air con blower and a starter for the last 6 years of driving non main stream cars. The rest of the money were spent on normal maintenance. But its really hard to find now.. btw what brand of those cars you have bought with 20% lower dp? Even though I have fren 'S fren who have worked in these industry. It was unfortunate none of them help me in sourcing. They only source for their own.😞 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 It is still very possible, but you must do your homework. I have dealt with 1-man companies, big and reliable ones, direct sellers, consignment sellers, etc. Haha... maybe I should start a consultation service for people who want to buy pre-owned cars. What are the 3 or 4 most important mechanical parts to check when looking for a reliable 2nd hand car? How do you check them? What's the 'market rate' depreciation for BnB 9 yo & 8 yo car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 I will still send the car to a trustworthy workshop after my own individual inspection. On my own, I will first go online for days to find out the common problems of the model I intend to buy. Find out what are the visible and audible signs if these problems exist. 2nd, I will physically check for leakage of any fluid from the engine bay, followed by signs of serious accident. The test drive should also reveal something if there are problems. The mkt rate for BnB jap cars are in the 11-13k annual dep range. Ridiculous if you ask me, but it is still the best sellling cars in the preown mkt as buyers cannot move away from the mindset that it is better. What are the 3 or 4 most important mechanical parts to check when looking for a reliable 2nd hand car? How do you check them? What's the 'market rate' depreciation for BnB 9 yo & 8 yo car? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chephren 1st Gear April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 (edited) Hey guys, you must know how a car dealer thinks. If they can buy a car at cheap price, they want to maximize their profit and sell to normal people like walk in customer, not to a "friend" who will want a discount. And worst, friends come back to them and say "hey, you sold me a car with aircon problem or type problem" then they have to entertain you. On the other hand, they are more likely to sell you a car they cannot move, then the boss ask them to help find a sucker who will buy a low price. Which likely will be offered to you. My experience is, don't just browse online, walk around those mega car mart and ask for simple and direct question, don't be afraid to be laughed at sometimes, it hows they are not professional. I am about to buy my (lost count) next car, so I just walk to any salesman and say : 1) I looking for low depre car. 2) price range is SGD 20k and below 3) Left about 2 years or so. Recently got offered quite a wide range, include renault scenic grand, fiat, hyundai, nissan sunny (most common) and chevrolet. All depre is less than SGD 7k a year. Now even a picanto depreciate SGD 9k a year, damn... Layman like us, the only way to see if the car got problem is by hearing the engine up close for knocks or wierd sound. Previous owner. Don't think a lady teacher is a good previous owner, they are likely to mistreat the car without servicing. And honestly, why would anyone sell their cars near the end of their life? because sure got problem then sell lah, don't expect tip top condition like what the salesman say. ignore all his rubbish talk. Lastly, important things to check is the parts that cost the most. Engine overhaul, PCBoard, gearbox. 1) When you drive the car, the gearbox should not jerk, most hyundai and kia cannot tahan more than 7 years, especially trajet. 2) Engine overhaul is check for engine leak below the car, before you drive off for testing 3) PCB Board? no way to check, but all the european cars PCB are not cheap to replace. Good luck guys! Anyone seriously want to buy a car can join me on a hunt mid april. My car scrapping in early may, so I will buy on the spot likely when I get a good offer. That serious. chef Edited April 4, 2015 by chephren 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tyco_kia 4th Gear April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 Hey guys, you must know how a car dealer thinks. If they can buy a car at cheap price, they want to maximize their profit and sell to normal people like walk in customer, not to a "friend" who will want a discount. And worst, friends come back to them and say "hey, you sold me a car with aircon problem or type problem" then they have to entertain you. On the other hand, they are more likely to sell you a car they cannot move, then the boss ask them to help find a sucker who will buy a low price. Which likely will be offered to you. My experience is, don't just browse online, walk around those mega car mart and ask for simple and direct question, don't be afraid to be laughed at sometimes, it hows they are not professional. I am about to buy my (lost count) next car, so I just walk to any salesman and say : 1) I looking for low depre car. 2) price range is SGD 20k and below 3) Left about 2 years or so. Recently got offered quite a wide range, include renault scenic grand, fiat, hyundai, nissan sunny (most common) and chevrolet. All depre is less than SGD 7k a year. Now even a picanto depreciate SGD 9k a year, damn... Layman like us, the only way to see if the car got problem is by hearing the engine up close for knocks or wierd sound. Previous owner. Don't think a lady teacher is a good previous owner, they are likely to mistreat the car without servicing. And honestly, why would anyone sell their cars near the end of their life? because sure got problem then sell lah, don't expect tip top condition like what the salesman say. ignore all his rubbish talk. Lastly, important things to check is the parts that cost the most. Engine overhaul, PCBoard, gearbox. 1) When you drive the car, the gearbox should not jerk, most hyundai and kia cannot tahan more than 7 years, especially trajet. 2) Engine overhaul is check for engine leak below the car, before you drive off for testing 3) PCB Board? no way to check, but all the european cars PCB are not cheap to replace. Good luck guys! Anyone seriously want to buy a car can join me on a hunt mid april. My car scrapping in early may, so I will buy on the spot likely when I get a good offer. That serious. chef Bro if you don't mind can follow you for the car hunt? I'm not gonna buy a car but would like to see how you bargain with the salesman and how you handle the buying process. wanna learn from you! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chephren 1st Gear April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 Bro if you don't mind can follow you for the car hunt? I'm not gonna buy a car but would like to see how you bargain with the salesman and how you handle the buying process. wanna learn from you! Yo tyco, Well I'm no expert and it's a tiring process, occasionally get insulted and sometimes talk nonsense. There are a tip or 2 to get the best price for a car, but really depend on luck sometimes, the salesman emotion. if you are dead serious to roam around, let me know mid or end april. weekends, then we see how yeah? chef Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 (edited) Online is still very important. It gives you a clearer picture of the market rate as well as the profit margin from dealers. Once you know the margin, it is easier to negotiate. I do not just use sgcarmart or mycarforum for research purposes. I used several other sites to help me complete my knowledge. If you just walk around car marts with minimum research, you are more likely to be convinced. When people talk about low depreciation, it usually means that the depreciation is lower than the depreciation of the new car of the same model. A new car model A selling at 8k dep vs A old one selling at 7.9k dep to me is not low dep. It is not fair to suggest that all 2nd hand cars are bad cars. If so, why are you still buying old cars? I have changed my car almost once a year because I got bored of it. I sold the car in good condition. On 7k dep, it is very unlikely that you can get a sunny for 7k dep unless it is manual or in bad shape. I do not think oil leak = to engine overhaul. Oil leak is simply a symptom that the seals has deteriorated. Depending on how one drive a car, to say that most korean cars cannot last more than 7 years is hearsay at best. To buy a car on the spot without comprehensive check and understanding of the common problems of the car model is like playing with the roulette. Buying countless car in this manner doesn't make you an expert. It probably means that you are very lucky or you expected to pay for major repairs whenever you buy a car. Oh ya, I almost never have gotten insulted by SEs from preowned companies. Usually, I do the insulting if the SEs are unethical or unprofessional. Hey guys, you must know how a car dealer thinks. If they can buy a car at cheap price, they want to maximize their profit and sell to normal people like walk in customer, not to a "friend" who will want a discount. And worst, friends come back to them and say "hey, you sold me a car with aircon problem or type problem" then they have to entertain you. On the other hand, they are more likely to sell you a car they cannot move, then the boss ask them to help find a sucker who will buy a low price. Which likely will be offered to you. My experience is, don't just browse online, walk around those mega car mart and ask for simple and direct question, don't be afraid to be laughed at sometimes, it hows they are not professional. I am about to buy my (lost count) next car, so I just walk to any salesman and say : 1) I looking for low depre car. 2) price range is SGD 20k and below 3) Left about 2 years or so. Recently got offered quite a wide range, include renault scenic grand, fiat, hyundai, nissan sunny (most common) and chevrolet. All depre is less than SGD 7k a year. Now even a picanto depreciate SGD 9k a year, damn... Layman like us, the only way to see if the car got problem is by hearing the engine up close for knocks or wierd sound. Previous owner. Don't think a lady teacher is a good previous owner, they are likely to mistreat the car without servicing. And honestly, why would anyone sell their cars near the end of their life? because sure got problem then sell lah, don't expect tip top condition like what the salesman say. ignore all his rubbish talk. Lastly, important things to check is the parts that cost the most. Engine overhaul, PCBoard, gearbox. 1) When you drive the car, the gearbox should not jerk, most hyundai and kia cannot tahan more than 7 years, especially trajet. 2) Engine overhaul is check for engine leak below the car, before you drive off for testing 3) PCB Board? no way to check, but all the european cars PCB are not cheap to replace. Good luck guys! Anyone seriously want to buy a car can join me on a hunt mid april. My car scrapping in early may, so I will buy on the spot likely when I get a good offer. That serious. chef Edited April 4, 2015 by Pioneer 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 If you can pay the down payment you should just buy a new car. You will save a lot of money. precisely. I had a car that would reach 10 years in Jul 2015. Shopped around a lot for a used car and the depreciation is crazy. Finally decided that for that kind for depreciation for used cars, might as well buy new, which I did. In fact, I got in at the right time and managed to get my new Mz3 for annual depreciation of less than $10k. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 No matter whether the coe price is high or low, it is always better to buy a new car. Totally agree. Zero growth, here we come!!!!! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 I bought 6 mth old car last yr at 30k cheaper than brand new car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antonee 6th Gear April 4, 2015 Author Share April 4, 2015 Bro if you don't mind can follow you for the car hunt? I'm not gonna buy a car but would like to see how you bargain with the salesman and how you handle the buying process. wanna learn from you! Yo tyco, Well I'm no expert and it's a tiring process, occasionally get insulted and sometimes talk nonsense. There are a tip or 2 to get the best price for a car, but really depend on luck sometimes, the salesman emotion. if you are dead serious to roam around, let me know mid or end april. weekends, then we see how yeah? chef I also want to join.. I want to see how these bl__d s__kers deal with us consumer money ... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DominiqueLim Neutral Newbie April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 Hi All, can I check if anyone use to own or know the person who last own a Red CVR SJS9843G? I need to verify with the previous owner some stuffs. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chephren 1st Gear April 4, 2015 Share April 4, 2015 Ah ha ha....don't get me wrong, I do agree with you, I just shoot some observation while not thinking straight. Yup, if I don't use online search, I wouldn't be here, would I? Just that after I search here, found some good buy (S$5k depre) I will note and go down to take a look. But so far, I have always find cheaper car from other dealer than the one offer online. A little bit hard to compare same model for me, I just ask for low depre... I can't find a new nissan sunny to compare now, so I only use same capacity car or similar saloon to saloon car to compare. second hand car is not all bad, did I say that? sorry. I have driven over 40 cars in my life, at least 6 month each (oops, now you know my age) and I only driven 2 new cars, sad to say. Well, true, oil leak can mean lots of things, replacing the seals is likely going to be a top overhaul project, it's just good to avoid a car when you see oil leak, don't think all the bros and sis here will take their chances when they see a splatter of car blood under the belly. Most of the car I bought are korean, Kia and hyundai, maybe it's my driving style, but all got gear box problem, and the korean mechanic repairing my car? "korean car gearbox...problem...problem..." - qualified hyundai technician Well, guess I'm lucky. except when my gear box and radiator breakdown. Some hokkien salesman always remark "you want low depre car ah? now biscuit tin (picanto) already 9k depre, where you can find? don't waste time...) Hee hee....used to being insulted lah, I don't insult back lah, they are not professional, I must behave like one mah. Anyway, the last trip to carmart, got an offer for a renault scenic grand, big and nice, depre S$ 4k, can drive 1.5 years. But I wasn't ready to scrap my car. My current car, kia, after converting to OPC, my depre for the past 5 years? S$ 700 per year. not S$ 7,000 ok? but these are ancient history, no more good deals now lah. By the way, thanks to many bro here who wants to follow, I don't think walking around with 6 to 8 people looking for used car seemed very genuine....they think we ah long or something...so I also dunno how ah...? chef Online is still very important. It gives you a clearer picture of the market rate as well as the profit margin from dealers. Once you know the margin, it is easier to negotiate. I do not just use sgcarmart or mycarforum for research purposes. I used several other sites to help me complete my knowledge. If you just walk around car marts with minimum research, you are more likely to be convinced. When people talk about low depreciation, it usually means that the depreciation is lower than the depreciation of the new car of the same model. A new car model A selling at 8k dep vs A old one selling at 7.9k dep to me is not low dep. It is not fair to suggest that all 2nd hand cars are bad cars. If so, why are you still buying old cars? I have changed my car almost once a year because I got bored of it. I sold the car in good condition. On 7k dep, it is very unlikely that you can get a sunny for 7k dep unless it is manual or in bad shape. I do not think oil leak = to engine overhaul. Oil leak is simply a symptom that the seals has deteriorated. Depending on how one drive a car, to say that most korean cars cannot last more than 7 years is hearsay at best. To buy a car on the spot without comprehensive check and understanding of the common problems of the car model is like playing with the roulette. Buying countless car in this manner doesn't make you an expert. It probably means that you are very lucky or you expected to pay for major repairs whenever you buy a car. Oh ya, I almost never have gotten insulted by SEs from preowned companies. Usually, I do the insulting if the SEs are unethical or unprofessional. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug2 3rd Gear April 6, 2015 Share April 6, 2015 Ah ha ha....don't get me wrong, I do agree with you, I just shoot some observation while not thinking straight. Yup, if I don't use online search, I wouldn't be here, would I? Just that after I search here, found some good buy (S$5k depre) I will note and go down to take a look. But so far, I have always find cheaper car from other dealer than the one offer online. A little bit hard to compare same model for me, I just ask for low depre... I can't find a new nissan sunny to compare now, so I only use same capacity car or similar saloon to saloon car to compare. second hand car is not all bad, did I say that? sorry. I have driven over 40 cars in my life, at least 6 month each (oops, now you know my age) and I only driven 2 new cars, sad to say. Well, true, oil leak can mean lots of things, replacing the seals is likely going to be a top overhaul project, it's just good to avoid a car when you see oil leak, don't think all the bros and sis here will take their chances when they see a splatter of car blood under the belly. Most of the car I bought are korean, Kia and hyundai, maybe it's my driving style, but all got gear box problem, and the korean mechanic repairing my car? "korean car gearbox...problem...problem..." - qualified hyundai technician Well, guess I'm lucky. except when my gear box and radiator breakdown. Some hokkien salesman always remark "you want low depre car ah? now biscuit tin (picanto) already 9k depre, where you can find? don't waste time...) Hee hee....used to being insulted lah, I don't insult back lah, they are not professional, I must behave like one mah. Anyway, the last trip to carmart, got an offer for a renault scenic grand, big and nice, depre S$ 4k, can drive 1.5 years. But I wasn't ready to scrap my car. My current car, kia, after converting to OPC, my depre for the past 5 years? S$ 700 per year. not S$ 7,000 ok? but these are ancient history, no more good deals now lah. By the way, thanks to many bro here who wants to follow, I don't think walking around with 6 to 8 people looking for used car seemed very genuine....they think we ah long or something...so I also dunno how ah...? chef pretty good deal for the renault scenic.. ! i guess when we shop have to keep our eyes opened. unfortunately i belong to pro jap cars...jialat sure kana chopped haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passat57 3rd Gear April 6, 2015 Share April 6, 2015 pretty good deal for the renault scenic.. ! i guess when we shop have to keep our eyes opened. unfortunately i belong to pro jap cars...jialat sure kana chopped haha http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=462316&DL=1091 this 4-years+ Polo (COE $32K) already has 2 owners, and yet annual depreciation still higher than new Polo! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
qeuneu Neutral Newbie April 6, 2015 Share April 6, 2015 Was recently involved in a scam with a 2nd hand dealer. Please bring in someone experienced during the car buying process. all the best. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...